We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Indianapolis
Ranked #23 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room was nothing special, not bad, but not good. The bathroom was tiny and had water damage. The amenities were terrible.
The pool is noly 4ft deep, I had to call the desk 2 twice, and walk down once to get head phones for the fitness center, and they only brought them after over a 15 min wait.
For what we paid it was very disappointing. I've stayed in hotels for $50 a night that had better amenities, and rooms that were just as nice. I realize that you are paying extra for being down town, but for a few extra dollars you could stay in a much nicer place.

Room Tip: To get the best room in downtown Indy, go to a diffrent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during your stay with us. I apologize that your bathroom had water damage and I assure you that this does not meet our standards and will be investigated and corrected. I also apologize for the wait that you experienced after you requested head phones for your workout. Please know that we take your comments very seriously and all issues raised will be explored. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback so that we know what areas can be improved upon. I greatly hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Max. Very poor regard for reservations paid in advance if you arrive late for check-in. They will sell your room to someone else and tell you they are sold out due to overbooking and try to put you somewhere else. Like Sheraton North, 40 minutes north of downtown. The entire purpose of booking there is to be downtown. Several months ago I made a reservation for my son and his family to stay August 3, 4 and 5 for the annual GameCon event. Due to his wife's father have to have emergency surgery they could not leave until Late Thursday the 4th. Both Westin res line and the hotel direct told me since I had already paid for the room with my hotel points the room would be there for him regardless when he checked in. Notes were place on the reservation to make sure. About 9 PM Thursday I received a call to my cell from John at the hotel asking if someone would be checking in. I called back within an hour and said yes, my son, his wife and two small boys were on there way from Chicago. He said they were oversold and had no rooms. I said they had no right to sell our room. He said they did. I guess our attorney will find out. So much for customer loyalty. I understand another 20 people were having the same thing happen. I think Jerry Jones pulled the same thing for the Superbowl to fans that traveled from all over. Now my son will have to drive from Sheraton North to an early event he has scheduled and leave his family at Sheraton North. When they go it will have to be by cab or Sheraton van. This should be covered by the Westin since it is their fault. I actually thought Westin would be above this kind of thing but John says they overbook all the time. So make sure you always arrive early to avoid your room being sold as well. Anyone experiencing the same treatment at this hotel during this week please contact me for a group complaint to the owners of the hotel, Westin Corporate and maybe something else. mlb0803@aol.com

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank MaxbMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinIndyGM, General Manager at The Westin Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you so much for your feedback. First of all, please let me apologize for the inconvenience that your family experienced during their trip to Indianapolis. I know that there can be a lot of stress involved in travel especially when the circumstances are as you described and I’m truly sorry for any extra discomfort that was experienced. Please know that when situations like you have described arise we do wish to take responsibility on our end and we cover the cost of both the hotel stay and the necessary transportation to the city that you mentioned. I sincerely hope that your son and his family had an otherwise pleasant experience during their visit for the Gen Con event, and that we will have an opportunity to host your family again in the future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to inform us of the issues that you experienced. We consider your feedback a gift and will assess the issues raised in order to provide all guests with an overall better experience for any future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed here many time before, but I was surprised to check in to find the property under construction. I am slightly annoyed that the lobby is a mess and the Starbucks has not been operational for the past 2 days. Conditionally recommended - this place should be better post renovation. Until then, there are many other options

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spunkykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here on my way home from a family trip, time away for my wife and I. It had a wonderful location in downtown Indy. The hotel itself was quite old, undergoing refurbishing, probably why we got the nice deal that we did, including valet parking. Everyone was pleasant, had a club level room and access to the club w/ the rate. Was surprised at how little was offered in the club in the evenings . . . diet coke, coke, sprite and coffee/tea and some fruit. It was quite sparse compared to other clubs that I have been in. I was surprised, but another review had mentioned it, so I was not completely shocked. However considering that this was a Westin, I was still surprised. If I had paid a premium rate for the club access, I would have been extremely disappointed. Breakfast was nice, I was late getting there (after posted hours), but they still had enough that I was satisfied and it was well prepared. The gentleman that staffed the breakfast was very helpful.

The room was nice, plenty of room for two and the bed was comfortable, but the refrigerator situation was weird, never used it but never really figured out what it was all about. The bathroom was very small, adequate for the two of us, but smaller than in any of the last 20 hotels that I have stayed at, again I was warned in a prior review, so not surprised. Finally, another funny point, there was only one bathrobe available (even though the reservation was for two adults), luckily my wife desired one and I did not, could have been problematic if we both wanted it.

Overall, nice, clean and we had a good deal, would stay there again under the same circumstances, but would not want to pay more than we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

It is easier to not be critical when you aren't the one footing the bill (the company did) but I would be upset if I had paid high prices for this one. They advertise a spa-like shower experience, but we just had a regular shower and it leaked too. Beds are comfortable. Room is just like a standard hotel room. They did do a good job of feeding and entertaining our large group--just wasn't impressed w/ the room. Also, no free internet either, but that seems to be the norm in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warriorforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Used to be the only decent option in town for a while until the JW Marriott came up. That just exaggerates all the shortcomings of the Westin.
The Westin is still reasonable with comfortable beds. But the internet speeds and connectivity is appalling (and this is after their "upgrade" in 2011). The food selection leaves a lot to be desired with just one restaurant - Shulas. And, it's about time they replaced / renovated their bathrooms. In many of the rooms I've stayed in, the showers don't always work, they look like they've been there for 20 years. And the gym has very few treadmills and machines ... on an average day, one may have to wait for a treadmill.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was here for the Kappa event and just wanted to voice an opinion. We stayed at this hotel and it started off really nice the hotel accomidations were ok.
We had an issue one day with the room and went down to talk to someone about it at the front desk I believe the guys name was Ed, i think he said he was the manager. He was not very nice in fact he was a bit rude to myself and others in my party when we were trying to get everything situated. He didnt want to hear anything we wanted to say and just kinda shooed us away. I was a bit heated so went back to the room and called down, in hopes of getting someone who would be a bit more helpful. I spoke to a girl I think her name was Jess or Jessica. Anyway, she was GREAT, complete opposite of the other guy. I explained the situation to her, and not only did she remedy it but she even gave a follow up phone call to make sure we were all taken care of. Kuddos to her.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank JJS479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,766 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#27 of 185 in Indianapolis
913 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#9 of 185 in Indianapolis
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,305 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,445 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Indianapolis

Address: 241 W. Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3406
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#22 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#31 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $143 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 573
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Indianapolis enjoys an unbeatable location in the heart of the city. Connected by a covered sky-bridge to the Indiana Convention Center, Lucas Oil Stadium and Circle Centre Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Westin Indianapolis
Indianapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing