We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myra Raines went above and beyond the call of duty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South
Ranked #69 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was late...we were tired...had been on the road for 4 hours with 8 more hours to go to get back to Atlanta...decided to get a hotel room for the night. I called and found this Holiday Inn Express. Myra was very helpful on the phone...I asked her for a rollaway bed and she took care of it and had it waiting in our room when we arrived. She also moved her car from its spot so that we could have a place to park and she allowed us to park our second vehicle in a safe and secure place. She was extremely kind, efficient and helpful. Such a welcome surprise to have this kind of customer service and attention to detail. Myra made our stop very enjoyable and easy. The breakfast the next morning was very good too. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a great stop for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmf112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Wow awesome praise for an awesome employee. Last year, Myra was our employee of the year for reasons just like this. It is so nice to have someone in those late hours who stays so focused on customer care. Hopefully, you get a chance to come back and stay for a while.

Thanks for the review and high marks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is located smack dab in the middle of everything you could possibly need: shopping, restaurants, interstate. Within minutes you can be in downtown Greenwood to the south or downtown Indy to the north. The bed was a little firm but the bedding and pillows made up for that in a big way. I relaxed in the spa tub and it was divine. The complimentary breakfast exceeded expectations. I couldn't believe the selection available and it was all fresh. Don't skip breakfast if you stay here! I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan on using it again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Debbie B,

What a nice review. We do think our location is a wonderful asset, enabling such easy access to everything the Indianapolis metro area has to offer. We are glad you liked your breakfast and will make sure our hardworking hosts know how much you appreciate their efforts.

Thanks for brightening our day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel are excellent and it is clean and safe and great if traveling with pets. The location is good for airport or to drive downtown. However, the neighborhood is a bit rough around the edges and I did not feel safe traveling to this area with my kids without my husband. There were a lot of working men and it felt dangerous on a Friday night. The hotel itself was great. The staff, pool, food and housekeeping were all terrific and the price was good, but not a great choice for single women and children.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withkids224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are glad you found our hotel, clean and friendly and that you had the chance to enjoy the pool and that breakfast and our other service where top notch. I am sorry that the area and some people made you feel uncomfortable, as our neighborhood continues to develop we are confident that those items will change, Again we are so happy you found the hotel clean and plesant and that it suited your needs well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Making our way from PA to MO, we stopped here for the night. The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were extremely clean. Bed was a little firmer than I like but that is easily overlooked and the pillows were super comfy.

Breakfast was wonderful the next morning (even our picky 4yr old approved). Will be staying there again on our way back to pick up our little one next week from his grandparents! Has to be one of the first places I have ever stayed that I actually look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweetr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Wow what an awesome review, thanks for taking the time to write it. We are glad that your family enjoyed their night and breakfast. We are glad to be the spot to rest and recover on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night after Indy 500. It was a good location to the city, yet not the higher city prices. We easily drive into the city for activities and also had good places to eat nearby.

The staff was very friendly and helpful offering us suggestions on where to eat. We will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Diana,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. You are right, we have easy access downtown without the downtown hassles..prices and parking. Best thing is that happens all the time not just during special events. We truly love it when our guests enjoy themselves and want to stay again!! Glad you had a nice time here in Indy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Driving 1200 miles from Milwaukee to Florida, we left late to avoid Chicago traffic and planned to make a quick pit stop south of Indianapolis before continuing our journey. This location is ideal, about 30 seconds off I-465. We booked two rooms the day of travel and got an incredible rate on one of the travel sites. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, and free breakfast are much appreciated.
We were dead tired upon arrival, but the night clerk made check-in very easy. She was so pleasant at 1:30 a.m. that, despite my sheer exhaustion, she made me smile. We were assigned first floor connecting rooms near the exit door, which made for easy egress in the morning. Despite being on the first floor, we heard not a peep during the night and slept very soundly. We love Holiday Inn beds and pillows - they slurp you in for pleasant dreams.
Rooms were well furnished with coffee service, microwave, mini-refridge, ample toiletries. One in our party didn't have a toothbrush ... the front desk provided one gratis. I really like that HI provides free personal hygiene items, should you forget something.
Free breakfast included scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausage patties, instant oatmeal, four cold cereal choices, pancakes, toaster waffles, muffins, pastries, etc. The coffee was good. The chef might put less salt in the scrambled eggs, but otherwise no complaints. Some fresh fruit would be nice for healthy eaters, as would some non-porcine meat (turkey sausage?)
All in all an excellent experience. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi! Thanks for your thorough review. We really appreciate your feedback. Especially on what we can do better. We will also forward your ideas to our corporate offices so they can look into expanding our menu. Again, thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We came in from out of town after driving 8 hours and we were exhausted. They were very nice and breakfast the next morning was great. We didn't get time to explore the pool because of a busy schedule while in town. The hotel was clean and the staff take care of you. I had no issues at all. It was a good experience for us being from the south.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyrecplnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Barbara,

We truly do appreciate your review. Although we have many stars you are right that Heather is one of the brightest. I am also glad that we can make a returning guest impressed enough to write us a review. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#29 of 185 in Indianapolis
263 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#17 of 185 in Indianapolis
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#98 of 185 in Indianapolis
64 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South

Address: 5151 S East St, Indianapolis, IN 46227-1984
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $119 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable clean rooms and less than 7 miles from the heart of downtown Indianapolis. Each of our rooms features a microwave, mini-fridge, 32-inch flat screen LCD TV, family-friendly PPV movies, and a Keurig coffee maker. Stay with us for a night to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing