We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not beat this location !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Ranked #57 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed l night here on our way to Chicago. My family loves water, it was GREAT. We rented bikes & paddle boats our grand kids loved it. The room was nice size overlooking the canal. Would recommend it again. Only minus I saw was the pool area was very outdated.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sheilafrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 372 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here with our 3 kids. This hotel is updated with nice Appliances. It is right on the canal. You can take a walk on the canal, rent bikes, paddle boats, run... you can walk to some.museums and to the basketball hall of champions.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank SuperM0m74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Traveled to Indianapolis for a concert. Hotel was clean, safe and well located. Had a room near the "highway" or maybe it was just a busy road but it was only a few feet away so it was quite noisy well into the night, thank goodness I had earplugs or else I would not have been able to sleep and it was too late to change rooms. Interesting to be on canal. Staff was helpful and recommend a place to eat and the monuments to check out while in town, was surprised to find interesting parts of Indianapolis, like the Art gallery.

Room Tip: get room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyTO w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Residence Inn is located directly on the canal. This is a great location to downtown activities and for a walk/jog around the canal. Everyone working here had a smile on their face and were very helpful. I didn't get a chance to enjoy the evening cocktails, but the complimentary breakfast was great. There were plenty of healthy choices and everything was plentiful. The room was nice, but a little worn. It is rather expensive to stay here and parking is extra. I would stay again, but would pick a less expensive option as a first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyFortWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently stayed at this Residence Inn. Half of the rooms have a canal view and the others, although they overlook the parking lot, also have a view of downtown and the capitol building. This is an all suite hotel and breakfast is included, as well as cocktails and food Monday-Thursday evening. It is a short (maybe 5 blocks) walk to the convention center and many restaurants. The only negative is parking is an additional cost. The hotel is clean and the staff are all very helpful and friendly! I believe this hotel is also pet friendly!!

Room Tip: Request a canal view and not on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We do have guest who prefer the Canal view and some that prefer the City view. Our goal is for each guest to have an Excellent stay, so we do everything we can to make sure requests like this are granted. Your kind comments in regards to your stay are very appreciated, and we are indeed a pet friendly hotel.

We hope to see you soon!

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Always a nice place to stay while visiting indianapolis. All the staff are very friendly. Nice breakfast offered every morning included. Location is great for walking to restaurants or just walking the canal. The rooms are a bit outdated but not too bad. Included is a kitchenette, full size refrigerator and microwave, and dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyparrotowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay. We are glad that your visit with us was a pleasant one. The Canal does offer quite the opportunities to enjoy downtown Indianapolis whether you prefer a quiet walk or to be in the middle of the action.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Thank you,

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Down to Indianapolis for a wedding (as you do) and with a fire-fighters convention on, rooms were difficult to track down. The Residence Indianopolis was a little overpriced but is in an excellent location - on the canal, with easy outdoor access to the canalside path. Blessed with fabulous weather being able to stroll/jog/cycle along the waterway was an unexpected bonus As its name suggests you get an apartment with adequate kitchen facilities if you fancy self-catering. Breakfast was a bit of a zoo and the air conditioning in the room overly noisy but the staff were all very friendly and helpful and its location is a winner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirbyBrown, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope the wedding went well. We do have times where the breakfast can get a bit hectic, hopefully you were able to enjoy the full complimentary hot buffet. For your next visit please know that we have trays and to go boxes so you are more than welcome to take breakfast to our Canal Level Billiards room, or back to your suite so as to lessen the madness. We truly enjoy the serenity the Canal provides and want to make sure our guests do too.

Thank you your thoughtful review of your stay, and we look forward to your next visit.

Kirby Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#54 of 188 in Indianapolis
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Address: 350 W New York St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-3240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $163 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal is the only hotel in downtown Indianapolis on the Historic Canal! Experience our modern look, high-tech amenities and beautiful views. Our Indy hotel on the Canal provides apartment-style suites with full kitchens, free WiFi, separate living areas and 32" flat-screen TVs. Enjoy complimentary grocery shopping service, free daily breakfast buffet and evening social hour plus the least expensive parking in downtown. From our balcony and terrace overlooking the Canal to our location just minutes from Lucas Oil Stadium, State Capitol and White River State Park, our pet-friendly Indy hotel on the Canal is perfectly positioned for great extended stays. Be sure to take a stroll on the adjacent running/walking path right outside our doors, rent a paddleboat, bike, Segway or feed the ducks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown On The Canal Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing