We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Henry makes a difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indianapolis Marriott East

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Indianapolis Marriott East
Ranked #1 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
1 review
“Henry makes a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Each quarter I attend the Emergency Nurse's Association meeting at the hotel and each time I'm pleased to see Henry. Fantastic, charming, charismatic individual! Henry, you make all the difference. Keep up the great work.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    205
    56
    21
    15
See reviews for
137
63
46
798
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

When you first drive up and enter the hotel, it's really very impressive looking. All very nice. Especially for the part of town it's in. This place is way above its surroundings. Our destination was IUPUI downtown, so this was just a destination at the end of the day, fortunately. One saving grace was that there is a Starbuck's a block away... with a drive-through!

As for the property itself, it appears that it's a merged building or an add-on to a conference center. As mentioned in other reviews, this was like traversing a maze. The layout of this hotel is a mess. And yes, the elevators were very slow indeed. The room we had was nice enough and spacious.

But this is where the semi-positive ends.

I made my reservation over six months before our check-in date. I requested a room with two beds. A few weeks prior to our arrival, I checked the reservation online to ensure that I had specified a two bed room. Still OK. On the check-in day, I called ahead because we were going to have a late check-in (after midnight) and asked the clerk if we had a two bed room. He said that it showed a King bed room but that he would change us to a two bed room. When we arrived, they informed us that we had a King bed room... and that there were no two bed rooms available for any time during our entire four day stay. So, I asked for a roll-away to be delivered to our room for the final two nights. Well, on the day the roll-away was to be delivered to our room, I called the front desk at 5pm to ask about the roll-away. They told me that there were no roll-away beds left in the entire hotel! Of course, they were happy to let me pay for a "hospitality room" (fold away wall bed) if I needed a second bed. How many strikes is that? But who's counting!

Then we found out why beds were at a premium the weekend we were there. There was a large group that had contracted the conference center and many hundreds of rooms. It runs out that it was a Christian Leadership Conference group consisting of families - parents and children. And, when they signed the contract, there was a clause that did not allow alcohol in sight on the premises. So, the hotel closed down the bar. And patrons could not have any kind of alcohol in the bar/lobby area or anywhere else in the public areas. Now mind you, there was an entire section of the building where the conference was taking place where families could be and not have to come to the bar area. But instead, it was the rest of the hotel patronage that had to be hidden away from view if we wanted to have a drink. Did I mention that the NCAA Men's basketball regionals were going on that weekend... and that the bar had several big screen TVs carrying all of the games from around the country? But, if we wanted to hang out and have a beer and watch the games... we couldn't! The group may have signed a contract with an alcohol clause. But none of us signed a contract that removed amenities from our stay at the hotel. OK, if the group had 100% occupancy and they were the only patrons, I don't have a problem with whatever terms they wanted. But the fact is that they were not the only people there and every other patron had their stays "restricted" w/o any say. And the hotel made not amends for that in any way.

Although this stay was a particularly bad experience, it was not the first time I've had things go wrong at a Marriott property. Since the group we're with travels to our sons' swim meets, we like to hang out together. The parents setting up the hotels for the season's meets apparently is a Marriott frequent traveler. We tend to stay at Marriotts and Courtyards. My experience has been that something is always not quite right with any of my stays. It's just that this one was particularly bad, as I said, and warranted me writing them up in this negative review.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel and not in the "tower".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We absolutely loved our lunch at the Marriott. Henry was the Hotel Assistant that got us seated and made sure we were pleased with everything. The food was great and the prices very reasonable.
Our room was also great except that we had to ask for towels and cups. When 4 people are in a room, we thought they should have planned for that and included 4 towels. the room was quiet and comfortable. We really enjoyed it. Some in our party took advantage of the pool area and loved it. All in all, a pretty nice weekend.
Henry is definitely an employee to value and keep around. Henry took a picture with us - calling us Henry's Angels. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

But what we are really doing is having you walk through a maze to get to a small hallway to then wait on the slowest elevator possible to get to you room that is not actually a suite, but we call it that because it has a minifridge. Seriously, someone please tell me how room 671 is considered a suite? It's a room, end of story. I also tried the restaurant, oh wait, no I didn't because they wouldn't clear the table for me. They said they would get right to it and then I waited 15 minutes, yes that is correct, while they walked by me multiple times. I am enjoying my sun chips in my room. The internet is also incredibly slow. I will say the concierge host was fantastic. I wish I had gotten his name. I did use points for this night, but had I known this would have been the experience, I would have taken my points somewhere else. I am a Marriott Rewards Gold member. I'm not sure that I will be trying this one again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skull04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Generally speaking, the hotel was very nice relative to layout, accommodations, restaurant, amd conference setting; however, there are some additional things that should be considered: 1) I was unable to microwave leftover food and there was no where to store it; low-end hotels have these accommodations, 2) the room layout was was not conducive to allowing mobility, and 3) the room service/cook staff was inefficient.

Despite what is mentioned above, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsville, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mother and I have been attending the Farm Bureau Spring Conference for the last 5 years. We have gotten to know Henry during our stays. The service and help Henry provides to your customers is unmatched. Keep up the great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a tournament. We were pleasantly surprised with the friendly and helpful staff and their willingess to help with anything we needed. Rooms were very large and beds were very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant on site and the food was fantastic. We'll definitely stay in this hotel again if in the Indianapolis area.

Room Tip: Some of the elevators only go up to the third floor, so choose a room on the third floor or below an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott East

Property: Indianapolis Marriott East
Address: 7202 E 21st St, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#12 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a beautiful hotel, providing the ultimate in convenience & award-winning service. From the moment you walk into our hotel you feel the lively energy and light-hearted ambiance of the hotel. Creating a campus-like atmosphere, The Indianapolis Marriott Center offers various options in one great location. With style all its own the Indianapolis Marriott Center takes center stage offering 315 sophisticated guest rooms. Our spacious guestrooms are newly renovated and provide many extra comforts including European showerheads, Marriott Revive bedding package which includes pillow-topped mattresses, luxurious linens and down duvets, 37” HD flat screen television, large work desk and Bath & Body Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing