We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #25 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and stayed in a train car in this hotel for our 15th wedding anniversary. We absolutely loved it. The train car was just remodeled. The bed was so comfortable and the air conditioning was great!! You have to be okay with train noise. We knew this up front. We loved the vibration of the trains going by. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is great. Very close to downtown and the convention center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. I am happy that our staff made your experience for your 15th anniversary a special occassion. I am happy that you are satisfied with the remodeled traincars and the service that you received from our staff.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 840 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Due to ongoing construction the Pullman car we had booked 3 months in advance was not available however Mike Clark (rooms division mgr.) went our of his way and provided us with an upgraded room. Price was adjusted accordingly to compensate for the late notice of the change and Mike was extremely professional in his efforts to satisfy our needs.

Accommodations, staff and overall premises were very good. Check in - out was very efficient along with the valet service. Location was perfect for touring the city, dining and frequenting the local pubs etc..... Once construction is complete, we will definitely consider a return booking for one of the Pullman Cars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtlHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was my pleasure to work with you to ensure that you had a great experience at our hotel. It was also great to have the opportunity to meet you in person and make your anniversary at our hotel special.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I just got back from staying at the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis for a meeting. My room was okay but noisy. All the common areas were in bad shape. Construction everywhere. Temporary carpet on floors which was easy to trip on. Smelled of paint and dry wall, dust from construction. Air conditioning not fully functional in common areas. Always noisy. Pool not available. Hotel's response to guests is just to post "apology" notices around the hotel. Room rates not discounted nor any special coupons given to guests to make up for inconveniences. Instead, when I checked-in I was just told a list of things to expect such as train noise, construction noise, etc. Basically, hotel expects guests to pay full price and then just be good sports about all of the construction.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience due to the renovation. It is not an easy process renovating a hotel while still in operation. We are addressing all issues, such as carpeting, air conditioning, etc, that you referred to during the renovation. It is not our goal to have our guests just endure the renovation. It is our goal to cause the least inconveinence possible during the renovation and accomodate our guests needs. I would like an opportunity to discuss further if you would be willing. Please send an email to indycrowne@genhotels.com to my attention. I look forward to hearing from you.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Crowne Plaza Hotel - 123 W. Louisiana Street -Indianapolis, Indiana August 31- September 2, 2013
I just had my worst hotel experience ever and I have been renting hotel rooms for 40 years including many in third world countries so, that is a very hard to achieve rating a WORST EVER rating. 1) no air conditioning in hotel room for both nights just for starters 2) untrained staff trying to make a bad situation better actually, made it worse 3) loud construction beginning at 8:00 am Sunday morning. 4) direction to rooms mismarked
I could go on and on and on but I think you get the point and I would rather sleep in my car (would of at least been able to get some sleep) than to ever stay in a Crowne Plaza Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am extremly sorry that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. The comments that you have made are critical issues that I would like to have to opportunity to investigate further if you are willing. Please send any additional feedback to indycrowne@genhotels.com.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

First thing they tell you when you check in: the hotel is under construction, plus its next to an active railroad, so it will be noisy. *sigh* "When do the trains come through?" I asked. They are freight trains so not on any particular schedule. *sigh*

I stayed here 4 nights for a recent business trip. The arrangements were made through corporate travel, so I had no idea about the construction or the trains.

On the plus side, the staff was so so helpful, and they did a good job keeping the place clean during construction. You'd never know there was anything going on until you went further into the hotel. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious. I was not really inconvenienced by the construction, as it was done during the day while I was working. Note that the pool is currently closed though. The place is cute, with old Pullman train cars, evidently available as rooms.

On the negative side: noise and vibration from the railroad. When I first checked in, I was given a room on the backside of the hotel, close to the tracks. I stepped into my room just as the train was passing, it was incredibly noisy and the room was shaking. I went back to the desk and asked for a room at the front of the hotel, they switched me and it was much quieter (although I still had to push a chair against the window to stop it from vibrating when the train went by). If there had not been another room available I would have changed hotels.

So really just be forewarned, if you are a light sleeper, this place may not be for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_from_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear the positive comments in regards to our staff. I am sorry that the active train station impacted your stay in a negative way. We are a historic building and our staff make an effort to make sure all of our guests are aware upon arrival to this fact.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My niece and I stayed at Crowne Plaza Union Station for one night and had a great time. Unfortunately this hotel was in the middle of a huge renovation and was quite dusty and noisy during our stay. Just the lobby area. Our room was perfectly clean and newly renovated and overlooked the pool. Fortunately, we got an awesome Hotwire deal, so the inconvenience of the torn apart lobby was of little concern to us.
The hotel is huge- so big it can get eerie at night, especially if your room is a distance from the central elevator area. Or if your niece decides she wants a self tour of the grand ballroom at 1 a.m!
Train enthusiasts would love this hotel as there are 2 full size trains on either side of of the hotel- INSIDE - and several of these cars are remodeled into actual hotel rooms. Families and groups would also love this hotel.The pool was awesome and nicely heated. It's walking distance to everything downtown and in a very safe nice area- right across from Lucas Oil stadium.
The staff are really what makes this such an enjoyable place to stay. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to be friendly and helpful! Especially one if the guest service reps( maybe Peter?) He went out of his way to locate an IPhone charger for me to use, so I wouldn't have to walk way out to my car to retrieve mine! Above and beyond!!
Since the hotel is being remodeled anyway, I would recommend removing most of the white statues representing the Union Station of days gone by... A few in the lobby would be fine, but suspended from beams, and some strangely perched on top of the train cars- that was creepy.
I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again, just may wait until the remodel is done!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geonurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you had a positive experience. We will be excited once the renovation is concluded and our new product will be enjoyed by all of our guests. In regards to the ghost statues, we have repaired several that have been damaged over the years and will be putting them throughout our hotel once the renovation is complete. The statue on top of the traincar goes with another statue that has recently been repaired. Once in place it will make more sense what is actually occurring. The history of this hotel is unique and very important to the staff of the hotel and the city of Indianapolis.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel while somewhat normal has special railroad pullman cars set up as bedrooms with heavy reference to various celebrities. the hotel also have white statues of people of a bygone era doing different things and striking unusual poses.

Room Tip: Check the hotels notes to choose the right for you pullman car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for the high rating that you gave our hotel. The statues, Pullman train car guest rooms, and our history are what make our hotel unique to other hotels in the area. The staff of our hotel take pride in our history and enjoy sharing fun facts with our guests.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,525 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,828 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,885 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $133 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing