We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Indianapolis
Ranked #24 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After staying at other downtown hotels the last three years, we booked the Indianapolis Westin. The hotel website offered a competitive price. Our room overlooked the sites plaza giving us a relaxing view of the city. Convenient to the downtown's nightlife, shopping, convention center, & sporting facilities, the newly updated lobby made it ideal place to meet guests. The 2 queen size beds scored big for my spouse who struggles with sleep apnea. Often a score spot for us, the quiet room & bed made us both happy! Last, the easy on site self park saved us a few extra dollars. We plan to book another weekend next year.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms, Starbucks coffee, easy walking distance to downtown functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is always refreshing to hear firsthand accounts of renewing experiences from our guests and I thank you for using your valuable time to relay the details of your stay with us. I am elated to hear that you were pleased with our competitive rates, location, parking options and signature Westin Heavenly Beds. The rejuvenation that accompanies a good night’s sleep is of great importance to the productivity of your day and I am happy to hear that both you and your spouse were able to acquire that rest while staying with us. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you both back to our hotel.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    465
    222
    112
    75
See reviews for
210
254
58
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bound Brook, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Westin is a solid choice for accommodation for business or leisure while in Indy. I've stayed at several downtown hotels and have been disappointed with others, but the Westin delivered excellent service from the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the property itself is exceedingly clean and comfortable. The close proximity to the canal (I love running there when I am in town), to Harry & Izzy's (consistenly delicious food I indulge in during each visit) and the mall (when I need a stroll and to hit up some sales) and the reliably comfortable night's sleep means I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 239amys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for your comments in regards to our service, location and cleanliness. I am happy to hear that you had the opportunity to experience some of the wonderful options that Indianapolis has to offer and that you were pleased with your stay at our hotel. I look forward to any future opportunities we may have to welcome you back.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The good. This hotel is in a terrific location. It is in downtown Indianapolis, practically adjacent to the Indiana state capitol and government offices. It is within walking distance of both Lucas Oil Stadium and Bankers Life Fieldhouse. It is right across the street from the convention center, and only two or three blocks from the downtown shopping mall, restaurants, clubs, etc. It also is within walking distance of the NCAA headquarters, the riverfront area, and museums. The hotel’s management does a good job providing top notch customer service. For example, I was impressed that rather than having a robe hanging in the closet (I never know if there are really clean), the guest robe was hanging in a sealed plastic bag as if it had just come back from the cleaners. Really nice touch.
The bad. This hotel badly needs an interior face lift. The guest floor hallways reminded me of a college dorm that has had a hard life. The carpet is stained and patched; the walls looked like they also had been patched and repainted in spots; the ceilings are low, and the entire hallway seemed cramped, dark, and uninviting. Very un-Westin. On first look, the guest room itself seemed fine, but on closer inspection there were a number of problems there too – there were few available electrical outlets either by the workspace or next to the bed; the in-room safe was non-functional; the bathroom was very small; there was no phone on the workspace table (making conference calls difficult when you are trying to work from the hotel room).
Both valet and self-parking is available, but it isn’t cheap. Self-parking in an attached city-owned garage is $28 a night, and overnight valet parking is $36. Overall, the location and customer service are big plusses, but there are other hotels in the immediate vicinity that hopefully have been better maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share both the positive aspects of your stay and the areas that you feel could be improved. It is the feedback from our guests that allow us to know what areas can be enhanced. We are currently in the process of starting a complete guest room renovation and we will carefully consider all issues stated as we move forward with this project. Thank you for kind words in regards to our location and customer service. We genuinely hope to have the opportunity to host you again during any future stays in Indianapolis.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the Westin last week while at the Mecum Auto Auctions.. There's a Shula's restaurant onsite. The hotel was clean, staff was great and polite but at rush hour, they only had 2 clerks checking in guests and there was quite a wait.

Room Tip: no advice on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comments about our cleanliness and staff and thank you for your patience during the check in process. I am sorry to hear that your wait was longer than anticipated and will follow up with the appropriate managers to ensure that all staffing policies are being met. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during any future stays in Indianapolis.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Got this room through Priceline at a very good rate. The hotel is in Downtown Indy and close to everything. The rooms are nice, clean and ours was quiet. The service from check-in to check-out was excellent. You can get to numerous locations in the area and not even have to go outside. There are skywalks between buildings and parking facilities to make things very convenient. There is no hotel parking, but you can access plenty of parking garages that are connected to the skywalks at reasonable rates. The garage that we parked in was 22.00 for 24 hour parking. I would go back to this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments in regards to our location, cleanliness, customer service and check-in/check-out efficiency is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the convenient layout of the city of Indianapolis and utilize the indoor walking options. We are excited about any potential opportunities that we may have to host you again in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked a room at the Westin so we'd be close to the start line of the Indianapolis Mini Marathon. Checking in and out was a breeze. We asked for extra towels and got them within the hour of our asking. Beds were unbelieveable - so comfortable! They must have a water softener going through the hot water, because my skin and hair weren't dried out after a shower. And speaking of shower - there's a rainfall showerhead - so cool!
The only thing I wish they had, was a breakfast, but then again, we don't really a breakfast before a race, just small bites. I'd definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorizita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed the signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower and very thankful for your kind comments in regards to our service and location. Thank you for using some of your valuable time to provide us with the specifics of your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

So close to the convention center and the city center. Starbucks in the lobby. FedEx business office. One downside, if you ship package to hotel, it all goes to the FedEx office and they charge high handling fees.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwaby126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your comments about our location, Starbucks outlet and FedEx Business Center. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and sincerely hope to welcome you back during a future stay.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,620 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,254 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 180 in Indianapolis
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,206 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Indianapolis

Property: The Westin Indianapolis
Address: 241 W. Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3406
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#31 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Indianapolis enjoys an unbeatable location in the heart of the city. Connected by a covered sky-bridge to the Indiana Convention Center, Lucas Oil Stadium and Circle Centre Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Westin Indianapolis
Indianapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing