We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stress-free!”
Review of Omni Severin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Severin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stress-free!”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My family stayed here during the DCI finals this past weekend. We did bid for the rooms on Priceline, and I'm so glad this was our winning bid. After reading some of the negative reviews prior to leaving, I was expecting to apologize to my family upon our arrival. The lobby was lovely and very comforable ... with the heat feeling like 110 outside, it was nice to have an ice cold glass of lemon (or cucumber) water (and a fresh apple) available at all times (no charge). The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We checked in early and wanted our two rooms to be adjoining. They weren't ready yet, so they stored our luggage and called us as soon as the rooms were available (not necessary as we were at the state fair) which was within 30 minutes. Even if we had stayed nearby, it wasn't a long wait. The valet, porter, front desk, manager, head of housekeeping, engineering, and those who answered our calls were ALL involved in our stay and each one made sure we were satisfied even if it was beyond their control. We needed a cot for the second day of the trip and even though it was mentioned casually when the head of housekeeping stopped by to see if we needed anything (our door was open) ... it was there first thing in the morning. After checking out on our final day, I realized that I left my cellphone and a nintendo ds in the room. We called and within minutes it was waiting at the front desk. Because they are within a short walking distance to Lucas Oil Stadium, it wasn't a stressful wait. One elevator was out of commission during our whole stay and the wait was up to 10 minutes for each trip .... I can't tell you how many people apologized for this and at one point, the manager waited with us and the next day, she walked my daughter up the stairs because she was in a hurry to get to the room The bolt lock between rooms wouldn't budge, but staff arrived immediately to resolve the problem. It had to be replaced, but it wasn't an inconvenience because we didn't need to close the door, once opened. It was repaired by the time we got back to the hotel the next afternoon. I agree with those who said the $27 is a lot to pay, we did park the car on the street for two days (it's very well-lit and there was no problem with crime). The hotel was very convenient to Lucas Stadium, the mall, and tons of restaurants. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. During the last day of our trip, we stayed in a 3-star hotel and it looked like a 1-star when my family compared it to the experience we just had. Sorry this is long, but it was one of our most enjoyable hotel stays (and we spend a lot of time in Disney hotels).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mos912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Please don't apologize for writing a very thorough review. We appreciate it when guests take the time to tell us about each aspect of the stay and we're glad we could be your stress-free home away from home for the DCI Championships. We hope you will come stay with us next year or sooner if your travels bring you back to Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    617
    234
    106
    44
See reviews for
450
485
71
887
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Beautiful hotel. Great valet service - which you have to use as there is NO visibe parking. I have no idea where they parked my car. Was only there briefly so not able to provide review on anything other than appearance, valet service, front desk & room. 2 negatives: major elevator down @ time of stay was a pain. And there is no sign outside the hotel & the street address is Jackson Place - that "street sign" is tiny and off the road. We drove by it once - only by luck and prayer did we find it again and there is A LOT of action right there. That would be my only advice to the owners - put up a sign for heavens sake!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbean9265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
We will see what we can do to make the street sign more visible to our guests. We appreciate the great review and hope to see you again next time you are in Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, OH
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband and I were in town for the Drum Corps International World Championships. This is a major event held at Lucas Oil Stadium, and this hotel was perfectly located in close proximity to the stadium and also to various restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotel isn't brand new and the rooms show a little age, but it certainly isn't run down.

Positives:
Location, including skyway to mall;
Our king room was comfortable and completely quiet;
If you join the rewards program, you get free beverage service to your door in the morning; if you pay a little bit, you can get some food too. So I think we paid like $11 total to have two orange juices, a pot of coffee, and two bagels and cream cheese delivered to our door;
The lobby is pretty and the lobby bar was accomodating; they stayed open late (2am?)due to our event in town and the two female bartenders were working their tails off! (kudos!);

Negatives
It is a downtown hotel . . .you're going to pay steep prices for parking, food, etc.;
Vanity in the bathroom is very small;
It isn't "new" . . .the TV isn't flat screen, etc.

Overall, a nice stay. Thanks for making the DCI crowd feel welcome!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohio-Brown-Eyed-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during the Drum Corps International World Championships. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My Family stayed there during the GENCON convention, which was ok and entertaining in itself. I'm always a little non-plussed by all the Valet Parking, Bell hop pretense only to find the rooms to be slightly less luxurious that the inital service and lobby area seem to purvey.
First tip, ask for a room on the outside perimeter. The hotel is U shaped and if you don't specify, you get stuck with a view of the other inside wall and the roof of the lobby. The carpets and furniture in the rooms are well used but clean, and chock full of goodies that will cost you extra. After paying $27 per night for parking, tipping the bell hop, we decided to opt out of the turn down service. They did bring the Kids Cookies and Milk which was a nice touch. The workout toom was immaculate and top end, the pool is small but adequate for business travellers, dissapointing for kids.
Our second night we had a toilet emergency where as the toilet refused to stop flushing to the point the bathroom flooded out into our room hallway, past the dam of towels and bathrobes we built up. We had already gotten all our shoes on, completely repacked and put everything on the beds by the time they got the water shut off. After that they relocated us to another room and comped us breakfast for the next day. Not bad, a free night for the trauma would have been better considering we were about to checkout and leave. The Omni serves better as a business traveller or couples hotel, for those who want quick walking access to the Circle Center Mall, Wholesale District with it's awesome restaurants or a Colts game.
I'll come back but better educated and leave the kids at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongo46538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
We're sorry you had to deal with the toilet emergency and that you had to deal with repacking you're luggage by the time the water was shut off. We try to make sure our younger guests are just as well taken care of as our adult guests, so it's sad to hear you won't be returning with your whole family. Again we do apologize for the issues during your stay and we hope we can impress you enough on your next stay that you'll want to bring the whole family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Paid for Valet... I was told my car got broken into over the night. it was 1 of like 7. I found my card in a public parking with across the street NO Security. Walls are paper thin. You can hear the water in the pipes. Pool is like a group hot tub. it was not place I will ever go back to. Omni told me too talk with the subcontracted company that did their Valet for them. I would not stay there again I would stay at a hole in the wall before going back there.

P.S.
noisy, smelly, old building

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ace_of_narf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
We're sorry that your car was broken into during your stay. We do have security in our garage but it is large and being a downtown area it is a target. We are planning a renovation in the near future so we hope you will consider coming back when it is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel was very clean and well kept. It was located in a great area. walking distance to shopping and restaurants and also connected to Centre City Mall. Only a few minute drive to the zoo and the canal which is beautiful. The staff was extremly helpful even printed off directions for us to some places we wanted to go. They were always quick getting our cars and were always accomodating. The price of the rooms were extremely reasonable. I was very pleased and would recommend this hotel to everyone. Staff was GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsimp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and received great service from the staff. We hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was in Indianapolis for one night with my 19-yr-old daughter. Checked into the hotel around 9:00 - just wanted to watch a movie and get a good night's sleep. The room was disappointing - as other reviewers have said it was run down and not furnished/finished like a 4-star hotel room. The TV reception was abysmal - very grainy picture, even when watching a PPV movie. Very loud AC cycled on and off all night. Woke up at 5:45am to the phone ringing - "hello, Mrs. OutofOH, this is your 5:45am wakeup call!" - a wakeup call I DID NOT REQUEST! How does that happen?!
The manager slipped a $10 restaurant coupon under the door with an apologetic note, so we decided to use it toward a room service breakfast, which was a big mistake. Ordered 2 diet Cokes with extra ice - got warm bottled Cokes with NO ice (or even glasses for that matter.) Egg came on a plate - everything else (toast, bagel, cinnamon roll) came wrapped in napkins. No plates? seriously? No cream cheese for the bagel either.
Checked out and retrieved car from valet parking. After we left, we noticed that both the GPS and satellite radio had been removed. After stopping and searching we found them hidden in two different places in the car. I appreciate the effort to keep my belongings safe, but it would have been nice to know up front that the $27/night valet parking was in a public garage that was deemed so unsafe by hotel management that such precautions are necessary.
There are a couple of other true 4-star hotels in downtown Indy, as well as at least one much nicer 3-star. We will not stay here again, and frankly, it makes me leery of other Omni properties.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutofOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
We are sorry that you found our rooms disappointing and that we made an error with the wakeup call. We also apologize for the disappointing breakfast. We are planning a renovation in the near future and we hope to make many changes to the guest rooms. We are sorry for moving your GPS and satellite radio out of view when we parked it in our garage. We do have security in the garage but we want to make sure your valuables are out of sight. We know you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we hope you might consider staying again after our renovation or consider our other Omni properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Severin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Severin Hotel

Property: Omni Severin Hotel
Address: 40 Jackson Pl, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Severin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Severin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Indianapolis
Omni Indianapolis
Indianapolis Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing