We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, stay away from the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott East
Ranked #1 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2007

The room was nice and had the great mattresses that Marriott seems to be putting in to most of its rooms. The upgrades that have been noted in other reviews have made this a nice hotel to stay in, but stay away from the restaurant. Food was mediocre and inconsistent. My wife's baked potato was so hard and cold that it would not melt butter. The server was very sweet and tried to see if we could get part of my wife' s meal comp'ed. Manager who came over looked at us like we were trying to pull something and tried to shove a free desert on us instead. We didn't really want one and would have preferred, given her attitude that she would have just left us alone.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank cahilllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,824 - 1,830 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2007

Looking at the comments of travelers in 2004 I felt this hotel deserves a more recent pat on the back. They really know what hospitality means. The staff is excellent and the new bedding made for the best nights sleep my husband and I have ever had, it was even better than home. While it is an older hotel, they have made some recent renovations that make it feel new and welcome again. The restaurant Indy Steak and Rib, while the ribs are devine, the reuben and fries are out of this world. If your in Indianapolis and want great service, the Marriott East is our first recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Coyote71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH! (Please note, they are going through some construction, but are VERY accommodating)

I had booked 3 rooms at the Hampton Inn across the street from this Marriott. (See my review on Hampton Inn East) Long story short, the Hampton Inn cancelled my reservations due to my having an Indianapolis address. (again, read my review) Anyway, I contacted the Marriott directly and they went above and beyond for my group!

3 rooms, same floor, 2 connecting. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We had a total of 16 people and it worked out just fine. They have upgraded their bedding and toiletries and are giving Starwood a run for their money! (I travel a lot for business and am a "Starwood Snob") Plenty of towels and toiletries for our entire group.

Pool area was great for the kids (ages 8-9, girls) There is both an indoor and outdoor that are connected (seasonal) and there is a very large sitting area with patio tables for the parents to watch. We held an impromptu birthday party for one of the girls in the pool area and there was plenty of room.

Bar was small but the bartender was great. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Dining: The Marriott comp'd our breakfasts (~$150). They have a buffet with made to order omlets, waffles, and such. They gave us our own private dining area. (On Sundays they have a large brunch.)

They are in the midst of some construction to improve the facility. Other than that, they were a great choice for us and I will recommed them in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

I stayed here in March for only one night. Normally when I am in this area I stay at the Fairfield Inn also in the Marriott Center. However, it was sold out the night I was staying. The Marriott was undergoing renovation and I think the room I stayed in had already been renovated, as far as a new bed and bedding. I had a king room, on the fourth floor which was a concierge floor, but of course the lounge was closed on the weekend. The bed was very comfortable and all the amenities in the room wonderful--nice shampoo, lotion, and a sewing kit (I usually stay in Courtyards or Fairfields so I'm not used to these items being in rooms).

The bathroom was small, but I had no problems with this--the shower head provided a nice massaging shower.

The restaurant's food was ok. I had dinner and breakfast, no major complaints.

The only problem I had was upon checkin--the lady may have been overworked, but she was not at all friendly.

There was a nice pool and exercise center, though I didn't use it.

As long as you don't pay too much for this hotel, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Stayed at this property one night on our way back from a Maine vacation. This property is definitely showing its age. The ceilings were very low and the place has a very closed design would would indicate its advanced age. The rooms were average. The staff was friendly however and when I inquired about an upgraded room (I am a Platinum member) I was told due to an American Legion convention that no suites were available. They did accomodate me with one of the rooms available with their new massage chairs and that was great!

On checking in we had to dodge a couple dozen drunken American Legionnaires but this was no fault of the Marriott.

The value was O.K. but I would definitely spend my money across the parking lot at the much newer and nicer Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockchalktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

Well, they have these air conditioning units on the wall, the kind that you find in a Motel 6 - they are supposed to be thermostatically cpntrolled, but they aren't. I was tjere fpr 2 nights 8/2to 8/3 this year - your choice is to cut the noise and sweat like a pig, or hear the roar of the air unit all night long. I chose to sleep quietly, but sweat. The room never got below 84 degrees. One morning, they forgot my room service order - I'm waiting patiently, finally call, and thet say they never got it ( it's the kind you ahng off the door ). They did nothing to resolve or address the room temperature conditions, because they were sold out. They did offer to send up a fan, so I could move the hot air around and have even more noise. This place must be very old, because there is no HVAC system on the rooms - only the Motel 7 wall units. What a nigtmare. I checked out a day early and went home. Also, the Concierge floor is a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ficoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

This hotel was OK. The staff was very nice. We were in the middle of a convention so it was real busy. I think the rooms need to be updated, but they were clean. I would stay again. We were upgraded from the Fairfield across the street where I had reservations originally.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,533 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,599 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,590 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott East

Address: 7202 E 21st St, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#12 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $185 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a beautiful hotel, providing the ultimate in convenience & award-winning service. From the moment you walk into our hotel you feel the lively energy and light-hearted ambiance of the hotel. Creating a campus-like atmosphere, The Indianapolis Marriott Center offers various options in one great location. With style all its own the Indianapolis Marriott Center takes center stage offering 315 sophisticated guest rooms. Our spacious guestrooms are newly renovated and provide many extra comforts including European showerheads, Marriott Revive bedding package which includes pillow-topped mattresses, luxurious linens and down duvets, 37” HD flat screen television, large work desk and Bath & Body Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing