We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only place to stay in Indy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport
Ranked #64 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
ashland, ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only place to stay in Indy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

My dad and I have been coming to the US Nationals for a number of years. Until a couple of years ago, we were staying on the north side of town off Michigan Road. After I found out about this hotel, I was able to get a great deal on hotwire for about $60/night for three nights. It is only 15 minutes to the dragstrip and is a very nice hotel. Staff is courteous and the room is very nice. Bed is very comfortable. Bathroom is clean and modern. Free internet access. The pool and hot tub are nice as well. Very nice hotel for the money. We've been here twice now and both times, the hotel has been excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpongonis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank You for your review and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    148
    83
    20
    20
See reviews for
89
56
40
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

First of all, we booked our room at an amazing rate for this hotel through Hotwire. It is a big, beautiful place, very convenient to Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Our room seemed recently renovated and was just beautiful. The bathroom is a wee bit teeny but I LOVED the higher counter on the vanity. The bed was firm which I find comfortable, lots of fluffy down-like pillows, nice flat screen TV. We were even next to the elevator shaft and not far from the pool, and I didn't think it was distractingly noisy.

The Landings restaurant was very good and our waitress was excellent and very accommodating. The only bad thing at the restaurant was the pretzel dippers but ours were just too well done. The snickers cheesecake is wonderful.

The folks at check in were very nice and respectful - one of our keys didn't work but this seems to be a curse of mine so I can't get irritated.

The pool/hot tub area is not real glamorous, but it is convenient and both felt great. The pool tile could stand to be scrubbed. The towels could be about four times bigger.

And the only other annoying thing was the water when I showered - I can't tell if it's too hard or too soft or what, but it was very hard to rinse soap off and feel clean.

This was a surprisingly great stay overall and a great value for us. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpongonis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank You for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlee, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza while in town for GenCon. Having "Airport" in the title is slightly misleading because it turns out the hotel is near the OLD airport, not the new one, which is now in use. It's a good 10 minutes' ride from the new airport, and 15 min or so from downtown.

The Crowne Plaza website told us that there was a complimentary shuttle within an 8 mile radius, which is the main reason why we chose it. However, it turns out that the hotel policy is to only make runs to the airport and back, not to downtown. That made getting back and forth between the hotel and the convention center downtown expensive and time-consuming. The Green Line bus does run from the airport to the downtown area, but it's $7 each trip and then you still have to wait for the hotel shuttle to take you to the stop or pick you up. ALSO, and this is important: the website says that the airport shuttle is 24-hour, but in reality it only runs every half-hour on off hours (like very late at night or early in the morning), so unless you plan accordingly, you run a very real risk of missing a flight if you happen to be trying to get to the airport at, say, 5am!!!!

Our room was very nice, very clean, and exceedingly comfortable. The shower was GREAT, the mini coffee-maker in the room was most appreciated, and the lobby was very pretty. However, the front-desk staff was less than helpful on most occassions, the room service was severely overpriced for the quality of food that we got, and if you're in one of the rooms toward the lobby-end of the halls, the noise from the pool can be excessive.

All in all, our stay wasn't terrible, but as the week wore on we started to get frustrated with the inconvenience of the location, especially with having to tote around lots of heavy stuff for the Con.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ealachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpongonis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Spent 4 nights here. It's an older hotel, but still has the full service and amenities you expect from a Crowne Plaza. It's easy to get to from the highway and there was plenty of parking. We got a good rate via Hotwire, which they honored without comment. We got a smaller room I think, but it was clean and spacious enough for sleeping which was all we really needed. Housekeeping could have been better, some counter surfaces did not get wiped down, and they do not change sheets unless you request it. Only heard planes one night when due to stormy weather they used an alternate runway. Otherwise it was very quiet. There is *nothing* near the hotel other than more hotels, no food or shopping nearby so you have to drive if you want dinner out or need a drug store. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpongonis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We were just passing through the area and had a stressful driving experience. Just needed a comfortable bed and a good night's sleep. Found this hotel online and liked what it had to offer. It was close to the expressway and on the way.

Although close to the airport, we did not have problems with noisy planes. The room was clean, well appointed and the beds were so comfortable. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Only problem we had was we got confused and took the wrong turn as we exited the expressway.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galupcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpongonis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We're searching for a hotel we can stay at every year for the Indy 500 and this won't be it. Tiny bathrooms. Fuzzy tv stations and only 33 channels and only one movie channel. Shuttle won't go downtown. Room service breakfast was overpriced and terrible quality. Worst room service breakfast I've ever had. Stopped both mornings for coffee at the coffee shop, and both times it was hard to get someone to help us. When they did, the service was bad. Met one very friendly man at the front desk but one rude unhelpful woman. The pool is small and has a sterile environment - no plants or decorations. No fridge in the room. Internet was free but slow. Room was clean and cleaning staff was good. Noisy air conditioner in the room kept us awake. Overall, I know we can do much much better than this.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uww326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpongonis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you for the review and your business. We take all guest feedback serious and will use your comments to better our hotel and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza the last few times that I have been in Indianapolis, and I love it. The hotel has been newly renovated, and looks beautiful. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The beds in the rooms are very comfortable. Even though the hotel is near a fed-ex flight path, the noise of the planes did not bother me at all. The next time that I am in Indianapolis I will difinitely stay at the Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Indianapolis Airport
Courtyard Indianapolis Airport
#61 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis Airport Executive Drive
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Indianapolis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
#16 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Indianapolis West
Wyndham Indianapolis West
#79 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis A...
#91 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport
Address: 2501 S High School Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46241-4919 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Welcome to the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport hotel!The Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport Hotel is located just minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport (IND) and offers free airport shuttle service.Our Indianapolis Airport hotel is a smoke-free full-service, atrium style hotel & conference center featuring free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel & versatile conference space, including an amphitheater & symposium. For casual dining enjoy American cuisine in The Landing Restaurant. When time is of the essence, try A Cup Above Coffee Bar & Bakery proudly pouring Starbucks Coffee or order through room service from 6 AM to 11 PM. Need to exercise? Our top notch fitness center & indoor heated pool await you. Located 8 miles from downtown & many nearby attractions, such as the Indiana Convention Center, Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis Museum of Art, the Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Zoo & Circle Centre Mall. Come experience simplified elegance and unparalleled level of service at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Crowne Plaza
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing