We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quick Overnight Stay - Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #16 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quick Overnight Stay - Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for one night, Saturday, 3/17/12 while we were in town for the Supercross race at Lucas Oil Stadium. We arrived early on Saturday (around 2pm) and were promptly greeted and checked in to room 1524. Check in was simple, friendly and efficient.

Room: Newly remodeled with updated furnishings, linens, etc. It was immaculately clean, the safe, keyboard, fridge, ice bucket, were all easy to find. The bed was very comfy and there were plenty of pillows, something that is rare any more. The room is equipped with TV, access to the internet, recycling bins, a fantastic desk/work station, etc. The end of the desk that faced the window had a charging station as part of the desk - hookups and charging for everything from composite cables to USB ports for charging. I travel for business and rarely see this feature - ideal for the business traveler, or those of us who travel with multiple devices.

Bar: Great drink service - friendly bar tender - Patrick was a hoot! We did have to ask/remind the staff that we wanted to order food. Once the order was in it arrived quicker than expected and everyting was excellent (Pep Pizza, Turkey Clubs, Fries and salad). We were able to charge to our room or pay at time of service. We stopped back about 10:30 after the race and enjoyed a few more beverages before heading up to the room. The bar was pretty crowded and service was slow as there were only two bartenders.

Restaurants: Subway, Starbucks and a Pizza/Italian Fast Food place were all open at different hours. Subway had good service and fresh food. The pizza joint wasn't open until the evening and Starbucks was open on Sunday morning but nearly out of pastries by 9:00. There are two additional, more upscale restaurants that we weren't able to try.

Location: This hotel is in an ideal location for pretty much any activity downtown. The city is incredibly clean and very lively. Within a couple blocks walk any direction from the hotel were plenty of dining choices. From Steak n Shake to Ruth Cris and everything in between you would never go hungry! Walk to the stadium/convention center was 10 - 15 minutes, incredibly easy and safe.

Parking: We opted to self park - $22/day. Navigating the garage was a bit of a challenge and it's not easy to get turned around when the garage is full and you hit a dead end. If you're there during peak time I would recommend Valet. The other half of our party did this for $30/day.

Overall, this hotel was a great deal for an event weekend ($128/night booked through a 3rd party site) - having stayed at this hotel I would be willing to pay anywhere between my rate up to $175/$200/night. The only frustrating part of our stay were, as others have mentioned, the elevators. There were a lot of people in this hotel - between some college banquet awards, a wedding, St. Patty's guests and race guests and waiting for an elevator took some time and become increasingly frustrating as people pushed and shoved wanting to get on the next elevator. When there are fewer people, this may not be an issue - but for us it was really the only problem with our stay. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have some sort of "city view" - I don't think there's a bad view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear LivandMarc,

We appreciate your fantastic, detailed review of the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis during for your recent visit for the Supercross race at Lucas Oil Stadium. We are receiving excellent feedback on our newly renovated guest rooms, and our guests appreciate the variety of restaurants, excellent service and terrific location. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    405
    172
    67
    52
See reviews for
209
210
61
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This wonderful, updated Hyatt with an imposing 20 story atrium is within walking distance of everything in this very "happening" smaller city. I was visiting from Chicago and Indi seems to have everything anyone could want, except views of a big lake or big mountains.

Pros: Hypoallergenic bedding: remodeled and clean rooms; nice room set-up with mini-kitchen and good desk space; located in the heart of Indi and within walking distance of a wonderful variety of restaurants, theater, symphony, museums, sporting events; indoor walkway to a large mall; staff is pleasant and helpful; nice views of the State Capitol on one side; gift shop, Starbucks, Subway and a decent workout facility with small pool and whirlpool on the first floor.

Cons: Parking is an additional $22 per night and WIFI costs $9.95 per day or $39.95 for 5 days which starts to make things pricey; there can be a wait to get on an elevator if you have 300 people trying to get to the lobby at the same time (think sporting events and conferences), though we had no trouble getting an elevator 9 out of 10 times

Tip: There is a revolving restaurant at the top of the Hyatt. We went up during the day to check out the view but didn't have the time to eat there. Meals seem to range from $30 to $70 per person but I found a coupon on restaurants.com so search first before you go. Also, it is possible to go for a cocktail and for me it would have been worth it to pay $10 per drink to enjoy the view, but we just didn't have the time.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Indiana State Capitol building which makes for a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augiethelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Augiethelab,

Thank you for taking the time to write a such a detailed review about the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our city and in the hotel. The hypoallergenic Respire Rooms are a great addition to the hotel, along with the many other features you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and welcome you back soon. Hopefully you can enjoy a drink and dessert in The Eagle’s Nest Lounge on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Brian Comes
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February for business and I was very happy. The decor of the lobby and rooms are updated and very nice. This newly updated decor has a very upbeat feel. This upbeat decor continues in bathrooms and the room it's self. The room comes with a large flat screen tv. Rooms are also very clean and comfortable. Fitness room has good a nice assortment of up todate cardio and strength training equipment. Another nice attribute to this hotel is the Starbucks located in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinogt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
md88plt,

Thank you for taking a moment to write such a kind review of our hotel. When undertaking such a comprehensive renovation, I can say that we had guests like you in mind, and we are thrilled you noticed the upgrades we made to our facility. We hope to continue to exceed your expectations on your return visits to Indianapolis.

Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Went to spend a night In downtown Indianapolis for fun. Hotel is in a great location if you want to walk to lots of restaurants, the mall, several bars, and clubs. Room was average, they have all been updated for the Super Bowl which was here last weekend. The bathroom sink looks very modern, but splashes water everywhere and makes bathroom look messy. Nice shower. Parking is $30, so be forewarned. Wifi is extra too. There is a nice little gym, indoor pool, steam shower and sauna. The hotel itself is 80's looking but rooms comfortable. The staff was very kind and helpful. If you get a good deal on Priceline (we received $50 on a Saturday night) or something, it is worth a stay, but wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liska r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I imagine the room conditions will improve after the current remodel. As with many Hyatt Regencies that were once palaces of modern architecture during the 70's, this one has struggled a bit to keep the ravages of time at bay. Hyatt has always ranked a notch behind Hilton & Marriott in investing in their aging properties & while the public spaces still have a modern George Jetson vibe, the rooms are showing 40 years of wear and tear.

My room had peeling wallpaper in a corner, scuffs on the wall, worn, cracked caulking in the shower & dirty tile grout - things you might accept in a motel during Spring Break, but not the standard for a decent business hotel. Again, hopefully these issues will be remedied during their current renovation.

The location however, is first rate, smack in the middle of the compact downtown area and easily accessible to all the main venues. There are not a large number of hotel choices in the downtown area, so If you're looking for convenience, a centralized location, full business facilities & reasonable rates, the Hyatt probably has the best location for that - Just don't expect luxury, exceptional service or a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear MSelmi,

Thank you for your recent posting from your stay back in April 2011. As you noted we have a fantastic location, and we recently completed a $20 million guest room renovation – making our hotel rooms the newest in the city. You will notice on our website that we have updated the photos. We hope you have the opportunity to enjoy our upgraded hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I decided to take a weekend trip to Indy for the Monster Energy Supercross, we wanted a romantic getaway and decided to step it up to a 4 star hotel. We were excited to be within walking distance of the big mall and to Lucas Oil Stadium for the race. I have a chronic pain disorder and sometimes have to use a cane to help me along. After walking all day due to exploring downtown and the race....we decided to stop in the hotel bar for a cold drink. The place was hopping with people drinking and having a good time, most of them casually dressed in button down shirts, slacks or dresses. My wife and I had just come from the race in jeans and hooded sweatshirts (mind you we paid $200.00 a night for a room just as everyone else) I took a seat due to my hip bothering me, my wife continued to the bar. I watched her wait for 20 minutes, with no line in front of her stand at the bar and be completely invisible to the bartender. I went over to her and said "let's go to bed". On the way up I stopped by the front desk to give a piece of my mind and was not even apologized to. Someone needs to tell these people the old saying don't judge a book by it's cover because my wife and I had a pocket full of money that we would have gladly sat and spent on cocktails if they weren't ignorant enough to ignore us because we weren't dressed like the rest of the "Hoi Poloi" in the lounge that night. Lousy service, room was ok but I've stayed in WAY better for less than $200.00 bucks a nite. Long walk from the parking deck to the hotel. Rude staff, will NEVER go back!!

Room Tip: If you are under 40 make sure you put your dress clothes on if you hope to buy a drink in the bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Shawn1981,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for the poor service you experienced. Rest assured that costumer service is our top priority and we will address the issues you mentioned in your review. On your next visit to Indianapolis, we invite you to experience the customer service that you have come to expect from a Hyatt property.

Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The management at the Hyatt in Indy need to be aware that exercise rooms are an important element for the business traveller and need daily maintenance. On Wednesday, towels, water and anti bacterial wipes. Thursday, no water, no anti bacterial wipes. On Friday, no water, no towels or anti bacterial wipes. Very dissappointing from the Hyatt chain.....which should be a cut above the norm.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Duffy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,928 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#1 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#21 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 S Capitol Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing