We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did come back”
Review of Mimi's at the Club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mimi's at the Club
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant at the Jasper Country Club has gone public and it a very welcomed addition to the area that is fast becoming overrun with fast food restaurants. Hooray for some ambiance, linen table cloths, and truly well-prepared food!
englewood fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We did come back”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having had a very nice experience there we returned for a Birthday dinner. Since we are in a different time zone we planned a 7:00 dinner or 8:00 PM Mimi's time. We arrived, the place was empty but the owners offered to turn the lights on and seat us. Asked about drinks then oops, it seems they sent the chef home and closed the kitchen. They clearly advertise open to 9:00 PM.
We then had to leave, drive into the night and find another restaurant open. It would pay to make a reservation even though the place is empty just to perhaps keep it open and the lights on for you.

Very tacky..we wont return again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donneyEnglewoodFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great service, very friendly, food is awesome you pay for the quality of the food and the tea is fresh a very quit place and if your lucky you can see a few animals. Highly recommend if you visit Jasper also great for weddings etc.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Jasper”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a great place. Nice ambience, great service and meals prepared perfectly.Public welcome and owners most gracious!
Oh, and prices about 20% under the German Place. Had a birthday dinner there. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donneyEnglewoodFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jasper's best kept secret?”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Having visited Jasper a few times to see daughter and family, I rather dreaded dining out in the community. No previous experiences had been particularly pleasant. I saw a few positive reviews of Mimi's on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a try. And glad I did!

Nice setting, excellent food for reasonable prices, attentive staff, and loving care from the on-site owner-managers Denny and Jane. The personal attention to guarantee satisfaction is a rare find. We had a Saturday evening dinner with family and were served quite well, even though there was a large gathering in the adjoining banquet room. Meals were tasty and the menu offered plenty of options.

Then on the following morning when we found long lines at Denny's for their routine breakfast offering, I suggested we drive back to Mimi's for their Sunday brunch buffet. And again we were treated wonderfully and enjoyed an excellent array of breakfast foods, all hot and well-prepared, including omelet station and superb Belgian waffles. The pasties made on-site were also outstanding.

I'm not sure Jasper yet realizes just how good this place is, but if you find yourself within striking distance, you won't be disappointed with a visit to this "diamond in a country club rough".

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-ace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
1 review
“Fabulous dining experience!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I had driven by the Mimi's sign numerous times, saying "we should check this place out". But we never seemed to get around to it. Being new in town, we were anxious to try out all of the local restaurants. Boy are we pleased that we did.

The food at Mimi's was absolutely delicious. It's rare that you wander into a restaurant and find every course of a meal to be equally tasty. But it was here. The salad was wonderful -- crisp greens, just the right amount of a tangy balsamic dressing. The rolls were delicious as well. We had a chicken enchilada appetizer that we nearly filled up on, it was so good. We did save room for our entrees, though -- I had a grilled salmon filet that was perfectly cooked with a sweet crispy (but still light) coating on it, and my husband had a filet. We were both crowing throughout the meal about how good the food was.

The views were also beautiful. The restaurant is quiet, and where we were seated, we could look out over the golf courses and rows of beautiful trees. It's a tranquil setting. And as an added bonus -- reasonably priced. Quite a find! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hermione310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's at the Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing