We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location--should capitalize more on the view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Ranked #52 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice location--should capitalize more on the view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Was in for the weekend as a GenCon widower, and really enjoyed the hotel. The room was up to Sheraton standards, with a superb bed, nicely appointed bathroom, all of the Starwood ameneties that we expected. The location, just off Monument Circle and about 3 blocks from the Convention Center, was perfect--far enough from the GenSanity to give the non-gamers a break, but easily walkable to the action. We upgraded the room for a circle view. Absolutely beautiful! And the hotel certainly knows it, as each elevator lobby a is decorated, 9' x 9' B&W photo mural that pretty much duplicated the view from our room. My only disappointment (more of a curiosity, really) was that the hotel doesn't take advantage of the magnificent view from the pool area. It's on the 8th or 9th floor, with a sweeping, unobstructed view of the Monument and downtown skyline--yet the very spacious pool deck is a big, totally empty expanse of concrete. With a minimum investment in some intimate seating groupings, some planters with greenery, maybe even a gas firepit or two--the pool deck could be a true showpiece, with the amazing view as its backdrop. But overall, a very enjoyable hotel, pleasant staff, great location, and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Monument View. And if your trip is for a convention or any event downtown, you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    232
    156
    79
    40
See reviews for
95
136
47
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

For the last several years I've been a loyal Hilton customer but decided it was time to try other hotels and their rewards programs. I opted to start with Starwood. This was my first stay at a non-HIlton hotel in Indianapolis where I visit regularly for business. Usually I stay at the Downtown HGI. The rooms at this Sheraton are a little dated but clean. I loved that they provided Starbucks coffee in the room and my own personal loofah. The bed comfort was a little better than the HGI but the HGI's room was more updated. The hallways needed some updating too. One part of the Sheraton's hallway had plywood on it. I'm not sure why. The workout room at the Sheraton offers much more than the HGI. I also loved the Sherton's in room dining options. My breakfast was delicious and timely. I did not like that anyone can access the elevators to the hotel rooms from the parking garage except from 10pm-6am. As a solo female traveler that makes me uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso, indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for a Jackson Browne concert the front desk helped us pick a bar close to the murant theater and they helped out with all our side trips with great advice . Rooms were clean and beds were really comfortable. Would return again the Hotel is just off of the Indy circle in the heart of downtown Indy. Great stay thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a heavy traffic weekend, and while for the most part my experience was acceptable there was a huge problem that persisted and even managed to get worse throughout our stay. During our stay the heavy use had damaged a few of the elevators, and while this was understandable it only got worse. On the floor we were staying at the down elevator button did not respond, leaving us only able to hit up and wait for an open elevator and then ride it up until we could begin to descend to the main floor. This was a inconvenience for everyone, ourselves and the people who were on the floors above us actually trying to get to a higher floor since we occupied space on an elevator and wanted to go the opposite direction. We decided to just take the stairwell to save ourselves time and embarassment. When we arrived at the stairwell there was a sign that simply stated to leave the door closed at all times, and assuming that it simply meant not to leave the door open behind us we entered the stairwell. By the time we got to the third floor the stairwell did not have working lights, and as we made our way to the 2nd we realized the doors did not open from the inside. We walked down the dark stairwell to the bottom floor and ran into a door with a fire alarm. We went all the way back up to the 8th floor checking every door only to find outselves locked in. We looked for a phone to call the front desk but the only one we found was knocked off the wall and laying in peices on the floor. We finally descended again and left out the fire alarm door, which did not sound. When we talked to people at the desk we got a simple and dry 'you aren't supposed to use the stairs, if you do you have to walk to the bottom floor and use that door' when we asked why there was nothing telling us this they didn't have a response. Apperently this problem persisted for many others because later in the day they unlocked all the floors so you could use the stairs, and they made it a point to inform everyone of this. After using the stairs without issues for the next 6 hours we suddenly found ourselves locked out of the 8th floor yet again, and had to walk all the way back to the first floor once more. When we asked yet again why we were locked out we were told someone must have locked the doors and that while it was a mistake it wasn't likely anyone would unlock the doors again. This sort of thing can ruin any trip, and the absolute lack of concern on the staff's part really left a sour taste in our mouths. While I've heard they're working to replace the broken elevators I haven't heard anything apologizing for the complete lack of concern with the problem. I will not return if I can help it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Emily,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community; your feedback will be shared with our team so we can address the issues and prevent them from happening in the future.

We were disappointed to hear that you had issues with our elevator call buttons not properly working on the guestroom floor that you stayed on we understand how frustrating that can be, our elevator service company does conduct regular preventive maintenance on our equipment but the call button must have failed between their scheduled service; when you notified us of this issue we had the elevator repair come out and fix the issue. We apologize for the confusion you experienced with the stairwells being locked when you attempted to use them to go to a lower floor; the stairwells are left open between floors 20 to 9 so guests can move freely between guest floors; for our guests security we do restrict access between floors 1 to 8 because this is the stairway for the parking garage as well as street level access and we do not want non guests of the hotel accessing guestroom floors without going thought the lobby. We also apologize for the response you received from our team member when you brought your issues to our attention, this was a totally unacceptable way for us to handle this incident and we have spoken with the associates who worked that night so they know how to better address any future guest issues.

We hope you will accept our sincere apology, believe that this was an isolated incident and choose to return to the hotel in the future; if you do we feel confident that you will have a much better experience.

Best regards,
Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Windsor, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great hotel, all staff very accommodating. Went to the Moto GP, bike show was right outside the hotel. Too many tractors (Harleys) muscling in for a sport bike weekend but that isn't the hotel's fault. The best was Linda working in the clubhouse. She went out of her way to make us feel at home. I forgot what it was like having mom look after me!!!!!!!!
All very good except parking should come with the room, its a bit pricey at $25.00 a night. Just bring your motor bike, it'll make it around the wig wag no problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you get access to the Club Room on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlake village, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton during the weekend of Moto-GP which brought 65,000 people to the city in addition to the Gen-Com Convention and that had to be about another 100,000. The city was basically a sold out mad house. With everything going on, the Sheraton and it's employees came ready! I honestly cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I will start with some specific employees: The front desk staff is incredibly knowledgeable of the area and they are all helpful in every way possible. Without a blink of the eye Andy offered to log in and print out a handful of airline boarding passes for us at a specific time, Luci Davy smoothly handled some accounting issues and room assignments for us with ease and made everything simplified, Jessica provided us with excellent suggestions around the city, and Linda who takes care of the Club floor lounge made it a point to keep all of the food fresh and replenished, the room spotless and she did all with a smile to clean up after and please the many guests taking advantage of the breakfast and ouer d'oeuvres that are served. Lastly, Derrick Moore, the Guest Service Manager is amazing. Without a doubt, one of the most attentive and hands on Guest Service Managers around. Derrick and all of the staff truly seem to understand the meaning of guest satisfaction and I cannot thank them enough for their efforts.
As for the rooms, the beds are just as comfy, if not better than the Westin's Heavenly bed. The rooms are spotless and large, but could use some new carpet and furniture as it is looking dated with some wear. House-keeping kept plenty of toiletries in the room and everything was well kept. The hallways are an ice box (especially on the 18th floor!) and I think if the hotel turned the thermostat up a bit they would probably add thousands of dollars to their year end revenue!
The hotel has the best location in all of downtown with many of the rooms overlooking the Indiana War Memorial and Monument Circle. Restaurants are abundant and all walking distance. If you are going to downtown Indy, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel! Completely worth the value, especially with the hands on assistance of the employees. Don't be afraid to ask! They are truly there to help you!

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks Monument Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneyplays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was in town for a convention and found the Sheraton to be an excellent location at a reasonable price. Rooms were clean and quiet, with access to many amenities. The staff, more than anything else, really made my stay a memorable one. They were courteous and responsive to every single request. Linda, who worked in the clubhouse, was a rare talent. Her unmatched commitment to customer service is a compliment to the hotel and the entire Starwood association.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#13 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Property: Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Address: 31 W Ohio St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing