We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk across the Ohio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I was attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency in Louisville, and was quite happy walking across the Ohio River each day--roughly 25 minutes door to door. The room was very well equipped: full refrigerator, microwave, electric range, pots, pans, and dishes. It was quiet and comfortable. Unfortunately, the pool was not open at the time I was there, but was told that I could use the pool at a neighboring facility.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Folklorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. We hope to see you again when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2008

I travel frequently on business and always use the Marriott chain where I can. I have always been very happy with the other Marriott chains I have stayed at. Unfortunately, this property is not up to Marriott standards.

All Marriott locations in the U.S. are supposed to now be smoke-free and there is a $250 cleaning charge imposed if they find out you are smoking in your room.

When I entered my room, the smell of cigarette smoke was everywhere. I immediately called the front desk to tell the general manager someone had been smoking in the room and that I didn't want to get charged $250. She simply said "Thanks, that's OK." and offered nothing else. There were definitely people smoking in their rooms all around me because the smell was in the hallway as well. I stayed for 2 nights and my room constantly smelled like smoke.

I went to make coffee the first morning and discovered the coffee pot had never been cleaned and the bottom of the pot was coated with sticky brown residue. A pile of Cheerios was also on the floor of the kitchen behind the wastebasket. There was a dirty washcloth hanging on the towel rack. Disgusting!

This hotel is full of extended stay guests; mostly construction workers. Being a single woman traveling alone, it was very disturbing to find groups of men hanging around during the day and night smoking outside of the entry doors to the building (yes, they were smoking outside too). I didn't feel particularly safe here.

The location is great--just across the river from Louisville. Other than that, I found nothing else satisfactory with this property.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loimln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Can't say enough- excellent staff, upgrade rooms without asking, welcome letter from manager in the room- wow! Perfect location, great rooms. You have to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Devon_Peyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. We hope to see you again when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

One word~ Filthy! Toilet seat had one screw holding seat on! We asked to be moved. After waiting an hour for a room to be cleaned we moved to another room. Not any better except toilet seat was attached. bathroom had a towel that looked as if they cleaned with it and hung it up for a guest!! Dirty....smelled like animal urine......hair on sofa and floor carpet was absolutely disgusting!!...air conditioner was very loud. Furniture was very dirty. While looking out the window we noticed that the window was hanging by one hinge! Unbelievable!! I would not allow my family to stay at this hotel. What a disappointment.
This is a pitiful excuse for a Marriott. Staff was very rude when confronted with room issues. We left and went to another Marriott Residence Inn north Hurstbourne. We did not stay there as well. See that review

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Buckeyefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. The staff was very nice and the room was clean. We liked the location because we were able to walk over to the Kingfish, right on the river.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bubba1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. We hope to see you again when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Where to begin!

This place has it all! And I say HAS it all, because we're STILL there. It's a great place for short term or long term stay. The hotel staff is nothing short of completely accomodating for every need. We've needed condiments, and they gave us some of their own collection out of the fridge. We needed a fan, they offered to give us the one out of their office. They couldn't do enough for us.

This hotel is SUPER SUPER SUPER clean!!!! We have a big group of us staying here and I have seen SEVERAL rooms. Every room was so clean and smelled great. Very bright and welcoming.

The location is perfect - about a mile outside of Louisville. It's super easy to get into Louisville, just by going over the bridge.

The pool is small, but you can use the pool at their sister hotel, right next door and it's indoors. We've used that everyday. The kitchen has everything that you need - bowls, plates, silverware, measuring cups, fridge, stove, oven, microwave and DISHWASHER!!!! The beds are SO comfortable.

My only suggestion is it's difficult to find any good breakfast places, without going too far into town.

We ate at Buchkheads for dinner, on the Ohio River. This place is highly reccomended, with FANTASTIC prices. It's a great family restaurant. Their staff was amazing and VERY accomodating to our VERY LARGE party of 31 people. We called ahead and made a reservation since there were so many of us. Parking for Buckheads was an issue and the later you go, the more crowded it will be. That place is hopping in the evenings and it's walking distance - very SHORT walking distance from the hotel.

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. You have to have a room key to get into either building, which is a GREAT security measure and helps you feel safe. I highly, highly reccomend this place. We will be staying here again, if we're ever in town.

We could never find any pics of the kitchen in any hotel pictures. Well, they're VERY small kitchens, ... but that's all you really need :-)

This place gets a 5 star rating from me ... for everything! We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jns621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. We hope to see you again when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here for two nights during Memorial Day weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. We were able to book this hotel direclty through Marriott's website for a pretty good rate of $80 per night and we thought we came away with a great value.

The best part about this hotel was its location. Right off the interstate at exit 0 and just across the river from downtown Louisville. Since you are not downtown, you don't have to pay for hotel parking or inflated hotel room rates. Getting back on the freeway (I-65) and to downtown Louisville or southern Indiana is easy and well marked. There is also a non freeway bridge (US 31) close to the hotel and you could walk and/or ride your bike across the bridge into downtown Louisville.

The room, while not new or without its faults was spacious. As is typical for the Towne Place Suites chain you get a full kitchen with a refrigerator/freezer, stove, microwave, and silverware as well as a living room area and a bedroom area. Unlike Embassy Suites, however, the living room area and the bedroom area are not separated by doors. Towne Place Suites is owned by Marriott and you will get Marriott points for staying here.

The worst part about the room was the bathroom. The wood vanity and door had scratches on them and the toilet was placed too close to the shower. I also did not like the way the tv was situated. It was a small tv that could be swivled, so it could be seen from the couch or the bed. However, the piece of furniture it rested on was at bed level. This made it hard to see when lying in bed. Other than that, I have no complaints about the room.

The area around the hotel seems very safe and there are other hotels in the neighborhood (Sheraton, Fairfield Inn) as well as plenty of restaurants if you don't feel like venturing far from the hotel.

Overall, if I ever come back to Louisville again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlace S, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. We hope to see you again when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Louisville North
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Jeffersonville
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 99 in Louisville
4,186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Green Tree Inn
Best Western Green Tree Inn
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North

Address: 703 N Shore Dr, Jeffersonville, IN 47130-3103 (Formerly Suites at Louisville North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range: $83 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Louisville North Hotel Jeffersonville
Towneplace Suites Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing