We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older building”
Review of Indy Speedway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indy Speedway Inn
Ranked #137 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed March 23, 2014

There were guard dogs in the yard that barked at the sirens but they were taken in later in evening so no real problem.The building was kept up including bathrooms,& room

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your revue. Appreciate all your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived at 3pm. Check-in was at 2pm. The manager informed us that our room was not ready and complained about all the people that had stayed there and how understaffed he was. We went to run an errand. Got back at 4pm. The room was STILL not ready. So, we decided to go have an early dinner and come back. Came back at 6pm....room was still not ready! We needed somewhere to put our dog. We asked Johnny(the manager)'s nephew and he sent us to two rooms that were not king sized beds that we had reserved and also had dirty linens and garbage from previous guests. We would have taken, at this point, any clean room with beds, but there were none to be had! We had had enough. I called and found a La Quinta on Emerson and 465(in case you're reading this and are in the same situation) and reserved two rooms and left!
We then called the company that we had booked from for a refund for Johnny's Ramada Limited. They called the Ramada for an explanation and Johnny told them that we were simply holding out for King sized beds that he didn't have. Huh? Ok. Say we were holding out for King sized beds. Why were they not available at check in time?!

To recap, if you don't want the room you reserved and want to be lied to while receiving poor customer service, this is your place! I will be sharing this story with media contacts as a good example of bait and switch business practices due to the fact that we reserved and paid for one type of room that never became available when we arrived

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Manager apologizes for all your incovenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed one night with my son. Room was fine; unremarkable, but clean and not at all nasty. Wi-fi speed was good. Owner's dogs were a little loud in the area of the check-in area, but we didn't hear them in the room. Breakfast was very basic, but that's what you expect in such places.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We checked in for a dog show. Hotel was under remodel and instead of putting customers in the new rooms was putting everyone in the old broke down ones. Had to plunge my own toilet! Found needles and drug baggies on the floor. Couldn't get clean towels. Owners dogs going to the bathroom in both the office and the restaurant area. Owner was nowhere to be found to report all this too. Would never stay at this place again. Owner even asked customers to go out for drinks. Did this to several of my show friends checking in! Beware of this hotel!

Room Tip: Go to Baymont next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, General Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Very sorry for any incovenience. I apologize for your unhappy stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
7.1 mi away
Motel 6 Indianapolis
Motel 6 Indianapolis
#119 of 186 in Indianapolis
98 reviews
13.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - Sout...
#109 of 186 in Indianapolis
21 reviews
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
#91 of 186 in Indianapolis
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis West
10 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#133 of 186 in Indianapolis
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Speedway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Speedway Inn

Address: 3851 Shore Dr, West 38th and I-465 Exit 17, Indianapolis, IN 46254-2601 (Formerly Ramada Limited Indianapolis West)
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indy Speedway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Indy Speedway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Indianapolis West Hotel Indianapolis
Ramada Indianapolis
Indianapolis Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing