We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Story About Long's Donuts”
Review of Long's Bakery

Long's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 57 Dessert in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A True Story About Long's Donuts”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A well-known, now deceased NASCAR driver, who is considered an icon in the sport, complained to Indy sportswriters at the inaugural Brickyard 400 that Indianapolis had no Krispy Kreme outlets at the time (the city does now). One of Indy's racing columnists told the NASCAR driver that Indy had something better than Krispy Kremes. The driver scoffed. The next day, the racing columnist dropped off a box of Long's legendary donuts at the Childress garage for the driver. From that day on, the driver was a believer. Whenever he came to Indy, he made sure he got some Long's donuts. You will be a believer too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,343
    206
    59
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Doughnuts to go”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Melt in your mouth doughnuts, but I didn't realize there were no seats. Its a long line for a quiet weekday morning, so you know it's good. They have cakes, cookies and cupcakes too!! It's like a doughnut factory with a small counter up front where. They sell doughnuts

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Donuts in Indianapolis”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This bakery lives up to the hype. They have the best donuts in Indy by far! My favorite are the white cream filled caramel donuts. The yeast donuts are excellent, too. Don't forget...they ONLY TAKE CASH!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
214 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Donuts”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoy sweets and stopped at Long's from all the great reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed! We got cream sticks and glazed donuts and they were delicious and fresh even at 2 in the afternoon. Not a lot of parking so we had to navigate for a minute for a parks g spot. If you like sweets and are in Indy, this is a must stop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in show!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been to 5 continents, and Long's are the best donuts I have ever had hands down. If you have breakfast meeting and are responsible for the food, you can't go wrong here. However, get there early cause there might be a line out of the door

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TYSON P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Long's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing