We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, delicious free breakfast, happy hour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown
Ranked #101 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We've stayed here twice, for several days at a time. This is a great hotel choice in downtown Indy, but does have a few inconveniences because of its location in the city. It's nice to have a family-friendly option downtown....one that includes free breakfast.

Pros: great government rate; king suites are HUGE, with a door between the bedroom and the living room; there's a counter and sink in the king bedroom; nice little dining table, fridge, and kitchenette sink...yes these rooms have 3 sinks!!; great location in downtown Indy; good view from the higher floors; outstanding free breakfast; free happy hour; free coffee; friendly staff; connected to the mall and can get to many other downtown sites without having to walk outside; Weber Grill and Panera are attached; Embassy Suites have the best-smelling little bottles of lotion!!; downtown Indy is safe and you can walk just about anywhere;

Cons: have to pay for parking; parking garage is narrow and doesn't exactly seem safe.... you need to periodically check your vehicle ; parking garage elevator area needs some improvements; entry way from the street is not convenient, as you have to walk up MANY steps; hard to maneuver luggage on a narrow escalator; wifi is NOT free in the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is well located in the city and is perfect for business people. Rooms and beds are good, but I always find it funny to have a window on the hallway side. Breakfast could be a bit better, the place is a bit dark in the morning and there isn't much choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Booked the penthouse suite with a balcony three months in advance. Received a call two days prior to arrival to say they were overbooked and that I would have to take a non-balcony room. The gentlemen who called was pleasant and said he would comp us a couple of movies and some other crap. No big deal, just can't see how you can overbook a hotel room that I paid for in advance with no option for cancelation. We show up and the room was as originally booked, not sure what happened, no one said a word. This room which cost me $750 for two nights was far from impressive, badly needs a remodel job. The master closet door was falling off the track, the safe was locked, the master bedroom TV volume would work intermittently and the master toilet wouldn't flush........nice. The balcony door lock was broken so they had a bar to pry against the frame to secure it. A nice amenity of the penthouse is the skylights but in this case they were filthy with an added makeshift, water stained, Plexiglas panel over the bottom of it. This room had a kitchenette with a dining table, the table had huge bubbles in it from water damage. Some light bulbs were out and the ones that worked were so dim from dirt it was hard to see. Another amenity of this penthouse suite is the balcony, or so we thought. Directly below is the Weber Grill restaurant so we were bathed in grilling smoke while on the balcony, how romantic. The room seemed dirty, old and musty, won't be back. Great location downtown but not even close to the Conrad across the street which we stayed at earlier this year.

Room Tip: Try the Conrad across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonKov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback. We were obviously very disappointed to read of the issues you encountered and I assure you that we will address the concerns you had immediately. We always pride ourselves on providing a clean and well maintained property and I assure you that anything other than these conditions is not typical of our hotel's product or services.

We have recently renovated 50% of our standard guest room suites within the past year and plan to continue these renovations into the near future, including penthouse suite renovations. I would be more than happy to invite you back to our hotel to show you that your past experience is not a typical reflection of our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience.

Kind regards,

Mark Brown
Assistant General Manager
(317)236-1906
Mark.A.Brown@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I'll start with my only complaint of the hotel, parking. Parking charge of $20 per day. I know that it is downtown but paying for parking is not fun.

The hotel is in a great location. The Colts Grille, (awesome burgers) and the Weber Grill are in the hotel. You are within walking distance to Lucus Oil Stadium and the Pacers Stadium. Tons of great bars and great places to eat within walking distance. You are right in the middle of downtown. I'm a huge fan of the free breakfest and the manager's reception at Embassy hotels and both were great here. The rooms were updated and clean. We paid a little more to stay here due to the brand and the location and we are so glad that we did. Customer service was good. The pool was small but for some reason its like that at every Embassy Suites hotel. This is my new Indianapolis hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjp644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear JJP644:

Thank you so much for your excellent review of the Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown. We are thrilled that you were as excited about our location as we are. We truly are right in the heart of everything. Also, thanks for letting me know about the burgers at Colts Grille. I have eaten there several times, but never tried the burgers. I will do so soon! Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites. We look forward to your return!

Shelley Maher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was somewhat skeptical of doing a Marriage Seminar in Indianapolis, but with so many restaurants, the night life, the mall, and the many cultural attractions, we booked it. I am so glad we did! We contracted the meals, which are outstanding. This evening we had the most delicious pot roast and the key lime pie fantastic. The manager's reception with complimentary cocktails is a very nice touch. Although the inside of the building is older, the managment keeps a fresh coat of new on everything. So, the hotel has character, but is a thourougly maintained and up to date environment. There are other venues that would have been good for couples with children, but we had them leave the kids at home, so it was perfect. Kudos to the Embassy Suites staff who went out of their way to exceed our expectations. The only drawback is the parking, which is about what you might expect for a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Very nice views from the upper balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooster_Whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear r-me-chap-e

We are very pleased to see that the Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown served as a great location for your marriage retreat. We know that you have many downtown hotel options and venues, so thank you for allowing us to host this event. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our great food, Manager's reception and stellar location. We hope to have the opportunity to host other events for you in the future.

Shelley Maher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We drove to this Embassy suites and had a little trouble finding it at first. There is just a small E next to a huge theatre next door. There is a ramp leading up to the hotel.

We went to the desk to check in we were three people staying in one suite. The guy at the front desk said something about our "second room". I let him know we only booked ONE room. He said he would cancel it but acted like it might not really be taken care of since I booked on Expedia. (actually I booked on Kyak but whatever). I called Kayak and they said the hotel HAD taken care of it. So no harm no foul but I did feel like the guy at the front desk was just treating me like "you booked through someone else so go work it out with them". Not a good first impression.

The main lobby is pretty impressive with a great huge skylight with glass elevators all around. The room was clean and nice. Everything seemed pretty new and comfortable.

We took advantage of the pool and hot tubs. (they have 2 of them) Very nice small pool with a skylight. We enjoyed it.

The free happy hour from 5 to 7 was great. The free breakfast was also great. (It was the reason we chose Embassy Suites) :)

The hotel is very close to so many good (if chain) restaurants - Weber Grille, Champs etc and right by a movie theatre and walking distance from the beautiful downtown capitol building and monuments. (cute downtown)

Kid friendly hotel - kids were in the pool and were given coloring items during breakfast etc.

The strangest thing about this hotel is that it's right by the Weber Grill - the smell of grilling meat FILLS the hotel. (except in the rooms) Every time you are in the lobby or in the elevator or outside your room you smell grilling meat. We love grilling meat so it just made us hungry, we were there during a fire fighters convention and they didn't seem to mind either. However if you were a vegetarian or vegan or somehow against the grilling of meat - you would be miserable.

Parking was $20 a day and in this parking garage attached a very narrow very busy parking garage. It's kinda crappy and should be free if you ask me.

When we got our bill they said we purchased $16 worth of movies - we didn't watch any movies - they took this off our bill immediately. Check out experience was much nicer than check in.

The service of the bartenders, the people at breakfast etc was very good.

Overall it was a nice place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great aspects:
Hot breakfast
Nicely designed Suites
Microwave
Fridge
Comfy Bed

Not So Great:
On my 3rd night, I returned after a full day of meetings and at 4:45 my room had not been serviced.
Made to Order breakfast line was way too long
Front staff talked on the phone rather than take care of me at check -in

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HpyCampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#14 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,806 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown

Address: 110 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $140 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many Indianapolis attractions. The new Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse are both just blocks away from our downtown Indianapolis hotel. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is just 6 miles from the hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations offer the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary manager's reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing