We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room ok but front desk staff not terribly helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott East
Ranked #1 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room ok but front desk staff not terribly helpful.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We did not have a reservation and they said they had rooms and gave me the cost. I said, what is cost with AAA or AARP. Oh - well that is a lot less and it was. They seemed to not care what they offered etc. Just not a welcoming feeling but the room was good and it was just a one nite stay so it was fine. It was a convention center hotel and to me, they are not as warm as the smaller hotels in most chains. It was easy on and off the hywy so that was good. I certainly would stay there another time if we were in Indy but I will now question the cost with each hotel booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    221
    62
    25
    18
See reviews for
163
68
90
968
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Vernon, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marriott East for a Knights of Columbus State Council meeting. We were so pleased with our room accomodations (we had a massage chair) but most of all the staff bent over backwards to make sure our stay was superb! Henry, the Lobby Ambassador is the greatest! We had just arrived from our vacation in Florida and we had stayed at 4 other hotels on our trip. Not one of those hotels can compare to the service and friendliness of the staff at Marriott East. We will be back for many years to come! Thank you to all for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: The tower rooms or the newly renovated rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed at many Marriotts around the country and can easily say the Marriott Indianapolis East by far has the best staff. We have never been disappointed in the many times we have stayed there in the past 5 years. Henry, the Lobby Ambassador, is the best!!!!!

The updates that have recently taken place are amazing. I love the coffee bar and the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoaCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here on Monday night. I had a business meeting in the hotel the next day. The room was very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. I was able to have the room cold – which I LOVE – even though it was 101 degrees outside! My mom came with me just to give me company on the 4 hour drive each way. The hotel (my mom spoke to Tony) allowed her to stay in the room past the regular check-out time just so that she could stay in there to read her book and watch TV while I was at my meeting! I don’t ever remember staying at another hotel where they were so accommodating!!! Thank you Tony and staff! We really enjoyed staying at your hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Once again the staff at the Marriott Indianapolis East has exceeded my expectations of customer service. I needed help on an issue while there for the Indiana American Legion State Convention and they came thru for me. A young lady stopped and asked if a couple of us could help her out; I took her to the front desk and they took care of her promptly. From the front desk, to the housekeeping and bar/dining area employees all gave spectacular service. I say thank you to all of the staff there for the great customer service and a clean place for events and to sleep in; can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diesel4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I never intended to stay here. I actually had a reservation at a Fairfield Inn across the parking lot. When I went to check in at FI I was told I had been "upgraded" to the Marriott East. I asked why and never got an answer that made sense. So I went to the Marriott East and checked in. I asked again why I was moved and told the FI was full. (Odd since I made the reservation just the day before). I was again told I was being "upgraded". This hotel has many new features due to the Superbowl here last February and there was a new Veterans Tower and that is where my room was located. Turns out the tower is all the way across the other end of the complex. When I finally got there I opened the door and was first surprised to see such a large room. I was next surprised to see an 8 foot conference table with 6 chairs in the room along with a full size frig and kitchen sink. But I was really surprised that I did not see a bed! I starting thinking this really was an upgrade and I was in a suite but quickly realized this was it. As I was getting ready to call the front desk I noticed a large wood panel that was not a closet. And guess what? It was my bed, a pull down murphy bed. Nobody at the desk clued me into the fact I was staying in a hospitality suite not really meant for sleeping. Basically the bed was low to the ground and not very comfortable and with the full sized frig making frig noises not 6 feet away I felt like I was sleeping in a kitchen. Also the rainshower shower head was missing a spray thingy so most of the water shot out of the hole negating any rainshower effect. I did get a free breakfast (that I would have gotten at the FI anyway) and everyone was very friendly but I was greatly disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't ever book the hospitality suite if you intend to sleep there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Native_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a conference and the hotel was very clean and had very friendly staff. The restaurant serves an awesome breakfast buffet. If ever in this area again, I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Indianapolis Marriott East, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback . At the Indianapolis Marriott East we strive to provide our guests with a personal experience that meets and exceeds expectations. And I will be happy to report to our staff that we succeeded!!!
Hope to see you again. Judy Blattert VP of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,261 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,360 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott East

Property: Indianapolis Marriott East
Address: 7202 E 21st St, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#12 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a beautiful hotel, providing the ultimate in convenience & award-winning service. From the moment you walk into our hotel you feel the lively energy and light-hearted ambiance of the hotel. Creating a campus-like atmosphere, The Indianapolis Marriott Center offers various options in one great location. With style all its own the Indianapolis Marriott Center takes center stage offering 315 sophisticated guest rooms. Our spacious guestrooms are newly renovated and provide many extra comforts including European showerheads, Marriott Revive bedding package which includes pillow-topped mattresses, luxurious linens and down duvets, 37” HD flat screen television, large work desk and Bath & Body Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing