We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still being refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #27 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“still being refurbished”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

to come back a year later and find the same elevator not working along with other inconveniences--the computer in club lounge not working, hall vending machine not working...takes it down a notch. stayed in a small room on the train side. very noisy. had not experienced that before. management and staff less attentive than in the past. not likely to return.

Room Tip: do not , under any circumstances, stay on the train side if you want uninterrupted sleep. this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planningpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. As a guest your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the issues you encountered with the room you received. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve thequality and services we offer. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next visit. Trina W General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    290
    130
    68
    42
See reviews for
180
165
41
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland/Sanibel
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Firstly (on my first visit to Indiana) Indianapolis is a pretty remarkable city. They have taken on board (the train- ha ha) the problems of inner cities and tackled them slap bang head on by having all the major sports within 50 yards right at the centre of town. I was in town for a Pacers basketball game and you could not get a better basket ball stadium.Also everyone in the whole city appears to be extremely friendly.

Could not get the hotel I had been recommended so Priceline got me the Union Station which is also right at the centre of down town. Found it a bit hard to find the main entry. You can see the railway lines and what must have been the old station but I wandered around for half an hour looking for the way in. Once in, the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There are two period elevators and, while I was there, one was out of action and one was seriously thinking of it. Not the hotels fault (they had been quoted weeks for repairs and were not happy at all) but it made getting to the rooms a bit difficult.

Once there the room was excellent, well equipped in that super American style. All very comfortable . And did I mention that outside the bedroom door..there is a TRAIN ! The whole station has been preserved with old Pullman carriages (must try one next time) complete with plaster 'ghosts' boarding the train. Can see what the architect was after and can also see why another guest describes them as "Creepy". But they contribute to the aura of a historic site. Incidentally, despite being a light sleeper, I had no idea it was still an active station and never heard or felt any railway activity.

After the basketball (a narrow and not entirely deserved Pacers win during their late season wobble), all the mainly Irish pubs downtown were full, noisy and slow so I walked back the 50 yards or so and ate at the hotel restaurant where food and service was very good.

Next day I was surprised to find that the Race Track is NOT just outside the door, but a 4 mile drive away. Still a must-see site where you can do a lap in a bus and pretend you are Dario. The museum is a world class museum of auto racing with a superb display of 50s and early 60s American Watson Roadsters from a golden age of American sport before the time when we Brits took over the circuit with our funny little cars.

So go to Indianapolis and stay at the Union Station!

Room Tip: (a)Parking is just a little cheaper opposite the staion (I was told that I would be towed if I left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us this 5 star review. It excites us that every part of your stay was great from check in to check out. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown we look forward to your next stay with us. Trina W General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here for a convention and liked it over all. The valet put a hard sell on the parking situation but even if you park your car yourself in their garage it costs $22 which I think is a bit steep (per night) if you're staying there. Check in was easy and quick. The rooms are nice but the "double" beds are small and hard and the sheets are like sandpaper. If you like soft bedding this place isn't for you. Otherwise, it's not super modern but it's clean and comfortable. The Nickel Plate Road railroad cars on the 2nd floor are very cool. You can stay in them for an additional free. The restaurant was hard to find and pretty dysfunctional and over priced once there. We were there during breakfast hours but were handed a lunch menu then told the breakfast buffet was available but didn't see anyone after that. Eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Just plan to eat / drink somewhere else. The accommodations aren't bad and the train cars / Unio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank q1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My BF and I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights and 4 days here. We were in town for the NRA convention and this was the Perfect spot to stay. We arrived at about 2am and were given great service. The front desk lady told us that we would hear the "train" as it runs right behind the hotel. She told us some people are un aware and she wanted us to know that ahead of time. We are sound sleepers and this wasn't an issue for us. I could see how it might freak some others out or wake a sleeping baby it was pretty loud in our room but we were in 358 which is back of the hotel. They have some cool train rooms that I would love to stay in sometime (old converted rail cars) that were converted to hotel rooms. Its a really cool hotel. The thing that stood out for us was how clean it was. The housekeeping department was on the ball. Our room was spotless daily! We had a king size bed and I believe we were in a handicap room just because of the wide doors and rails in the shower and bathroom. It was such an easy walk to the convention center with a Starbucks across the street at the Omni (walk out the front hotel doors and go to the right you can see the signs). around the corner on the right was a row of restaurants I think Cadillac ranch and something else. If you make the right under the bridge and go left at the next street there is a white castle and the slippery noodle too! However, never fear the great bell staff always got the hotel shuttle for us. It only goes to downtown and was super convenient. The longest wait time we had for the shuttle was maybe 10 minutes and the bell men chatted with us about what to do and where we were from. They also recommend some great restaurants for us too. (the weber grill and Ram). We found everything we did was convenient to here as we didn't have a rental and truly for this trip didn't need one. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant or get room service so I can talk about that but all in all between how clean and courtesy the staff was I am giving this property an Excellent review. The only hit is on sleep quality for the fact I did wake up one night due to the train sound and the walls shaking. IF you ever have to travel to Indy for an event at Lucas Oil field or the convention center this is THE SPOT!

Room Tip: I would suggest if you have a small child or you are a super light sleeper ask the desk what rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us this 5 star review. It excites us that every part of your stay was great from check in to check out. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown we look forward to your next stay with us. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a fun hotel! We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a convention in April, 2014. As others have stated this hotel is a converted train station. The hotel capitalizes on its heritage with interesting statues, art work, “train car” rooms and even the rumblings of a working train! The rooms themselves are typical mid-price range hotel rooms: clean, appointed with the necessities and very workable. Ours would have been improved with the addition of a small refrigerator. This hotel is centrally located to restaurants, bars, and shopping. Going to an event at Lucas Oil? It literally looms in the background. We had room service (tasty and fast) and had drinks in the lobby bar which were good but a bit pricey. A room tip? Many of the rooms face the indoor “courtyard” and pool. If you want to sleep in or need to work, request a room that does not. The joyous screams of children enjoying the pool, seemingly amplified by the architecture, started at 9:00 a.m. and didn’t stop until the pool closed in the late evening. Notwithstanding, I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat and can highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT facing the pool if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredandginger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again soon. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

They did a great job renovating this property. It all looks very nice. NOTE: THEY DID REMOVE THE HOT TUB... that was one of the reasons we selected this hotel (location, pool and hot tub). I was disappointed, but suppose I was happy to have a pool that was warm enough to enjoy! We had a room that looked directly out to the pool, which was nice and they adhere to the 10pm closing which was great. (we were worried we would be up all night with people swimming) However, it was not the pool noise that kept us up. There were two other culprits. They had a wedding at the hotel and several loud groups of people traveling through the "atrium" makes for sleep disturbances at all hours. Also, there were very loud whisteling sounds (almost as if train related) that would "wind up" multiple times throughout the night and go on for several minutes at a time. It was quite disturbing. I love the hotel, the feel, but the noise made for difficult sleep.
Restaurant staff was very courteous (although the breakfast server talked my daughter into having the buffet, telling her that she could get pancakes there, but there weren't pancakes on the buffet. They did get her a plate of them in the end, but it cost us $9 for buffet instead of the $6 for the child breakfast). Valet was efficient.

Room Tip: The room that over looks the pool is great for kids... you can keep an eye on them and not have to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love hearing positive feedback about our newly renovated hotel. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

the lobby was beautiful, the rooms were remade, clean and crisp, the pool area was clean and inviting! I love how the doors open to the inside on the main level and the steal beams remain open in the main Guest area GORGEOUS! Tons of quaint seating areas to chat with friends, read the morning paper or just sit and enjoy the surroundings! On the second floor they have restored an old train and secured it to allow guests to 'Sleep on the Train' ITS IS AMAZING!!! I will rent a room JUST for my kids to stay on a train car!!! its a MUST SEE!! They do have some GREAT meeting and event rooms for rent (i.e. conferences, weddings. . . ) There were a few lil bars throughout the hotel but the best was hidden in the basement. . . . The Iron Horse!! the ambiance down there was SOOOO COOL, you must check it out!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylenaIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are excited that you were able to celebrate with us for our Grand Debut, it was definitely a night to remember. We love hearing positive feedback about our newly renovated hotel and the fact you enjoyed our uniqueness makes it even more special to us. Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay!
Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,310 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,660 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Property: Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing