We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool and Historic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool and Historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is undergoing a massive renovation, but they are leaving a lot of the original charm. The hotel has a great location, right across from the Convention Center, Lucas Oil Stadium and close to shopping and restaurants. The hotel has a historic charm and my next stay will be in one of the train car rooms. I can hardly wait. I live in Indy so it is a "staycation" kind of place.

Room Tip: Look into the train car rooms. They are actual train cars and do not cost that much more to rent per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtravelmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you appreciate the charm and history of our hotel as we are very unique compared to any other hotel in the city.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    281
    126
    63
    42
See reviews for
161
159
40
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Got a great deal on a room through priceline. Perfect location in town, only a few minutes walk to lucas oil stadium. Best part I showed up at 2 knowing check in wasnt until 4. I asked if it was too early to check in, they checked and the room was ready. Within minutes I was checked in and wasnt charged extra for early check in. Parking was about 22 for 24 hours which could add up quick if staying multiple days but its in a covered garage with an attendant. Room seemed to be recently remodeled and was very clean. Overall very good experience with this hotel, would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacojmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated guest room that you were provided. We are glad to be able to provide you a very good experience and look forward to hosting you as a guest again in the future.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I came here on business and they gave me an actual train car. How creative! This place is like a museum. I can't comment on the regular rooms but the theme-based train rooms are nice. I stayed in the Charlie Chapman train car. Only issue is the character on the wall can be scary when you walk in the room or wake up in the night (photo attached). if you are into trains this is the place to be. Parking is expensive so be prepared. The restaurant-bar is ok. The prices are affordable because it is part of the Holiday Inn brand. It is in the heart of downtown so I am sure there are sites to see. I was on business so I didn't get to get out. They were doing renovations when I was there so I am sure once that is done there will be more to come. Only downside is the indoor pool. It's right in the middle of the hotel for all to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you appreciate the uniqueness of our facility and were able to experience staying in an authentic Pullman train car room. The train cars are now being renovated and they will look much different on the inside than they have in the past. We are in a downtown location very close to Lucas Oil Stadium, the Indiana Convention Center, and Bankers Life Fieldhouse. The city of Indianapolis has been rapidly growing the past 10 years. Parking rates have increased along with demand in this time frame is well. It is good to do your homework prior to staying downtown so you know what to expect when you stay.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shortstp73
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the middle of all downtown Indianapolis with overpass access to the Colts football stadium. I was here over the weekend for my younger brother's wedding in Indiana. This hotel is very unique, clean and elegant and historical. Enjoyed my stay. Would visit the hotel again if in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortstp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We take pride in the uniqueness and history of our hotel. The service that our staff strives to provide and the unique character of our hotel is what sets us apart of other hotels. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberfeld, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms that was recently refurbished on the 3rd floor. Everything about the room was well done, clean and comfortable. We found the beds comfortable, and the linens were nice. there could stand to be better ventilation in the bathroom, but it looked like the vent was closed. maybe that's just until construction is finished and the dust is gone. The construction is apparent all over the hotel and currently has the pool closed, but that wasn't a problem for us on this stay. The train cars on the south side of the hotel are currently under renovation and the staff said that the ones on the north side are next. Staff was cleaning up dust in the common reas as we were leaving and despite the construction, the whole place was nice & clean. The front desk clerk even opened the gift shop after hours so my pregnant wife could have a Snickers bar to satisfy a craving. Only complaint is the $30 valet parking or the slightly cheaper garage that has only a 6 ft. clearance. From the front door to the north gate of Lucas Oil Stadium is only about a 2 block walk and it is well lit after dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CampinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I apologize for the ventilation issue in the bathroom. This is an issue that we are still addressing as we progress through the project. Guest feedback on issues like this help our staff improve areas that impact our guests most. Without this kind of feedback, we cannot improve something that we are not aware is impacting our guests in a negative way. Guest feedback has helped us address many issues that our guests have been discussing with us over the past years. We hope that our return guests can take pride when they see the new product, that their comments were taken to heart.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice hotel and could not be closer to the convention center or the football stadium unless it were inside them. The building is a former train station which makes for interesting internal architecture with exposed iron work and actual trains that you can stay in. If you love trains you will be in heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielleherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy that you enjoyed the unique features of our hotel.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night last month. We had the Charlie Chaplin carriage which was quiet unique but very outdated. The wallpaper was peeling and the pillows needed to be changed. It was quite a cool experience considering the train station is still in operation. The in room dining was good and the location is ideal if you are visiting any sporting event at the Lucas Oil Stadium. Also near funky pubs and grub. Glad we stayed for the night to experience something different and would stay again if the hotel has a bit of a re-vamp.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighloo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your experience at out hotel. I do apologize for the condition of the Charlie Chaplin traincar room. We are still under renovation and are just now getting to our traincar rooms. We are excited to give the traincars a more modern appearance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Property: Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing