We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small for a Courtyard--an avg box motel in a sea of similar lodgings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis South
Ranked #93 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small for a Courtyard--an avg box motel in a sea of similar lodgings”
Reviewed March 17, 2008

As we drove up to the hotel, we passed several other similar rectangular hotels--basic highway motels of every brand and color, and this one was no different. We stay at Courtyards almost exclusivetly, and the only thing similar with this location was the artwork and furniture coverings. The king room (207) was very tiny. The bedskirt was frayed and unhemmed. The bed was saggy at the edges. If we were not paying the premium $124/night we never would have guessed we were in a Courtyard. And unlike the typical motels, this one does the usual Courtyard thing of actually charging extra for the breakfast. Add insult to injury! The only way they can salvage this stiuation is to rename it what it is, as a Fairview Inn-- at least you would get what you are expecting. They should not charge this much for this hotel/
location. I felt decieved.

The key entry system to the outside doors were broken, and desk staff acted like it was a new problem every time it was mentioned. At least they were nice and friendly, but you get the feeling they are just college students doing their shift--not invested in the success or failure of this hotel. The light under the door was glaring--we had to use towels to block it. For whatever reason, our door had a big gap under it, whereas others didn't.

Parking was insufficient in the number of spaces--always filled, and there is a closed restaurant next door.

I would not recommend this to anyone unless you have no choice and need to pay this much for so little.

  • Liked — many restaurants nearby
  • Disliked — small rooms, poor value for money
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bshaw317, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, November 12, 2009
I am glad to have the opportunity to respond to some of your concerns in this review. I am proud to be the General Manager of this HOTEL for the past 2.5 years. Since becoming General Manager we have had many milestones. The most important being a Platinum Award from Marriott for "Outstanding Guest Service" for the last part of 2008 and a Gold Award for the first 6 months of 2009. I have an outstanding staff that has been with the hotel, some since the doors have opened. In the summer we do employ one college student who has been here every year since her freshman year. She is graduating this year and will be a loss to our organization. In response to the condition of your guest room I can only say that we have QA audits two times a year and have always passed without problems. The housekeeping supervisor has been with the hotel for 5 years and does an outstanding job with the room and entire facility. Breakfast is an additonal charge. This isn't something new for Courtyard as it has been the same for 25 years. The breakfast isn't what you would get at any other hotel offering a free fare. Our restaurant is just that..a restaurant complete with a wait staff and dishes. We actually make anything from our menu on a per order basis. The restaurant also provides fresh cut fruit which varies with the season, "eggs made to order" including omlets with fresh vegetables, eggs benedict, or any other style requested. It also includes a waffle station with fresh fruit toppings, two choices of breakfast meats, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, breakfast breads and pastries, and a selection of coffee, teas, juices including orange, grape, apple, cranberry, and grapefruit. Not a bad selection for a restaurant and a cost of $8.95 per person or $5.95 for children 12 and older. Children less than 12 eat for free. We DO NOT and will never not disclose the charge for breakfast. There are other equally as nice of hotels in the Marriott portfolio that offer a free breakfast. One of them being the FAIRFIELD INN by Marriott. I do believe that it's the hotel you were referring to when you talked about the "Fairview Inn". There is no charge for the complimentary breakfast. This is a great option for travelrs on more of a budget. In regards to the key entry system. Life/Safety issues come first with the ownership group as well as Marriott. We take these issues to heart. We realize the reponsibility placed in our hands per our guest for their safety.. We don't cut corners and take short cuts. The ELECTRONIC door locks get exposed to all sorts of weather conditions as you would expect in Indiana. I employ two full time engineers to keep things in working order. If there was an issue reported about a door lock then the issue would be addressed in the same day, if not in the same hour. We have 24 hour coverage from the Engineering Department. The Chief Engineer has been with the property for the last four years and remains here to this day. The closed restaurant beside the Courtyard was an unfortunate thing that happens. Some businesses suceed where others fail. We have hopes that there will be a new restaurant there soon. But until then there is Cheeseburger in Paradise, Carrabba's Italian Gril, Texas Roadhouse, Wendys, and Steak n Shake within a 2 minute walk.
Courtyard hotels are by nature designed for the business traveler. With our 25th year the Courtyard is going through re-birth with exciting new technology and guest room design. We continue to be the leader in business travel. I'm sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. It's my goal and my staff's goal that every guest leave with a positive experience. I'm sorry that you didn't but invite you to visit us again. Remember at "Courtyard it's a new stay" Thank you reading this review. I love this hotel and my staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
17
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Came to town for GenCon 2005 and didnt want to get screwed on the expensive rates closer in town to the convention center. Had a friend with a car, so location wasnt that big of a problem versus the money we were saving.

Room and service were adequate for a chain hotel. Bar area was a nice plus. Several cheap places to eat nearby and it's right off the highway. The nearby neighborhood can be a bit sketchy in spots but the hotel itself is safe and secure(there are also some adjoining hotels as well). There's a nice restaurant(standard breakfast/grill fare) just 2 minute walk down the street.

  • Liked — good price, plenty of well-lit parking, the bar on premises
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. All Marriott Courtyards are now completely non-smoking. Typical rooms, indoor pool and spa with a very attractive landscaped outdoor sitting area. There are numerous restaurants nearby and the interstate is easily accessible. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Value and Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant served breakfast only and is a little pricey
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LuvtomakeMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for the Final Four from 3/28 to 4/4/06. The location was about a 15 minute easy drive to downtown. It has a few chain restaurants in the area. It offers a morning breakfast for $7.95. The room was clean but small. Bed was comfortable. I'm really fussy about the room and bed and I felt just fine. Our friends got a smoking room and were moved quickly to a non-smoking. People were friendly.
Only one inconvenience, we had travelers check and they would rather not cash them for us, so we went to the bank across the street. Not a big problem.
If we go to the Final Four again in 2010 and can not get a room downtown we will definitely try to get a room at this hotel.
One funny thing the maid kept turning the heat on, the room was sooo hot when we would come back at night.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summer1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 27, 2005

My wife and I attended the annual Powersports Dealer Expo at the Convention Center. We stayed in a (spa/king room) room with a king size bed and a spa. The spa is still the best ones we have ever been in. Very comfortable for 2 people and it was located in the bedroom which was a great touch (could watch TV from it). Most hotels that offer a spa or whirlpool are located in the bathroom and too small for 2 people. We also enjoyed dinner at Carrabas Italian Resteraunt (great food) and the Texas Roadhouse which are both adjacent to the hotel (2 minutes walking distance). All in all I had no complaints of our stay and booked the same room again this year. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that we have another great experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2004

Rooms are in serious need of remodeling--decor is dull and uninspired. I've stayed in Hamptons with nicer rooms. Had a reservation that clearly stated "Non-smoking room GUARANTEED" but got there and guess what? "All our non-smoking rooms are sold out." So what the heck does this word "guaranteed" mean? So my travel partner and I had to endure the delightful smell of stale cigarette smoke all night. The next day they told us to pack our bags and they would move our belongings to another a non-smoking room should one come available. So we did, we repacked all our bags and ... guess what? Came back that next night and our stuff was still in the old room. Complained and only got $20 knocked off the rate of one night -- not worth it.

Do yourself a favor and find a nice Hampton in the area.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnInLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
#74 of 182 in Indianapolis
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Indianapolis South
Best Western Indianapolis South
#63 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#16 of 182 in Indianapolis
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis South/Greenwood
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis South

Property: Courtyard Indianapolis South
Address: 4650 Southport Crossings Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46237-4645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis South 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Courtyard
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing