We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Indianapolis
Ranked #23 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We had a trade show in Indianapolis to attend, so I used Priceline to see if we could get a deal and boy we did! We ended up with the Westin - which couldn't have been more perfect as they have a skywalk to the convention center where our event was being held. We were so pleased with getting the Westin for the price we paid as the location was perfect and our stays with Westin in the past have always been terrific. This time was no exception though we were not in the room as much as we typically are.

Check in was 3 pm, but we were allowed to check in 1 1/2 hours early. Very nice man at the front desk. We parked in the garage next to the hotel - very convenient but pricy - $24 for 24 hours. There are garages that are less expensive for overnight, but you will have to walk a few blocks. We paid for the convenience and it was worth it.

Our room was on the 12th floor looking west toward the Marriott. Room 1203 was nicely appointed, two double beds, chair, desk, tv, minibar (don't even touch anything unless you want to be charged for it!), hair dryer, safe, iron and board, lighted vanity mirror. Bathroom was nice, a bit small, and a bit too dark for our taste. But there are two mirrors in the main part of the room, so other than shaving, anything else can be done out there in the daylight. Only other negative was the drain in our tub - very slow. Water was up to my ankles when I finished with my shower, not a deal breaker, but an inconvenience.

The best part of the room - the beds. Oh my goodness, they are exactly what they call them: HEAVENLY! My Alex enjoyed one of the best nights sleep he has ever had away from home! They are firm and soft at the same time, and are just perfect.

The location of the hotel to all that's fun in downtown Indy makes it a perfect place to stay. Two blocks from the City Centre mall, lots of restaurants right down the street, a half block from the Capitol building, across the street from the Indiana Convention Center and the RCA Dome . . . it's all right at your fingertips! We also found the best breakfast place about 6 blocks away - LePeep on the corner of Illinois and New York streets. The best pancakes in all of Indy!

Check out was a breeze since we had no charges to the room. A few steps to the elevator which took us to the parking garage and we were on our way in less than 5 minutes from front desk to leaving the garage. Very convenient.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat, especially if we were going to any event in downtown Indy.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,425 - 1,431 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed here during Thanksgiving (it's taken me awhile to get to writing a review), on the 11th floor. I had a great suite with 2 double beds. The room was very Westin; there was a mini-bar in the living room, and plenty of dresser space in the bedroom. The bathroom was pretty normal. A couple things I noticed about the room: first, housekeeping had left the connecting doors open between us and the room next to us (which was thankfully vacant). Just an oversight, not a big deal at all. Secondly--and this is becoming more standard as technology improves--the mini-bar automatically charges your room if you lift an item off its place. This would be fine, but they put all the liquor bottles label-side back, so you had to lift them to turn them around. I was staying in the room with my 20-year old brother, who of course had to see every type of liquor they had. The next morning, I had over $140 in mini-bar charges even though we didn't consume anything. The front desk agent was very pleasant and took it off without question (she mentioned that that's pretty much all she does in the morning, because everyone looks at the bottles). It seems to me that this might not be the best process to use, as it only causes the desk more work.

In any case, the room was fine, the service was great--everyone at the front desk was nice and personable. I'd definitely stay here again. The parking was expensive ($24), but I looked around a bit and that was pretty much standard throughout the downtown area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We spent just one night at the Westin in Indy; however, it was a great night. The Heavenly beds are just that....heavenly. They are the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in! The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t2andc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Nice hotel in good condition, seems to be understaffed. On check-in there was a big bag of smelly garbage by my door, when I came back 4 hrs. later, it was still there. As I was checking out they had ONE guy acting as the bellhop and valet. He said because an event at the RCA center was letting out my car was blocked in (not true--I checked, but couldn't drive my car without keys). As it turned out, there was some professional basketball team also checking out at the same time. Although I was first in line, it seems that they took precedent because: A) He anticipated a larger tips? B) They are more important than me? C) ????

So this ONE guy went up and down the elevator for each player until the their bus was packed with all their bags. Wait for my car: 1 hr. +

If you're not a sports celebrity, get ready to feel like a VUP at the Westin!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dknelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

I spent a day at this hotel for Christmas party.
Arrived at the hotel a little after 9AM, and was gladly accepted to check-in early. A bit of late check out was also accepted. Overall quite pleasant stay.

Check in/out: Even though check in was 9AM, I was able to check-in. Asked late check out at 1PM, and it was also very pleasantly accpeted.
Room: Is a bit outdated. Although the "Heavenly Bed" was really nice and comfy. Found a refreshment center which was locked. Thought it was mini fridge and refreshement center but found out that there is no mini fridge. Asked mini fridge and it was brought up a bit late. Had also trouble with chair, and asked replacement. Air conditioning was a bit old, and sound a bit odd.

Bathroom: Need improvement immediately. Quite old, and noisy. Also, need to wait a while to get real "hot" water.

Overall: Nice stay but the hotel need to make some "renovation" or "improvement" of its facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hohohaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Just returned from a 2 night stay for a conference and felt this was a good downtown hotel if you're in town for business. I thought the conference rate was very good; $110 nightly. The room was fine; good work area with comfortable chair and internet access. Clean and well maintained. The bed was definately "heavenly", probably the big selling point for this hotel. I thought the bathroom was very small, but enjoyed the dual shower heads. The staff was efficient and professional. No one was rude but I didn't get a real friendly vibe either. Didn't eat at their signature restaurant, Shula's, way out of my price range. But they are connected to the mall and plenty of more affordable eating options there. You are also within walking distance of some decent quality restaurants that won't break the bank.
Overall I can recommend this hotel if you can get a pretty decent rate.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oshtemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Good location in the city, very central and right near the mall and RCA Dome . We were there to take out daughter to the Indianapolis Children's Museum, which is great. We were there for 4 hours and our daughter, Gabi, loved it. When we left, as soon as our van cleared the parking garage, she fell right asleep!

We got back to the hotel, and stayed in, it was much to cold to do anything. We ate Don Shula's Steak house, food was great but they need a general restaraunt, if you do not want to shell out allot of money for food, but there are allot of restaraunts just 1 or 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delta210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,590 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,602 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#5 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,978 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#29 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Indianapolis

Address: 241 W. Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3406
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#31 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $173 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Indianapolis enjoys an unbeatable location in the heart of the city. Connected by a covered sky-bridge to the Indiana Convention Center, Lucas Oil Stadium and Circle Centre Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Westin Indianapolis
Indianapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing