We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little bar and food is steller!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boathouse Grill

Boathouse Grill
Ranked #945 of 2,339 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little bar and food is steller!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We love coming here! They the absolute BEST clam chowder over any other place around! The grilled chicken wrap is fabulous and asked for it cajun! Wow, you can't beat it! Watch out though, their portions are huge and can feed two!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twingrls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regulars are welcome here...but that's all!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Thought since this was a small independent place near our home it would be good to support and possible find a regular hang out. Upon entering...no one greets or acknowledges you. There is no sign to tell you to seat yourself or wait..but as I was trying to see if there was an empty booth I did get the waitress to snip at me that 'all booths were full.' No help on where to sit just that. Got same snippy waitress to take order who seemed impatient that I ask for beer menu. Tried to upsize to larger table that appeared empty but then the barkeep had her opportunity to snip at me to by yelling at me from behind bar that "the table is taken, he is outside smoking". They both did seem friendly to a. men and b. regulars. How one would become a regular a such a crabby place I do not know? On the upside, my sandwich was good. Farewell to the Boathouse Grill...I think it is taking on water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 219Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a bar with an emphasis on food. Slightly sports bar. Lunch time so offerings were mostly sandwiches. I do not know if they have a separate dinner menu.
The service and presentation is above average.
Had signature BLT. Double decker on Texas Toast. Looked yummy. Bacon leaked out the sides of both layers.
Tomato present in possibly decent quantity, but I couldn't tell because the sandwich was smothered in shredded lettuce. Overwhelmingly so. The bread and lettuce dominated the flavor of even the ample bacon.
Pedestrian sides.
Looked at other dishes as they came out of the kitchen. All looked good and ample.
Do not avoid this place. Good for a quick in'n'out bite. Cannot recommend a special trip though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Like going there, everyone friendly and love the food. I like the atmosphere with everything to look at. The wings and burgers are great but they have a more elaborate menu than that. Sure is a good one to try.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always crowded, good lunch place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Yes this is a local bar with a popular owner who is often in house. Small restaurant always crowded. They have recently added an outdoor dining area. We have only been for lunch. Cold beer and good club sandwiches.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indygirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing