We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Ranked #39 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Nitro, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel is amazing. The room is huge, with a full kitchen and all the amentities. I was amazed at the layout and we had plenty of room for the boys to play while I worked at the desk. The kitchen and full fridge provided us the ability to save quite a bit of money by packing lunches for the zoo and children's museum. The breakfast provides a wide assortment of options. My boys had cereal or waffles, and the hot bar. Eggs, ham, sausage, potatoes. I had a healthier fare of yogurt parfaits(super yummy) and a variety of fresh fruits. There is also the traditional bagles, toast, and muffins. Every evening there is a reception on Monday it was Chinese food, Tuesday veggies, and Wednesday it is BBQ night. I think it changes weekly. There is also wine, soda, and beer. For the $70, I paid per night I feel that is a great deal in food. The pool, hot tub, game room, and workout area met all of our needs. I loved being able to walk right out on the canal. I drove around a couple of days and the hotel is very easy to exit/enter. The staff was very friendly and I can't wait to come again. There is a large amount of channels on the television which was good during down time.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    105
    40
    14
    3
See reviews for
124
57
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We frequent hotels for work and family reasons, as one daughter plays USTA tennis tournaments. This trip was for a college visit to Butler University, very nice school by the way.
We have silver or gold in various chains.
I do not recall a hotel stay in the last several years where the front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel as a very welcoming feel. I took time out of my busy schedule to email the hotel manager about the nice front desk staff, something I typically do not do.
Good location, as I was able to walk to downtown restaurants and shopping, and the hotel was just a 10 to 15 minute drive to Butler.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed one night on business. This is a nice hotel near downtown (but still a good walk from all of the main areas of downtown). The canal area is very nice. Rooms were huge and breakfast and evening food and such were top notch. Would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was that the ice cubes continued to be made overnight and spilled over onto the empty freezer deck...which was quite loud. Just a glitch though and nothing to prevent me from staying there again.

Room Tip: Canal side vs parking lot side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My stay at the residence Inn On the Canal/January 14,2012 was very nice. The room was wonderful. Only problem I think they over charge for parking $17.00 if we are staying at your facility it should be free and included in the stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for two night in January 2012 during a swim meet. Our room had just been renovated and was missing a couple items. The staff was very accomodating to get us the items needed.
The staff was very friendly any time we walked through the lobby or needed to speak with them.
Hot breakfast with waffles, eggs and more.
This is right on the channel so we feed the duck and walked the channel.
We will definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a choice choose the channel side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shecar1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a swim meet. The location was perfect. Within walking distance to IU and other downtown destinations. The room was very spacious and well appointed. The beds were great and it was awesome to have a kitchen. The pool/spa area was very well maintained and provided some much needed relaxation. The morning breakfast was hot and fresh and very convenient. Lastly, the staff could not have been friendlier. Every time we entered or left the hotel, we were greated. Thanks to Vicky, the hotel manager for EVERYTHING!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDad1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 10 consecutive nights starting on the 5th Dec 2011-16th Dec 2011. I LOVED it!!! For the value, the rooms were VERY nice! Good full breakfast every morning plus a small meal at night(usually not too impressive, but free beer). Some of my friends stayed at the Courtyard across the street for the same price and didnt get nearly the same benefits. All the rooms have also been recently remodeled. It's about a 3/4- 1 mile walk to bars and restaurants downtown, or a $5 cab. If you're staying on business for an extended period, I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Property: Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Address: 350 W New York St, Indianapolis, IN 46202-3240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal is the only hotel in downtown Indianapolis on the Historic Canal! Experience our modern look, high-tech amenities and beautiful views. Our Indy hotel on the Canal provides apartment-style suites with full kitchens, free WiFi, separate living areas and 32" flat-screen TVs. Enjoy complimentary grocery shopping service, free daily breakfast buffet and evening social hour plus the least expensive parking in downtown. From our balcony and terrace overlooking the Canal to our location just minutes from Lucas Oil Stadium, State Capitol and White River State Park, our pet-friendly Indy hotel on the Canal is perfectly positioned for great extended stays. Be sure to take a stroll on the adjacent running/walking path right outside our doors, rent a paddleboat, bike, Segway or feed the ducks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown On The Canal Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing