We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmoshphere, So So Food”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #197 of 2,379 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Abuelo's invites you to experience the incredible flavors of Mexico, combining homemade cooking with rich flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmoshphere, So So Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We ate there last night after having received a gift card from some friends. The atmoshpere of the restaurant is very neat and has a lively feel to it, but the food was nothing to get excited about. The complimentary chips and salsa were some of the worst I have had in the city and I love chips and salsa. Better to get a bag of Kroger chips and salsa from the store than these. The enchiladas we got were ok but nothing special. I must say that I will not head back to this place as there are many other Mexican restaurants in the city that are a better place to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bballfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly help, OK food”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Abuelo's is just at the cusp of being very good. I was in Indianapolis for an evening, was told by knowledgeable hotel staff down the road that it was very good Mexican, so I came in on a very slow Sunday evening and had a decent meal.

The most impressive part of the evening was not the food, but the staff. The hostess was smiling and gracious as she led us to our table. Our server, Jonda, was absolutely top notch. Not only was she able to offer me suggestions about the meal, but bent over backwards to make sure that I received exactly what I wanted.

Guacamole appetizer was on point, chunks of guac, with tomato, not spicy. I asked (and received) a plate of the larger tortilla chips that made the dipping easier.

I had the mixed fajita plate. Chicken was perfectly cooked, but the onions/peppers were seared to the bottom of the iron skillet, making it difficult to include in a wrap. The stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon were small and slightly over done, but filling and tasty.

My partner had the tilapia, which was fresh and flaky. The sauce spicy and appropriate. The mixed vegetable side was a bit soggy.

Beers were half priced and on tap. Good. Margueritas in a shaker were good, but seemed to lack enough tequila for a real kick. Bad..

The portions are large, the service spectacular, the food filling, but not stellar. A cut above your average Mexican fare.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mr8tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“More TexMex than Mexican”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Excellent service and food. You can get more authentic Mexican for a lot less in Indy, but not with this nice of an atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PastorMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“frequent happy diner”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I visit this place often and have never been disappointed in any way. Queso is yummy. Salsa is nicely flavored. Many options, great prices. Servers are always extremely friendly, you never have to get their attention because they are attentive. Happy environment.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosieropinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you like Mexican / Tex Mex, this place is good. I really love their dips. they have what's called aSangria Swirl which is combo frozen Sangria and Margarita which is great. Of course they have unlimited chips and salsa, but make sure to try the food - burritos, tacos, or fajitas. Everything I've had is good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing