We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Train Hotel (better for short stay)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night last month. We had the Charlie Chaplin carriage which was quiet unique but very outdated. The wallpaper was peeling and the pillows needed to be changed. It was quite a cool experience considering the train station is still in operation. The in room dining was good and the location is ideal if you are visiting any sporting event at the Lucas Oil Stadium. Also near funky pubs and grub. Glad we stayed for the night to experience something different and would stay again if the hotel has a bit of a re-vamp.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighloo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for posting a review regarding your experience at out hotel. I do apologize for the condition of the Charlie Chaplin traincar room. We are still under renovation and are just now getting to our traincar rooms. We are excited to give the traincars a more modern appearance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 840 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice hotel and could not be closer to the convention center or the football stadium unless it were inside them. The building is a former train station which makes for interesting internal architecture with exposed iron work and actual trains that you can stay in. If you love trains you will be in heaven. The only downside is that there is still an active train track right next to the hotel that I was not told about it when I checked in. I found out about it at around 1AM when I thought we were having an earthquake. It turns out that large freight trains rumble past 3 or 4 times a night at all hours. You kind of get used to the entire building shaking after the 3rd time, but if you are a light sleeper and like your building to not vibrate when you sleep you might not enjoy it so much.

Room Tip: I did not stay on the train but spoke to someone who did. She said the rooms are very small and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyRollLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We take pride in the history and unique character of our hotel. I am sorry that the train activity was not communicated to you upon your arrival. We are open about this fact in our marketing and are currently working on a better way to communicate this information to our guests upon their arrival. The feedback that you provided does assist our staff to target areas for improvement.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for a night and had dinner on the town. Hotel even under construction was still clean, quiet and a place I would stay again. We did hear the train in the early am hours but it was only for a few moments it seems. A quick walk and we were at the Mall and we did take a cab to dinner as it was a short drive and we wanted to have cocktail with Dinner. We will stay here again. Great Place

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waltznurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad that your stay was a postive experience despite the ongoing construction. I am glad that the uniqueness of our hotel was not detered by the active trains that go through on a daily and nightly basis. We look forward to the opportunity to have you as a future guest once our renovation is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was formerly the Union Station and they have taken the train theme and run with it.

The most distinguishing characteristic of the building are the trains parked on each side of the second floor and converted to hotel rooms. Be aware that there are two trains parked on one side and only one train on the other, so if you get a room on the side with two trains and you're on the second train you're actually between the first train and the wall. You can reserve the train rooms online, but you can also upgrade at check-in. We were told that it was only $30 to upgrade, but the trains aren't all converted yet, so there's limited availability.

Speaking of availability, the whole place is under renovation. The rooms that are finished look great, but a large portion of the hotel is under construction, especially the public areas. We were there Sunday-Monday and construction didn't end until 7pm and started again at 7am!

There is a "quiet" and "noisy" side to the hotel because the Amtrak does pass close to the building. But even on the noisy side, it was really more like a large A/C unit shuddering on and the floor vibrated a little. I can't imagine it waking anyone up unless you're used to absolute silence at night. We booked online and were told at check in that we could upgrade from a regular room to a train car room for $30. If you go for a regular room, I recommend a room on the third floor...1st floor rooms look out into the lobby, 2nd floor rooms aren't as open because that's the floor the trains are on, and 3rd floor rooms have better views.

There aren't many outside windows in the building, so the whole inside is open and it gives the hotel the feeling of a cruise ship....lots of balconies, short hallways, and small nooks. The architecture is really interesting, but the openness is concerning if you have children, because from the second and third floors it would be rather easy to climb onto many of the girders. Normally, I wouldn't mention it, but there are plaster statues throughout the hotel that represent people (businessmen, families, nuns, etc) waiting for the train...and a few of these statues are VERY badly placed. Like, falling off the train roof! Or, falling from the girders above the pool! Since the badly placed statues are of children, and on the second floor (where the girders are most accessible)...it's not so much funny as concerning.

The location is great, especially if you're taking an Amtrak ride, going to Lucas Oil, or attending the convention center. It's easily within walking distance of Circle Center and MANY bars, restaurants, and stores. The restaurant downstairs served a great croissant sandwich, as well as skillet platter for breakfast...super fresh veggies and generous portions.

In short, it's going to be beautiful when they're done renovating, the location is great, and I can't imagine a little kid (or grown up) who loves trains not loving this place! I just wish they'd move those kid statues falling!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if your room is on the quiet/noisy side (from passing trains). Also, you can upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SportsMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience. You provided an accurate overview of the uniqueness that other guests can experience staying in our hotel. Thank you!
Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza with our 2 youngsters on a visit to Indy. We chose this hotel because of the train cars you can sleep in. The cars were nice - narrow, but spacious enough for a little seating area. Our kids LOVED sleeping in a train. We stayed on the "noisy" side - the rooms are near active tracks. It really wasn't that bad - the trains didn't bother us at all except 1, and I would have slept through that one (it woke my kids). The pool is nice for kids - it's shaped like a T, and not really big enough for laps, but good for splashing around. The only regret we had was going to the breakfast buffet in the morning. I was convenient, but too expensive and the food quality and selections were not great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedeetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you had the opportunity to experience one of our authentic Pullman traincars. I am sorry that you were disappointed in our breakfast buffet. We are always open to guest feedback as it pertains to specific offerings on our buffet. We are priced competitively according to the downtown market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our nieces were amazed that our room was actually a train car! Elegantly designed with an emphasis on comfort as well as functionality, the room itself was a real treat. We were assigned to train car #10~ also known as The Winston Churchill. The room had plenty of storage places to allow for organization during our stay. The room included a refrigerator and a complimentary "help you sleep kit". Every Crowne Plaza is known for these kits which are always appreciated by this traveler :) There are an abundance of cozy, semi~private sitting areas through out the hotel grounds, including a large indoor swimming pool. The natural lighting from the streams of sunshine through the skylights give you the pros of having an indoor pool without missing being outside :) The water was MOST enjoyable with its lukewarm temperature :) We also received a free beverage coupon from the adjoining restaurant The Pullman which though it was dated for the day prior ~ Brian so graciously honored the day of our departure. He even went ABOVE and beyond by making fresh coffee for my ordered iced coffee simply because he did not know how old the coffee was :) Now that is service! Thank you Brian and we can not wait to come back!! We return in October for a convention and though this hotel is completely booked we will look forward to coming for eats :)

Should note the hotel is very near live railroad tracks which add to experience as you can hear AND feel the trains day and night :)

Room Tip: Cleanliness was not an excellent only because the hotel is in the middle of lots of renovations-my h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and acknowledging one of our standout employees. It is great for us to have feedback on specific employees to share with all of our staff when they provide exceptional service to our guests! We will make sure he is acknowledged for his efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed one night. The train cars converted to hotel rooms added to the cool atmosphere.
The room was clean and comfortable but a little small. The hotel staff was friendly. The only negative was the lounge was not up to par but with the good location food and drink are within walking distance. One thing to note is there is no on site parking so the parking garage next door will charge $22 dollars a day. We had a great time and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emichael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize that your experience in our lounge did not meet your expectations. More specific feedback is always helpful for us to address issues so that we can meet and exceed your expectations. Also, the hotel does offer valet parking which is currently $30 overnight per day of stay which includes in/out privelages. The Pan Am garage is a nearby parking garage that is privately owned & operated. They currently charge $22 per 24hr period and do charge anytime you exit the facility. There is no free parking in the downtown area. Please be prepared for this expense when you stay in any full service downtown hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#14 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,498 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#5 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,846 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#26 of 185 in Indianapolis
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $135 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing