We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Period rooms and lots of interesting memorabilia”

Howard Steamboat Museum & Mansion
Attraction details
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Period rooms and lots of interesting memorabilia”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our tour guide was cordial, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. There are many, many interesting items in the museum's collection. Our eleven-year old ended up enjoying the visit even though he was hot and tired after a soccer game. The mansion has modern air-conditioning. There's a flyer at the entrance for a free self-guided walking tour of the grounds. We'll walk the grounds next time. Free parking along the street behind the mansion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccerfamily474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, OH
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic mansion and steamboat history”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped in for a tour of the Howard Steamboat Museum and loved that the mansion and Howard family history was so preserved. Our guide, Dorothy, was lovely and took us back in time as she showed us around. This historic home was especially interesting in that most of the furnishings and displays were actually of the Howard family and used in the home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LollieKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“The Good Old Days”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have visited the Howard Steamboat Museum on multiple occasions. Twice just for the tour (we took friends back) and once for the the festival. What an epic way to enjoy a day, get a great look at the past, and an understanding of how people lived in a bygone era of great steamships. This museum is a really great place and great value! Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drexel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So this is how the other half lives.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Thank goodness we stumbled upon this museum by accident. The combination of being a huge family home plus the artifacts of designing & building steamboats back in the day made us all interested to take the tour. It was a bit costly but worth every penny.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Very Interesting Piece of Local History.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went here with my Mother last summer and we both had a very nice time. It was nice for both of us to learn more about the history of this area and since my Mother is not from here it gave her a general feel for the area and what made it what it is. I would definitely recommend this relatively short tour for anyone who wants to learn more about the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard Steamboat Museum & Mansion also viewed

 
Jeffersonville, IN
 

Been to Howard Steamboat Museum & Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing