We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Indy Speedway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Indy Speedway Inn
Ranked #135 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
WEST CHICAGO
1 review
“great value”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Room was small, but well equipped with amenities. Cleanliness was average for the motels I've stayed in. I like the individual doors to outside (a personal preference) and closeness to restaurants. Would feel cramped for an extended stay, but fine for a place to spend a night or two, and a bargain compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank WestChicagoGary_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Glad you stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    22
    19
    54
See reviews for
45
23
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AMELIA
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Came for Mopar Monter weekend. Stayed at this Ramada last year and there is a reason I came back. The owner, Johnnie "B" is great. Goes out of his way to take care of guests and make sure your comfortable. Rooms were clean, area is safe. Plenty of places to eat very close by (walking distance). A great place to stay when in Indy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank CHRIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Glad your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenarm
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like the location of hotel & hotel. Will stay at same hotel, have stayed there for 6 years. Had a problem getting a room at Internet price, went directly to Ramada Limited to book my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I made a reservation to stay the night at this hotel before taking a test the following morning in Indianapolis. When I arrived there was no one at the desk to check me in. I waited. While I awaited other guests came and went who were also waiting for help but no one came. Dialing the number did nothing. I tried calling the phone number listed on google maps but that just led to the desk which was unmanned. I called the national Ramada number but that led to someone who merely redirected me to the front desk. I waited a long time but eventually I decided that I did need to get some sleep before my test so I went to another hotel. The Ramada Limited is good at one thing, however, and that is billing your credit card.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/photons/sets/72157631340951936/with/7902224480/

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoden9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We apologize for the incovenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Not sure I was given the worst room, I suppose it's possible that every other room was immaculately maintained and clean...but I doubt it. Our room was so grungy I couldn't even feel comfortable enough to sit on the sofa.... something on the bathroom floor....something on the picture frame, some mysterious pill and lots of dirt on the mattress....carpet disgusting. Johnny B not very friendly. Barking dogs. Not sure what else I can add. Jameson Inn within walking distance...thank God.

Room Tip: Stay some place else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MACinMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We apologize that your stay was less than enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Located in a not so good neighborhood. The rooms smelled like mildew and sheets were dirty. The creepy guy that runs the place was hitting on my 18 yr old sister!!! THE GUY IS OVER 50 and super unprofessional. She felt really uncomfortable and didn't wanted to walk from the room to the car on her own! internet access is a pain and the manager has no clue on how to solve any issues. He even told me to ask someone in another room for support! Will not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: can't really give any advise other than to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saschavega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We apologize that your stay was less than enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After arriving and checking in We found our room to be tidy and well maintained. The rooms could do with a little sprucing up but are ok for a place to sleep. The coating on the bathroom wall was pealing but that was the only fault we could find. Johnny B was always ready to help with what ever was needed wether it be a bottle opener at 11:30 at night or a couple of extra pillows. His door was always open and a warm welcome was given every time we went past. If you are in need of a nice friendly place to stay while in the area then I would recommend staying here. although did get a bit noisy a couple of nights but that was due to rowdy guests in the parking lot and if you don't like dogs then avoid. Would visit again if we're ever in the area.

Room Tip: Friendly staff, good value for the area, do get a lot of noise from other rooms using bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnybhalla, Manager at Indy Speedway Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis West
4.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Indianapolis Park 100
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Indianapolis Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Airport Suites
Best Western Airport Suites
#80 of 182 in Indianapolis
190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northwest-Park 100
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
#95 of 182 in Indianapolis
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Speedway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Speedway Inn

Property: Indy Speedway Inn
Address: 3851 Shore Dr, West 38th and I-465 Exit 17, Indianapolis, IN 46254-2601 (Formerly Ramada Limited Indianapolis West)
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indy Speedway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Indy Speedway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Indianapolis West Hotel Indianapolis
Ramada Indianapolis
Indianapolis Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing