We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made arrangements to stay 3 nights at the Indianapolis Hyatt Regency for a Colts Football game and for their New Years Eve Party....We have stayed at the JW Marriott, Indianapolis previously multiple times and decided to try something different...We were not disappointed and very pleased. Wonderful rooms, very clean, relaxed atmosphere and a very pleasant staff were several of the positive characteristics of this hotel. The New Years Eve Party was well organized, well managed, very secure and just a heck of a lot of fun. The hyatt Regency is is an outstanding location and makes it easy to get around town especially with the use of the stadium tunnel and sky walks that make the shopping mall and local places to eat very accessible! We travel alot and have been at some of the best hotels throughout the country and world and for whatever reasons, we really liked this hotel and the staff that made this a great experience. Price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you like a view...higher up is better, although you may pay a little more....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philfromdayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear philfromdayton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our New Year’s Eve Party and our prime location near Lucas Oil Stadium. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with our staff! Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,445 - 1,451 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just expected more. I walked through the front door and the greeters completely missed my son and I. Checked in with no problem and had a pretty good stay with the following complaints. No concierge or anyone who could point me in the right direction when I needed. Only one clerk at desk during the most critical time, early Monday morning after a Sunday NFL game--go figure?? Despite the privacy hang tag, the maid entered my room. I had to knock on the staff only door to get someone to check me out and call a cab on Monday morning. Additionally, my entire party was checked out a day early for no apparent reason. The male lobby restrooms had 2 of 2 broken urinals. Lastly, my son inadvertently left the room door ajar for maybe 2 minutes and security guard met me at the door as I was closing it only to tell me that was a security violation. I'm not sure if he even knew how to spell security, but I am sure he does not know that most hotels have moved away from the antiquated anti-theft latch used my this hotel; and he was right, Hyatt committed a security violation. It's a really nice hotel but the manager probable does not have a clue about his/her failure to meet basic customer needs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psharpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear psharpton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is not the standard of service we wish to provide. I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We headed to Indy to suprise our son for his 6th birthday. Staying in a hotel is the best thing in the world for him. We chose the Hyatt through Priceline and got a great deal. While checking in, the front desk agent asked what brought us to town. My son told her we suprised him for his birthday and we were just out for an adventure. After heading out to dinner later that evening and returning to our room, we were greeted with cookies, juice, and a birthday card on the counter. The front desk agent Arielle had so kindly remembered and sent those up for the birthday boy. She made his night. Also, there were a few bridal parties staying at the hotel and they were kind enough to place us far away from them :).
Later in the night we did experience some rowdinessin an adjacent room that lasted about an hour. Within minutes, security was there to resolve the issue and asked us to please let them know of any other problems. The next morning, we received a phone call making sure everything was handled ok and to see if there was anything else we needed. What customer service!
Aside from being in a great location, the reservations are reasonable and you can't beat the parking rates!!! Looking forward to our next stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Adrianne J,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for choosing the Hyatt Regency to celebrate your son’s birthday. I am so pleased to hear that Arielle provided you with such great customer service. We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we were going to a Colts game and wanted to go from the hotel to the stadium without going outside. The hotel also has a walkway to the mall. We got a decent price on the room and stayed here for 2 nights. There were a lot of people staying in this hotel but once you are in your room, you hear almost nothing. The staff is extremely nice and helpful with whatever you need. There are also motion lights in the room so when you get up in the middle of the night, you don't have to turn on a light. As you walk through the room, the light turns on so you can get to the bathroom without tripping over anything. The room is nice, the bed is large and comfortable. The main complaint seems to be about the cost of Wi-Fi. Unfortunately, many of the hotels around here charge that much for Wi-Fi so there doesn't seem to be a lot of alternatives. I always prefer to have a microwave in the room which they did not have but again neither did any of the hotels around here. I was very surprised about that. The hotel is within walking distance of all the restaurants and downtown hotspots. We did not know where we wanted to go to eat but the staff was very helpful by giving us a map of all of the restaurants around the hotel and also providing us with coupons for them. We will definitely stay here again when we come back for Colts games in the future. It is nice to have an indoor walkway to the mall and to the game.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ej9718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear ej9718,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location near Lucas Oil Stadium. We look forward to seeing you next Colts season.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel was very nice and we loved the modern room decor.The room, deluxe-dble, was a nice size and had a wonderful view of the Capitol Bldg. The bathroom was also a nice size and there was a refrigerator for our left overs. I suggest going to the Italian restaurant, Bucca Di Beppo, Excellent food!! The location you cannot beat if you are doing activities downtown. There is also some fast food restaurants in the hotel's building along with a bank and gift shop. We received excellent value for what we paid for the accomodations. The only negative is that you have to pay for in-room internet and the price of our in-room movie was expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNOLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear CNOLIN,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our recently renovated guest rooms. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regard,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown INDY, conveniently connected to the convention center and Circle Centre Mall. It is a short two block walk to the circle, and to plenty of top restaurants, as well as to the Indiana State Museum and Eiteljorg Museum. There is renovation going on outside making valet parking almost a necessity. The rooms have been completely renovated, and are very well appointed, extremely contemporary, with wonderful beds. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to those wanting convenience in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear cbelcher,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review and for your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our central location. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regard,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night prior to a Colts football game. The hotel is in the process of some remodeling, but it did not affect our stay. Beautiful, well appointed rooms. The hotel sits right downtown so it was very convienent to restaurants and shopping. The "skywalk" to the Convention Center and Circle Centre is great for bad weather. Our only complaint was that when we returned to the hotel after our excursions, it was well after 10:00 p.m. We had decided to grab a couple sodas out of the vending machine on our floor - the 20th. The soda machine only takes debit and credit cards - okay, we had one of those. However when we swiped it, the machine informed us that it could not read the card, and please try another one. After the third card being rejected, we decided it must be the machine and decided to try the one on the 19th floor. Nope, same situation. Okay, the one on the 18th floor ....you guessed it, cannot read - please try another card. The desk clerk was no help either, just shrugged and let us know that the pizza place was still open and we could get fountain drinks there. Very, very inconvienent. So, great place to stay - just remember to bring your own beverages.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlb030201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear dlb030201,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. My apologies for the inconvenience with the beverage machines. We appreciate your feedback and the machines are now working correctly. I hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regard,
Brian Comes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,445 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,305 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,789 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#23 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,469 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#27 of 185 in Indianapolis
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Address: 1 South Capitol Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $144 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Center of Vibrant downtown Indianapolis, the hotel features a soaring 20 story atrium with TV's and social activation seating area's in a contemporary decor. 499 renovated guest rooms, Indiana's only revolving rooftop restaurant, the Eagles Nest (voted most romantic), the fat Rooster diner for Indiana farm to market menu laced favorite for Breakfast and Lunch, Level One Lounge offer social interactive games, 12 TV's for viewing and great food and beverage options. 35,000 square feet of meeting space offer expansive flexibility and compliments great banquet food and expansive IT capacity. Climate controlled access to Circle Centre Mall, Convention Center, Lucas Stadium, Downtown dining and entertainment. Guest rooms feature complimentary Internet access, luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing