We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO SHUTTLE & CANNOT WALK TO IUPUI- STUNNING BUT EXPENSIVE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Batesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“NO SHUTTLE & CANNOT WALK TO IUPUI- STUNNING BUT EXPENSIVE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay for my daughters college orientation. Great location in the city (EXCEPTIONAL LOCATION EXCEPT HAD TO WALK TO IUPUI). NO SHUTTLE.

FOOD- There are dozens of restaurants within 3 blocks in any direction and of any food variety. DO NOT EAT AT THE HOTEL (there are many restaurants in the hotel that are very expensive and microwave dinner quality). NOTE- ROOM SERVICE- Avoid if possible. Yes its expensive as expected but that isnt the issue. The food was bland, my meal came with a salad. I got the dressing but not the salad. I tried to call to ask for assistance but we waited so long they closed after we started eating.

LOCATION- There are many activities nearby,these are WALKABLE: State Capitol is next door, the Repertory Theatre is across the street, the Convention Center is a few blocks away as is Victory Field and The Eiteljorg Museum.

There are a few attractions MOST people can walk to (about a half mile away)-- Conseco Field House, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indiana State Museum, White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium. In addition the Indianapolis Zoo is 0.8 mile away.

HOTEL- Decor was modern and visually stimulating. Lobby and public areas clean, modern, and well designed. Exterior grounds impeccably clean. Hotel room on the smaller side but well used space. Climate control was exceptional. Room was very clean and creatively designed. THE BED AND PILLOWS AND LINENS ARE AMAZINGLY COMFORTABLE--I TRAVEL ALOT AND HAD THE BEST NIGHT SLEEP IN MANY MONTHS. VIEW- our view of the city skyline was simply incredible. SAFE AREA. HALLWAYS QUIET.

WI-FI had 2 options--FREE (which is sadly slow and not becoming of the Hyatt brand) $5 for high-speed access-- Really Hyatt? Is that $5 bucks that nickels and dimes your patrons worth diluting your reputation?

Parking is very expensive ($35 a day) which is higher than typical for Downtown City parking in the MidWest. The parking staff were very nice, prompt, and respectful.

Front desk staff were welcoming and informative. Quick check in even though I do not have Platinum status like I have with other chains.

A mini-fridge is provided. There was also a pool and business center but I didnt use either one.

OVERALL- I WISH COLLEGE WAS NOT SO EXPENSIVE--I WOULD LOVE TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL WITH MY 2 TEENAGERS AND EXPLORE THE CITY--IT IS A VERY NICE PLACE!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with city views--its awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricialitzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    471
    224
    86
    69
See reviews for
260
262
67
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed two nights for a reunion event at the hotel. Excellent room, food and service. Only
downside was the somewhat expensive parking in the adjoining underground garage, but
probably not more than comparable locations.

Room Tip: Room next door had rather noisy occupants….but they quieted down fairly early in the evening. We w...
See more room tips
Green Features: Follows standard environmental-friendly practices which most hotels promote.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear William H,

Thank you for the 5 Star review! We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here a couple of days while on business. Modern decor and a helpful staff. Guest rooms were of good size with room to spread out and work effectively. Location is right downtown in close proximity to restaurants and other attractions. Will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poinsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This Hyatt appears to be very new, everything was very clean, neat and organized. Very easy access valet and check in. Excellent security, after 9:00PM every guest has to present a room key to enter the building. The room was excellent in every way. I used the workout facility and was very pleased. The ONLY, complaint is with 4 elevators it still takes a lot of time to get on one. I was on the 6th floor and I took the stairs once because of the wait.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was here for a conference-- the outside of this hotel looks a bit dated, but I was pleasantly surprised when I went inside. It is nice inside, with a pretty water feature and glass elevator. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Room was a good size with a sitting area and a desk. Bathroom was fine, a tad small but with nice fixtures.
The location is right downtown, with lots of restaurants and shopping withing walking distance.
There's an express bus you can take to get to and from the airport for only $10 that will drop you right by the hotel.
The food at the hotel restaurant was also a welcome surprise- they have a nice salad, pasta and soup bar for lunch with good fresh options.
Room was nice and quite and no trouble sleeping.
A good choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear veenas,

Thank you for the great review! I am happy to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed our recent $50 Million update. Please come visit us again- we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at Hyatt Recency on business. Good standard after hotel in convenient location.Friendly staff and handy Starbucks and Subway for a quick cheap breakfast on the go. A short walk to the Mall if weather is bad and you need to explore under cover!

Room Tip: It may take some time to get the lift if you are on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks BagsyA for the 5 Star review! We look forward to your next visit to Indy!
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well we stayed at the Hyatt downtown Indy. It really is a very nice hotel in a great area the staff is very helpful, However our stay there was not very good. The reason why is the smoke alarm went off every eight minutes from two am to four thirty am in the whole hotel. I called the front desk several times with no answer on the phone they have a emergency button called that no answer. There was never hotel staff on each floor assuring everyone everything was ok thankfully there was no emergency. In the morning there was a note under our door for free coffee and donuts, which we had a free breakfast with our room. Then we left and when we checked out the parking was thirty five dollars, I would think for night of no sleep we would have received a discount on our room or free parking. We most likely will not stay here again just on principal

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#13 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing