We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Close Stay to Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
Ranked #138 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with easy access to the interstate which it makes it convenient to downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. The pool can use more seating and towels, but to be fair the hotel was very busy the night we were there. The only negative is that the eggs were terrible. Eggs are my sons favorite food and he absolutely would not eat them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kubbylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 599 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were just in Indy for a dance competition and stayed here as it was close to where our event was taking place. Since I am not familiar with the Indy area, I can't attest as to whether it is located in a "good" or "bad" neighborhood. I can tell you that it is located right off the interstate and there are other hotels in the vicinity. The check-in process was smooth, all staff friendly, courteous, and accommodating. Our room on the third floor was very clean, had a refrigerator, microwave, and flat screen tv. The beds were very comfortable.
The continental breakfast had a very good variety of items and everything we had was fresh. In addition, they serve coffee all-day long. Although Bob Evans is the closest restaurant, the highway it's on has a Wendy's, Subway, all the usual suspects within a mile or two. In addition, any basic GPS will show you the restaurants that are nearby - Texas Roadhouse, Red Lobster, etc. They may not be 5-star celebrity-chef restaurants, but they are an alternative to fast-food.
I would stay here again

Room Tip: I rated Kids activities Average only because N/A was not available but I don't think they had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

After reading some of the reviews below I now see why I was treated the way I was. I later found out it is a franchised location so you'll never get the same Hilton level of service. It stands to reason if it is smelly, nasty with bedbugs and in "the hood", management would strong arm you into keeping a reservation with them.
My story, I flew in this week from CA, instead of the using red eye on Sunday I chose to fly in all day on Monday and arrived a 1:30AM. It had snowed; there was only one lane which hadn't quite iced over (passable). No salt trucks out just sparced traffic, slow white knuckling 30 + miles to the North End. I got lost, yes even with GPS (those of us who have worked in INDY know that it not quite right). I stopped on 82nd St. and Shadeland near the Hilton I'd stayed at the week before, behold a Hampton Inn near across the street. At the front desk called this location to get help with directions. The person at the front desk admitted she was not good with directions. I ask her to change my reservation to the location I was currently calling from and she said she could not because they are not affiliated. By this time it is 2:17AM. She said if I didn't come check in she would leave a note for the gen’l manager but there was no guarantee she would not charge me for the room anyway. I explained to her I was lost, the streets are bad, GPS is off. She seemed unyielding so since this is corp. travel I cannot have anything like this on my expense report. (fees and the likes) I will try again. I left location at 82nd and Shadeland got back on 465 tried again. After another 45mins I called this location again from a very bad neighborhood (gas station) people hangin out...scary for a female at this time of the AM. I told employee (who never give their names, call now you'll see what I mean), I told her I tried, please do leave the note for your GM "Christy", I am afraid and I trust she will understand, if not I will have to deal with it later but, I have got to get back to safety. I went back to the other location on 82nd and finally checked in at 3:23AM so I did give it the old college try. Well, I got charged for the room anyway. I have called “Christy” every other day since and she has yet to return my call. Today, I finally turned it over to the credit card company to handle since she does not know the difference between a no show and a life threatening situation or inclement weather conditions which both impeded my ability to check into their lovely establishment. WHAT A NIGHTMARE! Never again. From now on I will drive the area the week prior, if it is seedy no way… but who can predict bed bugs and nasty customer service? I'm telling you don't trust your corporate website alone. Take a look at reviews first, drive the location, and then decide. I work for a major corp. and travel weekly. I have never experienced anything like this before and I will certainly let corp. business affairs know they should consider removing this location from the contract negotiated/preferred hotel list. Negotiating a lower rate is one thing, placing employees in harms way of getting killed in a drug infested area is quite another.

Room Tip: Rooms located on a different (corporate) property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkins C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The good news is that this Hampton is out of the frenzy of Indianapolis and the staff is very accommodating. The bad news is that the rooms are smaller and much less well appointed than comparably rated Hamptons, the neighborhood is sketchy and the best choice for a meal nearby was Bob Evans. For this, even with our AAA discount, we paid more than other 3*** Hamptons. We expect better from the chain - and this is the first time in our three years of being Gold HH members that we've been disappointed. The lesson - check hotel site and neighborhood offerings more carefully.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brufound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We found out on Thursday that a car we wanted was in but only thing was it was 808 miles from home. After doing Mapquest we figured out that Indianapolis, IN would be the closest stop for us. When we stopped and checked in I signed the papers and then went to finish my unloading the car. when we laid down on the bed it was like I melted into the bed and fell asleep instantly. I haven't sleep well for months due to medical reasons and now I slept 7 hours straight through. zzzzzz. We both said if we go to stay again it would definately be at the Hampton Inn because of comfort and polite staff at the desk and breakfast was overwelming with the huge selection. We are staying at another tonight now.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed at this location for a business trip for three nights. During my stay I experienced service that was not up to par with any other hotel locations I've stayed at in the past. The front desk was rude, the amenities were average at best, housekeeping did a poor job and the response from their regional office was very unprofessional. The biggest frustration of all was when I used their business center computers which were loaded with pornographic content, in which the response I received was "we have no control over the material our guests look at". Shame on the staff and management at this hotel, never again!

Room Tip: Find another location, it's worth the extra money and there is a nice Holiday Inn Express across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family stayed in two rooms for three nights in August, 2011. We chose this hotel because we like the Hampton Inn properties. Check in was smooth and welcoming--a good first impression. The rooms seemed smaller than other HI's. Both rooms had a fridge and a microwave oven. The beds were very comfortable with three pillows on each bed and a wonderful duvet. There was a closet and a desk with a comfortable chair. The bathroom was small, but there was plenty of storage space below the sink. Water pressure in the shower was good and the water was hot. The fitness room had four pieces of equipment, but I never had to share the room with anyone else. The pool and hot tub are inside, so the room was very warm. HI's include breakfast in the cost of the room, and there was a nice choice of foods, including a hot egg dish, boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, dry cereals, oatmeal, make your own waffles and assorted breads. There was also a choice of juices and great coffee. The only problem with breakfast was a lack of seating. There were four tables for two people each, and a larger, taller table which would seat seven or eight. I don't believe there is room for more tables, but it is disheartening to come for breakfast and there is no place to sit. There is a Bob Evans Restaurant across the parking lot from the hotel, which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#99 of 186 in Indianapolis
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#106 of 186 in Indianapolis
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#103 of 186 in Indianapolis
75 reviews
7.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - Sout...
#109 of 186 in Indianapolis
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East

Address: 2311 N Shadeland Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1700 (Formerly Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $62 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing