We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, very clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St.

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St.
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
indianapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff, very clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Staff was excellant, loved the pool! beds were kinda uncomfortable! outdated carpet and elavator!

Room Tip: call the hotel to book. Don't use priceline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woofer824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    12
    10
    21
See reviews for
30
9
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delphi, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

the staff of this hotel went out of there way to provide excellent service and the room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel has a very nice pool and was just a great value for the cost. I would reccommend staying here to everyone

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We checked in at the last minute - the hotel we had hoped to use was full. The check in guy was great and the hotel itself is fine. Room was a good size and large enough. It was freezing - we turned the a/c off as soon as we walked in and it never got to a comfortable temperature Very little in the way of kitchenware, only one saucepan! That was not a problem for us since we were only staying one night but would be a hassle for anyone planning to stay longer. The room had not been properly cleaned - garbage not emptied, coffee maker still had old coffee in it and the top sheet had been tucked in - looked like there was only one sheet on the bed. We called down for more bedding before realising what had happened! No coffee, no sugar (only sweet and low) ... basically the cleaning stuff had not done their job. Other than that it was fine, comfortable and quiet, close to some shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj-plateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Keeping in mind this ban extended stay hotel, I found the past reviews to be unfounded.

Pros:
* pretty clean and great location near major highways. They only clean your room once a week so if you trash it it will smell but you know that going in.
* quiet when we were there but again I suppose your neighbors make a difference. Their staff is gone at late night so I can see complaints may not go anywhere.
* free parking, great room price, area is safe, can get on priceline

Cons:
* $5 wireless fee
* of course continental breakfast sucks but so what?

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prodigiouswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGTON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I've never given a hotel this low of a rating. It is a complete failure. If you don't mind listening to domestic disturbances, your neighbors (paper thin walls, as elsewhere mentioned), eating the "breakfast" (like cellophane Spunkmeyer muffins?), or sleeping on the ceramic mattress, you might like it. That's after you dodge the pits in the driveway.

You probably got here because of the low price-- there's a reason for that. We were going to stay at its sister hotel on Michigan Rd., but took an "upgrade" to this hotel after it was overbooked. Upgrade? The hotel on Michigan Rd. must have guarded the very gates to hell.

The hot water ran out, the pillows were on low supply, they don't regularly change linens (you can request it). The place was reasonably clean, and the front desk personnel were helpful. But I expected gunfire at any moment, got a rotten sleep two nights in a row, and just can't recommend this place to anyone but those with the thickest skins who are hearing handicapped.

Room Tip: No, run, get away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

First, the place is terribly constructed. Every door, even though each one has a automatic closing mechanism and could be adjusted to close quietly, slams very loudly. I was staying on the second floor (out of three), next to the stairwell, and every time the door to the stairwell closed, my entire room would shake. Even when the door to the outside at the bottom of the stair wellwould close, my entire room would shake.

A couple of the nights there was a person above me, and every step this person took literally shook the entire room. I even had the privilege of listening to my upstairs neighbor have sex at 2 a.m. I called the front desk to complain, but no one answered. I could clearly hear the bed squeaking, among other things.

The shower hot water literally took about five to ten minutes to warm up. Some of the cabinet trim was falling off. The place seemed as if it was constructed as cheaply and quickly as possible. I asked to move to the third floor, and the staff was very helpful and provided a room for me. I packed up all my stuff, and went up to the new room, only to find out that it was a smoking room! The staff failed to tell me that the entire third floor was smoking, so kept my original room so as to avoid the disgusting stench of the third floor.

I entered and exited through the far-corner of the building which is supposed to be a secure entrance, but it was never locked, even late at night.

Just some observations: Why provide a full-size dishwasher in each room, but only two sets of plates and utensils? Why provide a cutting board, but no chopping knives? Why have an entire floor of smoking rooms? Are a third of the customers really smokers? It is disgusting.

The “exercise” room was a joke. The treadmill was broken, and I told the staff and they didn’t even know it was broken.

On the plus side, the staff was friendly, helpful, and well-meaning. I could feel their frustration knowing that their facilities were built with such shoddy construction.

In the future I will be doing all I can to avoid staying at a Homestead Suites. Since I paid $25 per night on priceline, I don’t feel particularly ripped off, just disappointed that any business would be run so cheaply and with such little pride. I think this hotel is a dead-on perfect example of American business mediocrity, where the business is run as if its customers are too dumb or lazy to care about quality.

If I had paid anywhere near the advertised price for this room I would be asking for a lot of my money back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natebanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Good:
- It was near our event.
- Easy Freeway Access
- Rooms have kitchens and a pullout bed for extra sleeping room.
- Muffins, fruit, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are served in the morning.
The BAD:
-It has a fold out couch bed, but no bedding in the room. I had to go to the front to get it.
- I asked for pillows. They didn't have any. Strange to have pull-out beds, but no pillows.
- The trash can in the bathroom had not been emptied.
- The room is supposed to hold 4 people, but it only had two bath towels.
- They have an indoor pool, but the water was ice cold. They could at least try to make it room temperature.
- There was a large party going on in a room on the third floor. It disturbed numerous guests. But it seemed to be the front desk girl's friends, so she did nothing about it. In fact, they came down to hang out with her and chatted loudly through the night. All we got in the morning was an apology.

Summation:
This is a motel to be avoided.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natebanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Northwest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapo...
#73 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Northwest
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis N...
#59 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Indianapolis North
Quality Inn Indianapolis North
#103 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Indianapolis Park 100
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Suites
BEST WESTERN Country Suites
#45 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St.

Property: Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St.
Address: 8520 Northwest Blvd, Indianapolis, IN 46278 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Studio Suites hotels feature all the amenities you need to live your life when you're on the road. Whether it's for a day, a week, or a month you are sure to enjoy our suites' many features including: a fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator; Free WiFi;heated indoor pool; fitness room; continental breakfast; ample work space, and plenty of room to relax. Guests staying for extended stays will especially appreciate our voice-mail system which allows personalized messages from our guests, and an on-site laundry facility. Homestead Studio Suites Indianapolis - Northwest is the ideal choice for groups traveling for business or pleasure. Indianapolis is home to many successful companies such as Eli Lilly; Brightpoint; Conseco; Duke Realty; Interactive Intelligence and many others. Additionally local attractions within a short distance of the hotel include: The Indianapolis Children’s Museum, Indianapolis Museum of Art, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis Zoo, Conseco Fieldhouse, Lucas Oil Stadium, and the Midwest Sports Complex just to name a few. So next time you are in Indianapolis, make the right choice and choose the Homestead Studio Suites Indianapolis - Northwest.Homestead Studio Suites hotels are part of the Extended Stay Hotels family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - West 86th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Indianapolis Northwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing