We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Ranked #28 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
DANVILLE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating remodel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The theme, the old rail building, is truly unique and magnificent. Loved the full-sized plaster human sculptures! Rooms were very nice, except for inexpensive bathroom fixtures. Room was also good sized. No breakfast was offered.

We stayed here for two nights to visit the university campus. Parking was difficult and expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the plaster traveler's from the past that are stationed throughout our building. We are a very unique hotel and our building has a lot of history. Please keep in mind, we do have rates available that include breakfast for two. I do apologize for the look of the bathroom fixtures. This issue is going to be addressed when our hotel undergo's a full renovation beginning in March of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    285
    128
    63
    42
See reviews for
168
160
41
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved this hotel! It has a great historic feel to it. The train cars and tracks in the hotel is what makes this hotel incredibly unique. Great pool, friendly staff, comfy bed. What more could you ask for? Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rp_1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that you enjoy the history and unique aspects of our hotel. Our staff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding. the space was beautiful and the food was good. The decore of the hotel is very neat. You can have your room in a train car. overall it was a clean space, a little old. there is only 1 ice machine per floor and its not centrally located. There was no mini fridge so dont make plans to store things.

My only real complaint is that staff members started knocking on our door ar 8am, when check out is at noon. at least 1 staff member and 2 houskeepers knocked even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door. also there is no free or discounted parking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that you had a great experience attending the wedding at our hotel. Your compliments will be shared with the Food and Beverage staff. I want to apologize for housekeeping staff disturbing you prior to your departure of the hotel. Your comments will be discussed with the Housekeeping department to better identify departures without disturbing our guests. You shouldn't have been disturbed with a "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The “Lillian Russell” car, like the 20+ cars converted to rooms in the Crowne Plaza Union Station is a little like a wrinkle in time. It has a teeny little closet, a teeny little bar (with refrigerator), and a teeny little bathroom. The lush king sized bed (a mystery how they got the mattress in???) was comfortable, as were the two club chairs, the desk and the flat screen TV. Union Station is still an active, multi-level station, with trains moving through periodically during the day and night. The décor is period-appropriate, and you have a sense of what long-distance travel was like in the 1920’s and 30’s.
It is a good idea to get help with luggage, as the Pullman steps up to the room are steep and narrow. I was carrying heavy camera equipment plus luggage and was grateful for the assistance. The bathroom is similar to other historic hotels of the era, and the bar with refrigerator was a treat. Room service is fast, hot and good. The steak sandwich I ordered was one of the best room service meals I have ever had in 30 yrs. of business travel.
The building itself is an architectural wonder; it makes you wish the elevator would take longer so you can enjoy it a bit longer.
I can’t say enough about how accommodating the staff is. In every instance…taking me to retrieve an article I had left behind on an appointment to the very knowledgeable help finding some obscure places I was seeking for photos…if someone couldn’t help, they found someone who could. Waiters and waitresses remembered customers from day to day, and regulars were welcomed like family. The housekeeping staff does not start that irritating “housekeeping” tap on the door at 8 am, which seems to be standard in most hotels these days, and were very quiet in the hallways. It is a convention hotel, so large groups of guests came home “happy” late at night, but that is pretty standard in any downtown hotel.
These cars sit as they rolled in on original tracks. Teens would find it fun to roam the hotel at will, as the Grand Hall, Station and of course, the room they have adjacent to yours down that narrow corridor with the Alice in Wonderland sized door would be just odd enough to be fun. The on-site restaurant is good (Breakfast buffet may be the best meal of the day), and it is a short complementary van ride to the Zoo, the Market, River and you can walk through a covered walkway to shopping and sports venues.

I would not consider another hotel. I want to take my grandkids on a business trip with me (28-10 yrs) to experience this bit of live history.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side of Railroad car rooms. Staff will tell you which ones...Try the Rudolf Valentino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I am glad to here that you had an enjoyable stay and our staff took good care of you. I am sure other traveler's will appreciate the information you have provided so they can hear what a unique hotel and experience they can enjoy for themselves. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in a Pullman car room, which is fun if you feel a bit adventurous in accomodation. Be prepared to lift luggage up the car stairs and to negotiate small spaces on the way to the room's entrance. There can be noise from the adjoining room on the other end of the car, and from other guests walking past the cars to nearby rooms. The cars are set up in two rows; the row farthest from the hallway is a little better from a noise perspective. The hotel lets you know you are adjacent to an active train station and can expect to encounter vibration/rumbles from the trains. This is probably more noticeable in the Pullman rooms since they are actual cars still sitting on their suspension systems--the trains passing nearby feel like small earthquakes, which is slightly unnerving until you get accustomed to it.

Caution: If you are traveling during football season, check the Colts' schedule for home games. The hotel is close to the stadium, and if you're in town on other business, it can be disruptive. Street access around the building can be restricted on game day. Also, nearby downtown restaurants fill up with revelers the night before the game, so dining reservations become a necessity.

As a train lover, I enjoyed this hotel, and the Pullman car accomodation, but it is not for everyone.

Room Tip: For Pullman cars, the farthest row, away from the hallway, is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlevaksilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. You provided very detailed and useful information regarding our location and things to be aware of when staying at our hotel. I know this information will be very useful for other travelers to our area. Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Downtown Indianapolis and for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Overall good experience at Crowne Plaza in Indianapolis. Parking is expensive, which is typical for downtown. There was some construction in the adjacent parking garage and the elevator was out of order so that was a bit of a problem. We did have a complaint the first night with the noise in a room close to ours but security promptly took care of the situation. With all the negatives being said, it was a good location. Right next to Lucas Oil Stadium, walking distance to the mall and good restaurants. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Our kids enjoyed the train that is right in the middle of the hotel. You can actually sleep on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crittle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. The construction on the surface of the self park Pan Am Garage is a challenge for our hotel and an inconvenience to our guests. We encourage our guests to check into the hotel before they self park to alleviate the frustration of dragging luggage up the stairs. We do apologize if you were inconveinced by this issue. I am confident the feedback you provided will assist other travelers when they stay at our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Downtown Indianapolis and sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The company booked me in the Crowne Plaza DT Indy for a night. Thankfully it was only A night. It's not the worst place (like the Extended Stay in Orlando...see my review of that scary place) but it's not the Renissance O'Hare (see my review of this place!!!). Overall it's fairly clean and a great location if you need to access something d.town. The pictures online are a bit deceiving though. For instance, the pool. The picture online makes it look like this olympic sized pool when its actually quite dinky. The hot tub was broken on my visit but I got to walk by it everytime I went to my room (which certainly wasnt accessable as it was down a flight of stairs from the main level...I guess I'm in a garden room???). The pool and such is right off the lobby. If you're afraid to be seen in your speedo or bikini, dont venture to the pool here.

The room, while not vast, is decent sized with a king sized bed. Clean for the most part. The bath is another story. VERY small and I swear they hired a 10 year old boy to caulk every possible seam in it. Caulk here...caulk there...wall paper sagging and falling off the wall (you get my picture?) Someone surely went crazy with the cheese-wiz here. The bath tile was beaten to heck and the tile on the floor was gross. See the picture of the base tile I uploaded.

If you're staying one night and the company is floating the bill...go for it...otherwise I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I want to apologize for the condition the bathroom floor and the poor caulking around the tub. I agree this condition is unacceptable and will be corrected. Your feedback is vital for us to make improvements in areas that affect our guests perception most. Thank you for your time and your honest feedback on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
2,159 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 178 in Indianapolis
327 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
1,553 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Property: Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#56 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing