We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family gathering spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
Ranked #33 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
IL cornfields
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great family gathering spot.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Friendly, very clean, and easy to find. The staff there frequently asked how our stay was going and if there was anything they could do to make it even better. They were friendly and professional. The young woman who managed the breakfast was exceptionally kind and attentive to our family, helping the children. The only glitch was connecting to WiFI and that was figured out easily. The kids enjoyed the pool area! Great stay:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebug327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear junebug327,
Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate how much you think of our staff and how friendly and helpful they were. We strive to provide the very best customer service and professionlism to the guests who choose our hotel. Mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel and how much your kids enjoyed the pool is great to know also as we all look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    86
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
91
45
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My family and i stayed at this Holiday Inn for a spring break get away! Immediately upon walking in i was pleasantly surprised by how welcoming the staff was! Alex was by far thw most friendly hotel manager I've meet in sometime! Very helpful! I really enjoyed the pool and fitness room! Pool was a good temperature and all the equipment worked in the fitness room. We stayed in a 2 room suite. Room 131. This is where we experienced some issues! To begin with the bed was very comfortable to sleep in! As well as the jetted bathtub! That was very much enjoyed. We looked at the sink area and there were at least 100 ants in the sink and on the counter top! This issue wasn't taken care of until Alex came in and took charge of the situation! We called down to the front desk about the issue at 9am and no one was down at the room until 2 pm. Also the wind was hollowing one night and the window wouldn't shut all the way and whistled all night! Quite annoying when you're trying to sleep! another thing , the key door slams loudly when shutting! There is also a hole in the back of thw property in the fence where i saw several people sneak through and i sign near this hole that is totally falling apart! The breakfast was nothing spectacular but i did enjoy the cinnamon rolls! Other than these minor issues i loved the stay and it was for a great price and i cannot reiterate enough how much Alex helped out with making the stay memorable! This was overall a very modern clean comfortable hotel! I will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylamarie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Kaylamarie15,
Thank you for your great review of the hotel, especially regarding Alex and our front desk staff. Alex leads by example and proactively encourages our team to address any guest concerns. I am pleased you enjoyed so many of the hotel amenities such as a comfortable bed, our awesome pool, and the fitness center. We are constantly reviewing internal opportunities to improve performance and service whether it be more options at breakfast or room by room maintenance items. I am glad you will be returning and we all look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I was greeted by three people when I walked in the door, Sarah, Joel, and Alex. I found a coupon in a travel book at a rest area - after looking through it I called and asked if they had any rooms at that price - I was told they did and when we arrived they seen the book in my hand and said they had no rooms at that price but they could give me one for 45.00 a night more, and that was a great deal as it was a 200.00 room!!!! With all the hotels sharing a parking lot why would you do that? After telling him I had called and turning to walk out he offered me the room for the price in the book. The book also said it had a hot tub - no hot tub!!!
The room was clean and the breakfast was good - would I pay 200.00 for a room there NO.
Also, they need to move the furniture in the reception area because if someone is at the front desk you can't get through.
Poor rating due to bait and switch.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaJoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Donna Joe1,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I regret the room you were interested in was apparently not available when you arrived, but I am glad that we were ultimately able to upgrade you to one of our more expensive rooms for the same value listed in the travel guide. The cleanliness of our rooms and the quality of our amenities, including breakfast, are standards we take seriously, and I thank you for your very positive review in regard to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

4th visit to Indy. By far the best guest experience of all previous hotels. This hotel is 20 minutes from downtown Indy, but worth the drive for the pleasant staff, clean rooms, & modern decorum.
I primarily interacted with Robyn & Angela.
Either Robyn & Angela are here because HR recognizes talent or they are under paid; maybe both. Both are pleasant and truly seem to enjoy working here. I also talked with Ali, and a young lady working the front desk (also mopped the floor Sun eve Apr 6) and a young lady who made sure the breakfast food was ready, Mon Apr 7.
While I prefer the convenience of downtown Indy; the guest experience gives way.

Room Tip: room 128 is next to the mechanical room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirk u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Kirk u,
Many travelers have found out what you discovered by spending just a little time in finding our hotel. Although it is approximately 9 miles west of downtown, our guest experience is the best one in the city, and we thank you for posting a positive review regarding your stay. Robyn and Angela, and also Sarah and Ali, do an outstanding job of making all of our guest feel welcome the moment they enter the hotel. The ladies who prepare and serve our tremendous breakfast are alway kind and willing to help assist in whatever way the can as well. Ofen times convenience may be a factor in determining the location one chooses to stay at, but if unmatched friendly guest service, a clean room, and top level amenities are what you seek from a hotel experience, we are definitely your hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

your staff was great, the rooms were nice, breakfast was good. We had a group attending a soccer tournament. Manager Sarah went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. we will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCC3kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear JCC3kid,
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us this past week-end. As we host a number of sport groups, it is great to be told of the satisfaction you expressed with our staff, the rooms, and our breakfast. Sarah is a tremendous member of our team, and representative of the commitment to guest service we all are led to provide by the ownership of the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We made our second stay in as many weekends here Saturday night. The hotel itself is one of the niceset Holiday Inn Express hotels I have ever stayed in. The decor is fresh and modern and the eating area is huge with multiple televisons for breakfast and evenings. The front desk ladies on Saturday night the 5th of April were fantastic. Very friendly, talkative and informative. The was a soccer team from Kentucky in that weekend and they all were enjoying the breakfast area and watching thier team in the NCAA tournaments on the televisions that evening. They were having a blast being able to all be together and watch the game. I salute the hotel ownership for designing the eating area so it can be used in the evenings also.
The rooms are very clean and extremely nice and the bed slept well. The jacuzzi rooms are nice and large and relaxing. We met the owner Sunday morning as he was making rounds talking to tables of people eating breakfast. Not many hotels have an owner who takes the time to make sure guests stays were perfect. He is a truely caring owner who takes the time to make sure his hotel and his staff are over and above normal hotel hospitality. We come to Indy several times a year and this will now be our hotel of choice for Indianapolis.
Thanks for all the hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKClevenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear CK Clevenger,
Thank you so much for your most positive review of our hotel during your second stay with us. Everything you mentioned from the front desk staff to the condition of the hotel and the service you received and saw reflects the direction ownership of the hotel intends for all of us to provide. It is no surprise therefore, for me to read in your comments that the owner personally asked about your satisfaction with your stay with us. He leads by example and really!! doesn't ask anyone staff member here to do anything that he either hasn't done, or wouldn't do. It is a priviledge for you to consider our hotel your "hotel of choice" for your future visits to Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a horrible stay at a different chain in Fort Wayne so we decided to pay a little more to stay here. Upon check-in we were greeted with a warm welcome from the desk members. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and condition of our room. I was with my mother and we had plenty of room for us both. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Their cinnamon rolls and pancakes were delicious. I would stay here again and recommend it! Nice work Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear c.s.
Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay with us. We strive to have every guest who chooses our hotel experience the warm welcome you described from our front desk team. This carries forward to our housekeeing staff who prepare the condition of your room, and the breakfast individuals who ensure that the breakfast will include the eggs, the cinnamon rolls, meats, cereals, breads, and other choices our guests enjoy so much as they get their day started. We thank you for your recommendatino, and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Indianapolis Airport-Rockville Rd.
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Airport
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Airport
#2 of 182 in Indianapolis
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Airport Suites
Best Western Airport Suites
#83 of 182 in Indianapolis
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
550 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Indianapolis Airport
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
Address: 5855 Rockville Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46224-9120 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#38 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Banker's Life Fieldhouse, Lucas Oil Stadium, Victory Field, Lucas Oil Raceway Park, 8 Second Saloon and the NCAA Hall of Champions.Enjoy our proximity to downtown Indianapolis, Indiana Government Center, Indianapolis Convention Center, as well as Butler University, University of Indianapolis and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI).Take advantage of our excellent customer service, 24hr Airport Shuttle or our popular packages including Park, Sleep & Fly. Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites West Hotel Indianapolis
Comfort Inn And Suites West
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing