We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and ok for the price, but barely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Indianapolis Conference Center Hotel
Ranked #107 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Possibly horrendous stay was saved by great front desk clerk named Natasha. First room I got smelled like armpit. I tried for 30 minutes to sleep there, but then I got freaked out thinking that my clothes and I would emerge the next morning smelling like armpit, so I asked to change rooms. Desk attendant apologized and promptly changed rooms for me. So thanks, lady! The hallways smelled of smoke. The second room I got was fine. No problems. But that first room... it shouldn't be released to a traveler even a third world country. Location of hotel very convenient to city and highways. Denny's and Steak & Shake next door was nice too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stopped here on our trip to North Carolina this year. The hotel is OK but does need some repair. The front desk clerk was great and funny. She took good care of us. The room was clear but smelled a bit. Otherwise the stay was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KaosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Night time desk clerk was a bit flippant, but other than that. Free parking for our trip and took the shuttle to the airport.. It was a great deal.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank cceaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Hotel is way overpriced. Hallway carpets were dirty, halls need new paint / wallpaper. What got me the most was the smelly hallways !!! they need to clean the carpets to get rid of the smoke smell. The whole place needs a paint job, parking lot had alot of trash on it plus alot of weeds in the cracks. The landscaping was pretty bad to, need to trim those bushes and clean up all the trash in the rock beds. Has your typical cheap so-called "free" cold breakfast stuff. This place is next to a Steak & shake, the freeway and a home depot. no good views from you windows here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattyinLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

i was there with my husband and toddler for 5 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff very friendly. The location is out of the way for downtown Indianapolis, but it is also cheaper than hotels downtown.

There is construction being done to one of the interstate access routes to the hotel (I-70), so getting to and from there could get a little bit complicated initially. But the hotel has useful leaflets explaining alternative routes, and these made travelling much easier.

The pool was murky, and the external grounds looked like it needed a pick-me-up. The Marriott next door is building some new facilities, and the construction work added to the dodgy look of the surrounding area. However, a note from La Quinta said that once the Marriott facility is up and running, La Quinta guests would be able to access and use it, so things could look rather different in a years' time.

The breakfast was so-so, but there is an inexpensive restaurant on the grounds of the hotel. It serves all day breakfasts, in addition to a dinner menu. The food is not bad, so we found ourselves eating there quite a bit.

Overall, we didn't have problems with the hotel and had a comfortable stay. But we may prefer to stay closer downtown next time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Bad:
-This hotel has been supposedly renovated but still looks worn and run-down.
-Icky cigarette smoke smell in upper floor hallways.
-Extremely thin walls.
-Right next to the freeway.
-A bit pricey for what you get, and it especially sucked that we were charged significantly extra on a couple of nights because of the Grand Prix.

Good:
-Breakfast is free, tasty, and huge variety.
-Very friendly front desk staff.
-Comfortable bed.
-Lots of dining options/gas/convenience stores in immediate area.
-Lots of trees around the hotel.
-Room had its own separate closet w/doors, iron, hairdryer, and toiletries, and lots of channels on the TV.
-Nice water pressure in shower.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marilynn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2006

If you care about your health and the health of your family, do not stay here. We paid about $90 for a double queen room that was filthy with broken heater. The mattress was old and noisy, we woke up with back ache. The floor was not vaccumed, and the entire place smelled.
We complained but received no attention or refund or discount. Then complained through the website, and other than an automated response, we didn't hear anything.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alidost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#97 of 185 in Indianapolis
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy East
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy Eas...
#125 of 185 in Indianapolis
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#91 of 185 in Indianapolis
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#102 of 185 in Indianapolis
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Conference Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Conference Center Hotel

Address: 7304 East 21st St, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1701 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $173 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indianapolis Conference Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Indianapolis Conference Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing