We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern/clean rooms, unfortunate happenstance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #21 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern/clean rooms, unfortunate happenstance”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located at a perfect spot in Indy; right next to Circle Centre Mall and close to tons of good restaurants. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. I appreciated their list of complimentary items they would give you if you forgot your own (for me it was a corkscrew and toothbrush). They also have a list if things you can borrow for your stay such as robes and a lighted makeup mirror. We stayed on the 19th floor and had a beautiful view. The Unfortunate thing Was The Fire alarm Went off at 2.37 a.m. Management was good at handling the malfunction the next morning and compensated us for the stay. I would say despite the alarm, it was a nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lets_travel_add77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    500
    245
    94
    72
See reviews for
279
280
72
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Our visit to the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis was beyond expectations from beginning to end. The valets were friendly and helpful. Our room with a view of the capital was spectacular. Kudos and our thanks to MAUD, she was wonderful! We have come to expect the best from Hyatt and we weren't disappointed once again. The location was great, walkable to historic downtown sites. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Indianapolis again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Peggy8842,
Thank you for the kind review. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and will be sure to share your words with Maud. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Staying at this hotel for a conference, the hotel did well to cater to the conference attendees--there were no major issues that the attendees encountered while at the event. As an event venue, I'd say this hotel is very good.

But, as just a hotel, it's rather average. There's nothing special about it. The rooms are clean; the Internet works; the location in the downtown area is very central; and there are a number of dining options at the hotel complex and in the surrounding area.

The staff at the hotel were less than helpful in a few scenarios--generally around check-out. My keys stopped working to get me into my room and despite a few visits to the front desk to get new keys, I ended up having to get help from the cleaning staff to open my door.

Secondly, there was a scenario where cleaning came into a room of a conference attendee and apparently did the "check out cleaning." When the attendee came back to his room to actually check-out, he found his suitcase missing. Despite raising the issue with the front desk multiple times, he was unable to get anyone to help him find his suitcase and he ended up leaving the hotel without it. A call with the cleaning/maintenance supervisor a day later resulted in him paying to have the hotel ship it back to him. Less than ideal, but the cleaning staff was unable to find it while he was physically at the hotel.

So, if you need somewhere to stay, it's an average and clean hotel. Just don't expect a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were here to visit with family. The facility and the staff did a great job at making us feel welcome and comfortable. Honorable mentions go to Shay, Teyon, Adam amongst others.

The bar is a great place to relax, watch sports on TV and have a drink.

Our room service experience exceeded our expectations.

Another great Hyatt Regency performance!

Room Tip: We had a corner room for a slight upgrade cost. It was spacious, but a little dark because of where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Greg P,
Thanks for the stellar 5 Star review! I appreciate you taking the time to make a review. I will definitely let Shay, Teyon and Adam know that you mentioned them.
Please come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Easy check in and check out. The pool was a little chilly, but the hot tub was nice. Liked having the in room fridge. Went up to the Eagles Nest for a drink. Very pretty at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Simple review first:
1. Staff-Excellent!
2. Cleanliness-Excellent!
3. Proximity to local attractions-Excellent!
4. Diversity of restaurants-Excellent!
5. Value-Excellent!
6. Room scenery-Excellent!
7. Amenities-Excellent!
8. Service-Excellent!

Expanded review:

This was a great choice, the best we could have made. I had messed up my wife's first mother's day celebration, and then her birthday was around the corner. I had to make it up to her somehow. I had contemplated taking her to Nashville, TN and doing the scenery. I had also thought about making a trip to Chicago, but decided to stay locally. With the money we were going to save I wanted to put it toward a nice hotel. I have stayed at several upscale hotels in Indianapolis and some have been wonderful and others miserable (nickel and dime you for everything).

I made the reservation, confirmed it and then called the general manager. The general manager was not available, but the executive assistant, Karen Roush, was. I explained to her my dilema and she quickly assured me that our stay would be perfect and that my wife would be in the forgiving mood as soon as she entered the hotel.

Upon our arrival we were greeted at the valet and our luggage was taken to our room. As we checked in the staff was very friendly and offered a lot of information to make our stay more enjoyable. We retired to our room and were very impressed with the capitol view from our room. Looks spectacular at night. Also, Katie had sent us some nice gifts so that we could celebrate in the room. That evening we had dinner at the Eagle's Nest. (another review)

Overall we were very impressed with the hotel, staff and service. Upon checking out a front desk staff, Katie Gainey carried our bags to the valet area. She completed our very satisfying stay. I sent her a Tripadvisor pin!

Room Tip: Capitol view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rangellalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Rangellalo,
I am glad to hear you recovered nicely with your wife! Thank you for the kind review- I will let Katie and Karen know of your mention. It sounds as though you were able to enjoy all the amenities of the hotel as well as our great location in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. We hope you enjoy many special times with your family here. Come see us again soon!
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. Upon arrival the staff provided me with a map of the area that identified restaurants and other sites nearby and gave suggestions. Room was spacious and nice. Single cup coffee maker in room. Several restaurants in the hotel, and hotel is connected by a skywalk to the mall for more places. There are also about 20 additional places within walking distance. At checkout needed to leave luggage so I could finish my conference. Everyone was given a tag to identify your luggage. Once the conference was over the desk was surrounded with people picking up luggage. It took less than 5 minutes before there were reinforcements there to help get everyone taken care of. Great service

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Caren B,
Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as downtown Indianapolis. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,411 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,253 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 180 in Indianapolis
334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,396 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 S Capitol Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing