We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

There was nothing special that really stood out here. The location is very convenient to the downtown area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with the exception of air conditioning, which did not seem to work at all. It would be a nice addition of you did not have to pay to access the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jim Z.,

Thank you for filing out a review on tripadvisor.com. We do value every comment and use them to make things better at our hotel for you in the future. We are delighted that you were so impressed with our location and its convenience and that you found the guestrooms to be clean and comfortable.

We are very sorry that the temperature in your room was not comfortable for your liking. During the winter months while the heat is on we do not circulate chilled water to our guestrooms; however the unit should be able to circulate ambient air in the room to cool guests off during winter.

In our lobby, we do provide Link@Sheraton which allows our guests 24-hour complimentary access to computers equipped with Internet and web cam capabilities. There is also complimentary internet access in the hotel lobby and public areas.

We thank you for all of your feedback and it would be our pleasure to continue to have you as a valued guest of our hotel.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    233
    157
    79
    40
See reviews for
95
136
47
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Checked in at 12:30am and turned the sir conditioner to 60 degrees, at 5:30am It was over 90 degrees in our room. I finally called the front desk to ask how to turn the AC on, to which the lady replied "there is no AC in the hotel, only heat, to cool your room just turn off the thermostat". I have never seen a place that couldnt be cooled or even a fan turned on, it was without a doubt the worst hotel experience I've ever had in indy! Will never stay there again and would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Paddad,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write to us concerning your experience at our hotel. The comfort and satisfaction of our guest is our top priority and we are sorry that we failed to do that for you.

We also apologize for you being supplied with the incorrect information about our hotel rooms. We in fact do have air conditioning in our hotel rooms but during the winter months while the heat is on we do not circulate chilled water to our guestrooms, however the unit should be able to circulate ambient air in the room to cool guests off during winter.

We do conduct regular preventive maintenance on our equipment to help prevent any engineering issues that may take place, but on occasion equipment will fail between scheduled maintenance. We have addressed the problem you reported with our housekeeping leadership team, so they can have their associates alert our maintenance department when they discover a problem similar to this prior to a guest checking into the room.

Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went in the middle of the winter, so the pool was not open. The location is great, right downtown. You do have to pay a little extra to be downtown, but it was exactly what you would expect. A clean hotel and some rooms have views as it is a pretty tall hotel. Overall I would recommend this place to a business traveler or a family visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanderq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Zanderq,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and conveniently located.

We hope you will return and maybe in the warmer months so you may take advantage of our outdoor pool that has an incredible view of Monument Circle.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

very conveniently located downtown; rooms are decent and clean, views are nice, the gym is small but clean and well equipped, the breakfast is ghastly. there is a starbucks on premises but.. it's a starbucks. Windows don't open in the room.

Room Tip: patachou a few blocks away offers good breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordmerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Lordmerd,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, our new fitness center, and our hotel rooms. We take great pride in these aspects and glad to hear that our guests are as well.

We do apologies for the windows not being able to open. We understand the aggravation behind this but it is for the safety and protection of our guests.

If you could please contact us regarding your experience at the restaurant regarding your breakfast so we may take immediate action.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We hope the next time you stay with us that we can make your experience more enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
267 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was a great location to stay for the recent B1G Football Championship. The staff was excellent and we were also treated to complimentary use of the club floor lounge and free parking since this was our 25th stay as a member of Starwood Preferred Guest. We plan to visit Indianapolis again and if we can score the $99 room rate will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jim B.,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is so exciting to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

Our location is a major asset that we take great pride in and we are glad you found that accommodating to you as well.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with tripadvisor.com. We are looking forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you this way.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Although I got a great rate at the Sheraton, I definitely received what I paid for. I walked into an 85 degrees room with no way to make it cooler. I eventually just turned off the heat and waited for it to get bearable.
Additionally, I understand that hotels are getting pet friendly, but I am severely allergic to pets. Although I asked, my room clearly had a dog sometime recently.
Finally the rooms are fairly worn.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Daniel P.,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the value of the room rate.

We definitely understand your frustration with being uncomfortable in your room due to the heat and also the pet dander. We do have pet-friendly designated floors and follow a deep-cleaning process once guests with pets do depart the hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for these issues you experienced during your stay.

If you would please contact us so we may resolve the engineering issue with the heater in your particular room and also to make sure in the future that you are not placed in a pet-friendly room.

Once again, we are very sorry for your uncomfortable stay and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of our hotel.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed being on the VIP package - forgot what it was called - where they have sodas and snacks in the afternoon and a light breakfast in the mornings. My room was a standard room, but there were a couple of problems - first, the bed sagged on one side, so I always felt as though I was sleeping on an angle. It was uncomfortable. The major problem was they put me right by the elevator shaft (on the 10th floor) and the sound of the elevators going up and down all night kept me awake. I asked to be switched after my first night, but they said they only had doubles available. I opted to stay with the King, but after a 2nd sleepless night, I should have moved to a room with a double away from the elevators. Avoid those rooms at all cost! Also...the cost was very affordable - around $135 I think.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilburno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Hilburno,

Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel to Tripadvisor.com. We value every comment and use them to make improvements at our hotel for you in the future.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our prices to be very affordable. However, we are disappointed to learn about the issues you encountered in regards to your comfort. Please accept our most sincere apology for the noise disturbance and discomfort of the bed you slept on.

We would appreciate it if you please contact us so that we may locate which room you stayed in? We would like to correct the bed issue so that it does not occur again, and we would also like to speak to you in reference to your recent stay. We believe that every guest should enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep, and we regret that you were not able to do so.

Again, we appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of our property in the near future.

Best regards,


Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#13 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Property: Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Address: 31 W Ohio St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing