We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, gorgeous rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Ranked #50 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff, gorgeous rooms!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff were supper friendly and very responsive to requests. The rooms were clean and spacious! The only issues is the walls were thin. You could even hear the noise from the pool area and I was on the 2nd floor! But the front desk promptly handled the unruly teenagers! Great stay issues were taken care of by the friendly staff!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PresidentPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that you were inconvenienced by noise from the pool, but it sounds like our staff was able to respond quickly to meet your needs and exceed your expectations. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.


Warm regards,
Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    114
    43
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
54
12
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

When I got home and was reviewing my credit bill I saw an additional $250 was added. When I called they first said it was for a meal then they decided it was smoking in the room. Someone was smoking in one of the rooms because it was coming thru the vents. I didn't feel the need to call and complain because I thought there was nothing that could be done. Not only did I have a terrible nights sleep because of the smoke but I got charged for it. I assumed they randomly picked my room but no they said they have evidence of cigarette butts. Not in my room they didn't. I DONT SMOKE Neither did my two small children . I feel helpless and like a crime victim because $250 was taken from my account without my knowledge and I was not even notified. REVIEW YOUR CREDIT CARD BILL. If you are staying here.

Green Features: Call and complain about anything you don't like about the room. As everyone keeps saying the people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is very helpful as we are always looking for ways to improve for current and future guests. If you have questions or comments please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,
Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location is hard to beat. Just a quick walk to the City Circle Center with dozens of restaurants and shopping locations. We were in town for one night only to see a play but enjoyed our stay immensely in Indy. Staff was very friendly, room was spacious and clean. Fitness facilities are limited (various cardio machines each with their own TV) but this close to the canal we saw plenty of people taking their walking/running outside. Hot Tub was large but had very few jets (very hot though), pool was on the shallow side but saw a few kids enjoying it (large enough to accommodate 15 people perhaps) Wi-Fi is free and worked wonderful for browsing in the room late at night.

Only complaint was the (seemingly) very, very, very thin walls. Every flush of the toilet or running of water next door could be heard. Full conversations could be heard in the hallway. The people above us were jumping (dancing?) in their room well passed midnight making it hard to fall and stay asleep. We did call the front desk at 1 A.M. and it stopped immediately (till 7 am the next morning but we were already up). Staff was incredibly gracious and took care of our parking (parking is in a paid lot) and offered us vouchers for food at the hotel bistro to make up for the not-so-quiet night.

We would stay here again. You cannot beat the location and the staff was very friendly and responsive to our issues. Again, you really cannot beat the location for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor on the top level to avoid noisy upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one goal is to be clean and friendly, and it sounds like we've met and exceeded your expecatations in that regard. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't get the best nights rest because of noise levels outside your guest room. The next time you stay with us I would be happy to reserve a room for you on the top floor away from the street to help with noise levels. Please feel free and contact me directly for assistance with reservations (anne.moskol@whitelodging.com). We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Annie Moskol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this property with our daughters travel volleyball team. The rate was reasonable, the location was convenient to the Indiana convention center and within walking distance of the City Circle Center...dozens and dozens of restaurants, shops and bars.
Hotel was clean, updated, and the staff was very friendly and helpful when asked questions about the area. Zero complaints!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lolodo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed for just a night as daughter was competing at Circle of Stars gymnastic meet. Every staff person we came in contact with was absolutely friendly and went above and beyond.

Check in was quick and efficient, the desk clerk was able to give us recommendations for where to go for dinner.

We ended up, because of tired kids, ordering pizza. There is a bistro on premises, but carry out was a little less expensive for the amount of people we were feeding. The guy running the bistro brought us plates with out us asking for them and gave us glasses for our drinks. (At no charge.)

There was popcorn and hot cocoa in the lobby which was a nice touch, if you are looking for a little snack.

The girls loved the pool and hot tub.

We did purchase breakfast at the bistro and it was very good. The french toast was light and crispy!

The room was super clean and spacious.

You cannot go wrong booking a room here.

Room Tip: HIgher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you stay more than one day you can choose to not have lines/towels changed.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorithehappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The check-in process was very quick and easy. I appreciated the friendliness of the staff. The hotel room itself was very clean and spacious. We decided to swim in the pool and visit the hot tub. My only complaint was regarding the temperature of the pool, which was quite cold. I assumed it was a heated pool but you could not tell, as it was very cold. We swam for about an hour and while it was a pleasant swim, the temperature of the water was definitely not ideal. We moved to the hot tub and tried the switch on the wall, thinking it would start the bubbles in the whirlpool but it did not seem to do anything of consequence. We slept well that night and stayed for breakfast with our breakfast vouchers. Ordering breakfast around 9am was a little slow, as we had to wait in line for awhile, but once we ordered, our food came out rather quickly and it was delicious. I loved the fact that check-out wasn't until noon, which gave us plenty of time to shower, pack, and enjoy our hotel room after breakfast. Check-out was quick and simple, and again I appreciated the friendliness of the staff. Overall, I was highly impressed with our visit and would definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with a city view and loved it. Very quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
Green Features: I always try to stay with hotels who support "going green" so I appreciated that this hotel did this.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayafterxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've been living at this hotel for over a month now between Mondays and Fridays for work. I have to say its a great place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff knows my name and greets me every day, and the hotel is located in a good area to get anywhere you need to go really. I also have to say that one of their employees, Jack, who runs the kitchen, has guided my team and I to some of the bet restaurants I've been to. He really knew his stuff and I was never disappointed. But everyone is really nice and easy going. Jason up front is great too. He hopped in the kitchen and made me a coffee my first day here, despite it being a closed, because he realized my flight was delayed and, as he put it, "...you earned it."

Room Tip: I'd stay on the top floors. It's nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#53 of 182 in Indianapolis
320 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol

Property: Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Address: 320 N Senate Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stand-out among hotels in downtown Indianapolis, the renovated Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol is located on Senate Avenue right behind the State Capitol Building and the Indiana Government Center. Guests also appreciate our location within walking distance to the Indiana Convention Center, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Circle Center Mall and IUPUI. Our open lobby space and renovated guest rooms feature the modern conveniences today's traveler has come to expect. Enjoy our onsite Bistro with lounge seating and full bar, interactive touchscreen GoBoard in the lobby as well as private media pods with personal TVs, a 24 hr. Market and boarding pass printing station. The Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol has space and flexibility unmatched by other hotels in downtown Indianapolis to help you make the most of every travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Indianapolis At The Capitol Hotel Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott
Indianapolis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing