We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, and not so good for business travelers. Outdated, conveniently located with no sound isolation and horribly slow internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #27 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Noisy, and not so good for business travelers. Outdated, conveniently located with no sound isolation and horribly slow internet”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

If you in town for business and or need some quiet time this is not it.


1. Location is one, but maybe the only big plus for this hotel. Since it has a sky walk to convention center during winter it's s convenient.
2. Noise proofing is close to ZERO. On one side you have trains running all night, with shakes equal to small earth quake, and in the hall ways kids, if there is some sport event in town at the convention center.
3. If you do not have way of using your own Hot Spot device, forget about internet. Or... press the button and go to take a shower, then press another and make yourself some coffee. It's slower than dial up.
4. If you get a room on the upper floor, the elevator is the only way to and out, and those elevators running non-stop when hotel is packed, so there is a wait.

5. Worn out looking.
6. Pillows are so small... Probably for people with really small heads or kids. Ha, ha.
7. Service staff all were awesome.

If you will get one of the train cart rooms, be prepared kids and even adults will be trying to open door to look inside as all will be thinking it's an exhibit and not a hotel room.

According to my experience it will not be a hotel of my choice again. I would not recommend it to people I know.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear RT4,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I appreciate that you found all our staff to be awesome. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations specially on the points you have mentioned. Rest assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    291
    131
    68
    43
See reviews for
180
166
41
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

And it was good, but sometimes (at night) a bit noisy because of freight trains passing nearby but I always take my earplugs with me! If you book a room, ask for a room near the street side (less noise). Breakfast is typical American style and after a few days it becomes boring because it's always the same...

Room Tip: Get a room at the front side (street) of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinger008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do have an active train station adjacent to our hotel. Earplugs are available at front desk, which many guests have found helpful to muffle the sound of the active trains. The North side of the hotel is farthest from the active trains. If you are a sensitive sleeper, request a room on the North side. If there is a room availabe in that area, our staff is more than happy to accomodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in a VIP Club room which was to include a small continental breakfast in the Club lounge. When we were ready to eat, there were no spoons, coffee was gone and hot items, which were in warmers were rock hard. On our second night we decided to order room service for breakfast the following morning and our tag was still hanging on the door when we woke up. I had to take the tag to the front desk myself in order to get our breakfast before we were to depart. The location was great for walking to other attractions and restaurants and the valet parking was nice too. We were also disappointed to discover that the hot tub, which was still listed on the website, had been filled in with concrete, so no longer available. The room itself was clean, but the bathroom and bathtub/shower was in need of being remodeled. I actually found someone else's towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door when we arrived, so housekeeping missed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. I want to apologize for the issues you experienced with our food and beverage during your stay. Unfortunately, the hot tub was removed from our property due to its age and not being able to bring it up to current safety standards and government requirements. Lastly, I am sorry housekeeping missed the towel in the bathroom. The hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation beginning in March which will address the condition of our bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I am currently staying in this hotel for one night on business. I got a great deal on the room and the location is pretty good. There's not really a bad location in downtown Indy. This one certainly isn't the best. After waiting in a slow-moving check-in line I was pleased with the service I received at the front desk. It wasn't until I had already paid and been given my keys that the person mumbled something about this being a working train station so there "might be occasional slight noise and rumble". This was a pretty drastic understatement. I didn't mind it while I was relaxing in my room this evening but falling asleep proved difficult. On top of this, every little noise from neighbors and the old building seems amplified.

The room itself seems clean enough. Nothing fancy but even with the deal I got, not worth the price, especially factoring in the deteriorating bathroom.

Overall, the experience has been a let down. As a former resident of Indianapolis I admire the city and it is sad to see a building with such potential be so poorly maintained. This hotel is well past it's prime.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coltsfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry that your experience fell below your expectations. While the active train station behind our faciltiy adds to the ambiance of the facility, we could do a better job communicating this to our guests upon arrival. We do advertise the hotel on our website as an active train station, but we tend to struggle with 3rd party websites communicating the same information since we don't have total control of the content of those websites. It is a good idea to go to the brand website and look at the specifics of the property prior to booking in case you have any questions about the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

First time staying at a Crown Plaza and it didnt dissapoint. Firstly its close to downtown and everything. Just a few blocks from Lucas oil and all the resturants and bars. The pool and sauna were awesome and very relaxing. The architecture itself in the hotel is beautiful. The rooms were very clean. We went through expedia.com and was extremely suprised to find such a good deal. The front desk agent was very professional and curteous to us. I plan a trip to Indianapolis every year and from now on ill be staying at the Crown Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. Feedback like this lets us know when we are doing a good job in taking care of our guests and their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for my daughters dance competition at the Convention Center. The location of the hotel was great, and it is connected to the convention center by a covered skywalk.
I got to the hotel and was allowed to check-in at 1030 as a priority club gold member. I was also given a free drink coupon for the bar.
All the staff was great, and we stayed in a train car. The bed was not as comfortable as I hoped, but it did the job.
I would suggest this hotel, especially if you are attending an event at the convention center.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattW0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. You mentioned the mattress in your guest room was not very comfortable. I apologize for the discomfort, this is one of the items that will be addressed during our hotel renovation beginning in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is in the old Union Railway Station. Some of the rooms are in old Pullman sleeper carriages. The current railway runs close to the back of the hotel. There's a major shopping mall with movie theaters close by. This is an convenient, interesting and comfortable place to stay. Good value for money if you get winter rates. Can't comment on the summer ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beltedcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are proud of the uniqueness of our facility. Rates due vary based on time of year, local events, and demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,316 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,662 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Property: Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing