We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for events”
Review of Omni Severin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Severin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We live near Indianapolis but stayed downtown for a family wedding at the Omni. Everything was amazing from the suite we stayed to the actual wedding and reception. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and professional - and it was one of the most organized and stressfree weddings we have every been to.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

This hotel is currently under renovation. The King Bed room I had was new, very large, comfortable bed. Bathroom was large also, however the shower unit was from circa 1970 very tight quarters. Water pressure was a bit on the low side as well.
I used the fitness center which is located in the basement, newer equipment.
A couple of things that bothered me. 1) The $3.50 charge to deliver room service on top of the 21% added gratuity. 2) If your not a member of the the Omni Select program you will get charged 9.99 for wireless access. 3) No Hotel parking within the building, they hammer you for valet so if you want to self park, its across the street in a dungeon like facility or a public lot up the street. 4) there was some kind of construction going on outside the hotel which started at 7;30 am, it didnt bother me because I was up before that time but it would have been nice of the desk clerk to mention it cause it was loud.
If you are familar with downtown Indianapolis, most of the main hotels are conected via an indoor walk way so that pretty conveinent.
Now that I know the ins and outs of the property I would probably stay there again, just wouldnt use the room service or in house eateries.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDFAN080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel. We do offer the Wi-Fi for $9.99/day, but it's free if you join our Select Guest program. And it's free to join and you get morning beverage service and free morning newspaper as well. Since we don't own our garage we pay for the use of a garage close to the hotel for valet. Any guest is more than welcome to self park downtown, but unfortunately we don't have self park on property. The construction nearby is for a new entertainment district that will be ready before the Super Bowl. Unfortunately we don't have a copy of the construction schedule, but know that only a few days of construction have been disrupting to our guests. We will try to get a copy of the construction schedule to alert guests if there are any days where the work will be noisier than usual. We hope you'll stay with us next time you are in Indianapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed here while Big 10 and Supercross were in town. We knew there would be lots of foot traffic in the halls at night and maybe some loud conversation as people came back to their rooms, but the yelling/fighting/pounding on doors went on until 5 a.m. and we never heard anyone from the hotel staff trying to do anything about it.

I chose NOT to call the front desk to complain, because my kids slept through all the nonsense in the hallway, and my talking on the phone would have woke them. We shared a wall with the elevator shaft, and it was quiet. (The one positive I can think of.)

We've stayed in a couple hotels right in the downtown area, and this one was by far the worst. It was most expensive, the rooms and beds were smallest. Other hotels (like Homewood Suites) have a nice big complimentary breakfast in the morning. Omni has a restaurant, but after spending $70 for a mediocre dining experience the night before, we weren't interested in finding out what breakfast would cost.

The staff was mostly nice, but with all the other things we found lacking, we won't be back.

The bathrooms are cheap and cheesy. They boast of marble and granite, but the toilet looks like something you'd see in a public restroom stall.
No exhaust fan in the bathroom.
No microwave. No mini-fridge with room for our things.(There was the minifridge w/ a key if you wanted to purchase from the minibar, but no room for anything else in there.)

If this was a lower or moderate-range hotel, some of these things would be understandable. But Omni seems pretty full of itself for such poor... well....everything.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kensrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

We're sorry that there was so much late night activity in the hallways during your stay. We would have gladly sent security had we been informed of the noise, but we understand you didn't want to wake your children. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the size of our beds, but our king, queen and double beds are from Serta and are standard dimensions. We are currently in the middle of an $8 million renovation to improve all our guest rooms. While we understand the rooms may be a bit tired right now, they will be spectacular when the renovation is complete. We hope you might consider coming back when it is complete and seeing our new rooms for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Ok let me start by saying i received a great price on the hotel. 89 per night on the weekend is great. All the other reviews are right, hotel is clean, no unauthorized charges on our card, good location(except there is construction all around the hotel). My only complaint is, i booked a queen size bed, and we received a full size! we checked in last night after 11, so i was too tired to complain. when i called to tell them, they acted like i was crazy! i told multiple people this is not a queen bed, i have one at home. the front desk said "we have no double beds on the property" then told me they were completely booked except for a room with 2 double beds! i am outdone! at least be honest and say maybe we made a mistake! i am having a baby next month, and this was our little get away before he is born,and i wanted the bed to be great.we leave tomorrow.no one believes anything should be done about our problem.other than that, the hotel is ok, but be aware their "queen size" are really full size!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I've been staying at the Omni in downtown Indy for several years. My wife and I stayed one night for a quick weekend getaway in Feb 2011. Our disappointment started at arrival when we learned our reservation was not correct. They had us down for a double bed room when my reservation and profie clearly stated it was supposed to be a king bed.

When I brought this to the attention of the front desk they indicated that no king room was currently availble and that the only one that woudl be available was just below the floors being renovated. There was never a note on the website about this hotel being under construction and repairs.

The front desk finally said they could upgrade us for a $50 fee but quickly changed their position when I calmly suggested that was not acceptable. To their credit, even though this room was not yet ready either, they did take our bags upstairs so we could go about our day.

When we finally made it to our room we were pleased about the size fo the suite. With that said, the room itself was very tired. The televisions were very old (no plasma or LCD's), the carpet was torn in the some locations, and the bathroom was very small and just odd. The room was clean and large but that's about it. The air/ heat sysetm was also very loud and did not seem to do a very good job keeping the room at a constant temp. The room in general was load with some of the construction during the late afternoon.

The location of this hotel is great. The staff was very nice acroos the board. We were disappointed to see that the hotel condition has slipped since our last visit. We will likley look elsewhere when we book our next visit to Indy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich01Cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2011

First we would like to apologize for not having your room type upon arrival. We're glad we were able to provide a suite with a king bed instead of the double beds. Second, we agree with you. Our rooms are starting to get a little tired, which is why we started a $7 million renovation at the beginning of the year, have converted to a non-smoking hotel and are updating every aspect of the guest room. The bedding, carpets, bathroom fixtures and public space on the guest room floors will all be updated. We'll be installing new flat-panel TVs as well and making improvements to the energy efficiency of the hotel overall. If you love the location and the staff, we hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit. The renovation should be complete by late May. We're not going downhill. We're going uphill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We had plans to stay at the Hyatt Regency for a romantic night away but after viewing 3 disgusting dirty rooms there including there nicest room we got our money back and started looking around. We stopped by the Omni by chance and fell in love the minute we walked in. The lobby is very nice and it smells excellent and clean. We wanted to see a room before we booked the the staff was very nice and helpful. After a quick look we booked our stay. The room was a bit tiny but it was excellent in everyway. But you can't expect much for a last minute stop. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

We're glad you fell in love with our hotel and we look forward to having you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I had just returned from overseas when I traveled to Indianapolis and stayed at the Omni. An excellent hotel right downtown. Free wifi and shirt press if you join the Omni Rewards program. Will definitely stay here again when given the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFergUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,977 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,600 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#9 of 188 in Indianapolis
368 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Severin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Severin Hotel

Address: 40 Jackson Pl, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $165 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Severin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Severin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Indianapolis
Omni Indianapolis
Indianapolis Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing