We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Ranked #53 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK for a business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because the Conrad was full and the location was perfect. Staff could not have been nicer. Would probably give it a 4 except for some annoyances. The desk lamp was not working, the elevators took forever and the club on Club Level was lame. No wine or beer on club level and breakfast was second rate. Key card failed three times in the one day I was there. I will still probably use this hotel as my second option for Indianapolis.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear ChrisH05,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of our hardworking and friendly staff.

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the desk lamp, elevators, and the key card not working for you. We always strive to make every experience a positive one for our guests and it seems we failed to meet your expectations with our Club Lounge and technical difficulties. These concerns will definitely be addressed to the appropriate team members.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return next time your travels bring you this way.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    229
    152
    79
    40
See reviews for
92
134
47
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vacationista26
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend for a wedding. Do not let the lobby fool you. Once you get in the elevator, that is when you will see what I mean!

Once you reach your floor, you will notice the hallways are about 80 degrees. Who wants to be sweating in the winter? Also once you get into your room, you are not able to adjust temp at all. Walls, chairs, carpets, molding around windows, baseboards etc were gross, stained and outdated. I know this was not just my room, because I visited friends and family in their rooms. Lobby area, restaurant and bathrooms are the only things more modernized.

Rooms definitely need cleaning and updating. Bathrooms look like they have been done a few years ago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationista26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Vacationista26,

Thank you for filing out a review on tripadvisor.com. We do value every comment and use them to make things better at our hotel for you in the future. We are delighted that you were impressed with our lobby area, restaurant, and bathrooms.

Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with the heat in the hallways and the cleanliness of your room. We have addressed these concerns with the Engineering and Housekeeping departments to ensure that we are performing regular maintenance and upkeep throughout the hotel. This is not the experience we aim to provide our guest and we are very sorry.

We hope that in time you may reconsider your position and choose to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Attica, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night here for the SuperCross event at Lucas Oil Stadium and St. Patty's Day celebrations. Just a warning to plan for...they had a St. Patty's Day race and we had detours to get to hotel but we were able to get to it. We arrived early & checked in but room wasn't available. They called us when it was ready which was nice. Parking Garage located in the building & was convienient. We took our garage ticket in when checking in & they billed it to our room. So when ready to leave all set. The room (1909) was nicely updated, very clean and beds were nice and comfy. We had a view of the City Centre courtyard. Everything was within reasonable walking distance and the neighborhood felt safe. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of City Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Cookie123321,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on tripadvisor.com. We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of the convenience of our location to our lovely downtown attractions.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and would to thank you for letting us know what aspects of your stay you liked most such as the clean room, comfortable bed, great view, and parking. We look forward to welcoming you back next time when you are in the Indianapolis area.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

On my way from Peoria, IL to Columbus, OH and stopped at the Sheraton. Generally a very good place to crash. The Parking was easy, the entry is right next to the entry. The front desk people were a bit confused when I checked in although I checked in at 1 AM. I could have been me.
The room was fine. A bit older than I would expect for a Sheraton, but the building is older as well.
The only pain was checking out. I wanted to put the garage parking on my bill. That turned out to be a bit more work than the front desk person was able to handle and the ticket that was printed to exit the parking structure did not work so they front desk had to buzz me out.
I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mark D.,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased you found our parking to be easily accessible for you.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with your check in, and the challenges you had with your parking ticket not working when you were checking out of the hotel. It is very important to us that we make our guests feel welcome upon check in and that you leave with great memories. This will definitely be addressed with our front desk team to make sure that we do not inconvenience our guests; thanks to your feedback we have had the parking gate system checked by a technician.

Again, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel to our area.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

There was nothing special that really stood out here. The location is very convenient to the downtown area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with the exception of air conditioning, which did not seem to work at all. It would be a nice addition of you did not have to pay to access the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jim Z.,

Thank you for filing out a review on tripadvisor.com. We do value every comment and use them to make things better at our hotel for you in the future. We are delighted that you were so impressed with our location and its convenience and that you found the guestrooms to be clean and comfortable.

We are very sorry that the temperature in your room was not comfortable for your liking. During the winter months while the heat is on we do not circulate chilled water to our guestrooms; however the unit should be able to circulate ambient air in the room to cool guests off during winter.

In our lobby, we do provide Link@Sheraton which allows our guests 24-hour complimentary access to computers equipped with Internet and web cam capabilities. There is also complimentary internet access in the hotel lobby and public areas.

We thank you for all of your feedback and it would be our pleasure to continue to have you as a valued guest of our hotel.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Checked in at 12:30am and turned the sir conditioner to 60 degrees, at 5:30am It was over 90 degrees in our room. I finally called the front desk to ask how to turn the AC on, to which the lady replied "there is no AC in the hotel, only heat, to cool your room just turn off the thermostat". I have never seen a place that couldnt be cooled or even a fan turned on, it was without a doubt the worst hotel experience I've ever had in indy! Will never stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Paddad,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write to us concerning your experience at our hotel. The comfort and satisfaction of our guest is our top priority and we are sorry that we failed to do that for you.

We also apologize for you being supplied with the incorrect information about our hotel rooms. We in fact do have air conditioning in our hotel rooms but during the winter months while the heat is on we do not circulate chilled water to our guestrooms, however the unit should be able to circulate ambient air in the room to cool guests off during winter.

We do conduct regular preventive maintenance on our equipment to help prevent any engineering issues that may take place, but on occasion equipment will fail between scheduled maintenance. We have addressed the problem you reported with our housekeeping leadership team, so they can have their associates alert our maintenance department when they discover a problem similar to this prior to a guest checking into the room.

Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went in the middle of the winter, so the pool was not open. The location is great, right downtown. You do have to pay a little extra to be downtown, but it was exactly what you would expect. A clean hotel and some rooms have views as it is a pretty tall hotel. Overall I would recommend this place to a business traveler or a family visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanderq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Zanderq,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and conveniently located.

We hope you will return and maybe in the warmer months so you may take advantage of our outdoor pool that has an incredible view of Monument Circle.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#15 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Property: Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Address: 31 W Ohio St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing