We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Ranked #51 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Less than the best”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton was in the perfect location for my recent business trip. However, a convention was in town at the same time and the service was diminished because if the large number of people. Also, the toilets seemed to have been placed in the bathrooms as an afterthought -- very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Rose R.,

Thank you for filing out a review with tripadvisor.com. It was truly a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so delighted that you were so impressed with our location and its convenience for your recent business trip. We were disappointed to hear that you were inconvenienced due to the events happening in the city and within the hotel. We really apologize that there was a lack of service due to large number of people in the hotel.

Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here and we are constantly working on improving. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of our hotel.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    233
    159
    79
    40
See reviews for
95
136
47
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

So confused by bad reviews.... Everything about this hotel was great. Friendly front desk, free wifi, amazing view from room. Clean room w comfortable bed. If you go in summer, go to the pool!!! The rooftop pool has an awesome view as well as the room! I stayed in 1907 right in front of the circle. Short walk to everything. Do not listen to the bad reviews!! Im sure if you did have a prob it would be fixed here immediately!!

Room Tip: Ask for view of circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Kristen M.,

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed you most recent stay with us and would like to thank you for letting us know what aspects of your stay you liked most. It is so exciting to hear that you were so impressed with our front desk staff, the view from your room, the cleanliness and comfort of your room and bed, and also our location to local attractions. It is nice to have our pool deck open for the season because it truly is an amazing space that captures breathtaking views of the city.

Your comments are greatly appreciated. We strive to create an unforgettable experience with hope that you will return in the near future.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I arrived at the hotel at about 2:00 am after a long day of travel. It was about 3:00am before I could get to sleep, only to be awakened at about 9:00am by the sound of loud hammering and a power tool somewhere close to my room. The heating and A/C thermostat is broken, only releasing cold air, no matter what the setting. The first desk clerk I spoke with acknowledged that as the general condition of the heating and cooling system and told me that when the unit is shut off, some heat strip in an undisclosed location would warm up.
After donning my jeans and sweater to warm up, I waited to see if the room would get any warmer. It didn't. I called down again and was told by a second desk clerk that he'd send up a maintenance person to look at the unit and bring up a space heater. Still waiting on that event.
This is an older property, and needs to have the thermostats and heating/cooling systems in the rooms upgraded to meet Sheraton standards.
Be aware that although there are two containers of bottled water in the room for guests, that only the smaller one is complimentary. The second bottle is $4.00.

Room Tip: Menu is a bit pricey. There are several restaurant alternatives close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverDsigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear DenverDsigner,

Thank you for filing out a review on tripadvisor.com and sharing your experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our bedding and that you found our rooms to be attractive. We do apologize for the inconveniences brought upon you due to the loud maintenance work early in the morning and also for the heating not working in your room.

Your feedback is an important tool that allows us to improve the quality of our products and services. The housekeeping team has assured us that they will do a better job reporting maintenance issues and our front office team will do a better job on follow through when promised, so that you will not encounter them on future visits. We have spoken to our maintenance team about staying away from any early morning work that may disturb our guests.

Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here and we are constantly working on improving. We appreciate your comments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back next time your travels bring you this way.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

There was a lot of dried nasal mucus on the duvet cover where someone had blown their nose. The headboard was dirty. Only 2 towels for the suite. Relatives in other rooms that night: one never had maid service upon check in (dirty room.) The other had hot water issues and a broken A/C. The building is old, but a half way remodel would have been fine if it had been clean. It was incredibly loud all night; the walls were super thin. Security had to come up & break up a huge party, so it was quieter but still really loud all night. Check in was unusually difficult and long even though the line wasn't long...it got very long shortly after that. One person in our party didn't get their room until after 5pm. I don't think they were offered any compensation... There are better places at this price point within blocks of this hotel that we have stayed at; stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear dlmr1,

We certainly thank you for taking the time to write us concerning your experience at our hotel. While we appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed list of issues you encountered, we are very sorry that it was necessary for you to do so. We hope you will accept our apologies for your disappointment in our facility.

We were very saddened to hear that you had issues with the cleanliness and maintenance of your room, being inconvenienced due to noise level, and also your check-in process. We have reviewed your cleanliness comments with the housekeeping team; this most certainly is not in keeping with the high standards that we strive to maintain. It would be helpful if you would please contact me directly so I can identify the person that cleaned and checked your room, this will allow us to provide them with additional training. We do conduct regular preventive maintenance on all of our guest rooms to prevent the conditions you described, the housekeeping team has assured us that they will do a better job reporting maintenance issues so that you will not encounter them on future visits.

These are issues that we do not take lightly and we can assure you that our leadership team will address these issues and prevent them from happening in the future. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and it would be our pleasure to continue to have you as a valued guest of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Galloway, Ohio
Level Contributor
194 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It was not too difficult to find this hotel. The hotel is located just north of the circle, so you can easily access the City Mall (about 4-5 blocks). When you get there, first thing you want to do is to park in the attached garage next to it. Just be careful not to drive too fast, especially if you have a bigger car or truck. You'll notice that the garage ceiling is very low (even a 5'7" person can reach the ceiling), so I don't know if you have a big SUV, you could park there. I saw some Jeeps parked there. The check-in didn't go smoothly due to some miscommunication with my company about payment. The desk clerk, Abigail, was just sweet and nice. She gave us a voucher for a free breakfast for the trouble. BTW, their breakfast buffet is $14.95 (or something). There is Starbucks on site, and if you are a coffee drinker, there will be a complimentary coffee at the lobby. If you want the Wi-Fi access, you can either get it for free in the lobby area or pay $10.95. The room was nice. I had a room facing the circle. They have an outdoor pool, but it isn't anything fancy. The bed was comfortable. The only thing that I didn't like about the hotel was that you can hear the toilet flush next room over. So even when you are sleeping, you can hear someone flushing toilet. The shower was just okay. They were conserving water, I guess. When you leave the parking garage, if your front desk clerk took your parking ticket, all you have to do is to press Help/Info button, and they'll let you get out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsucchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Tsucchy,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property. We do value every comment and use them to make things better at our hotel for you in the future. We are very pleased to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location to the local attractions. It is very nice to be able to walk to most locations and not worry about parking.

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your check in but glad that one of our team members was able to compensate you for your troubles. We were disappointed to hear that you were disrupted by the sounds coming from other rooms and we are very sorry. We do have renovation plans in place and your feedback will be shared with our team so we can address the issue and prevent them from happening in the future.

It was a pleasure to have you say with us and again we are sorry for the issues you encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you this way.

Sincerely,
Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a good location. We could walk to the Mini Marathon start, and walk back to the hotel from the finish line. Staff was very friendly and attentive to us. We stayed on the 12 floor, and it was nice and quiet at night. The pool was closed for the season. We would have liked the pool, for our kids, 4 and 7, but we lived without it. The nightly rates were competitive. Rooms were clean, the amenities were nice, like free coffee, 2 small bottles of water. Nice newer flat screen TV. I would stay here again, no issues with it. The parking was $25.00 a night, with come and go privileges. It was easy to use, even though I hate paying $25 a night for parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear moneil12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. It definitely was a great weekend to be in Indianapolis and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, our clean rooms, and amenities.

We do apologize for the pool not being opened yet but please come back soon so you and your family may enjoy swimming while taking in the great views of the city.

We appreciate all your positive feedback and we look forward to your return next time you are in the area.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is not the most modern hotel at which you will ever stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, but a little dated.Any deficiencies in the rooms is more than made up for by a hotel staff that is second to none. There is no one that I encountered who was not friendly, cheerful and very concerned about the welfare and satisfaction of their guests.So many of the big chains spend a fortune on decor, but hire people who just go through the motions. Kudos to the management of this for hiring the best. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Scott W.,

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your wonderful experience during your recent stay. It is so exciting to hear that our staff was so accommodating to you and provided you with excellent service. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s effort and takes the time to say thank you. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature especially when it is regarding our service and our rooms.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are looking forward to you returning to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#15 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Property: Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Address: 31 W Ohio St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing