We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Good”
Review of Long's Bakery

Long's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 57 Dessert in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heavenly Good”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's a must stop if you love donuts. Saw many reviews and an article in a magazine about this place and they are all right on the money. Everything so far has been delicious and the pies are amazing! Had pumpkin, apple and peach so far and they are just like grandma use to make. They don't last very long.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisapleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,403
    217
    60
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great donuts!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a romantic getaway and on the way home we decided that we had to try this bakery that was rated #1 on TripAdvisor, and boy and I so glad we did!

We found plenty of close parking, went in, looked at what they had and purchased a dozen donut holes, a fried cinnamon roll/honey bun thing, and a cream cheese danish. In total it was less than $5!

When I put the first donut in my mouth, I instantly knew why they had such a high rating! They were amazing! The donuts melted in my mouth lol. My husband said the danish was very creamy and the best he has ever had! The cinnamon fried thing I had was delicious! The cinnamon flavor was just barely there, not over powering and just right.

If you’re in Indianapolis and have a love for donuts and such, make the trip to Longs, you wont be disappointed!

A few things to consider, they only take cash, and they do have a small selection of donuts, but still very good and worth trying!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,293 reviews
708 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“#1, really?”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is not the #1 restaurant in Indianapolis. The doughnuts were fine but nothing amazing. They have a rather limited selection of doughnuts (no fritters or long johns) focusing on simple styles. Cash only, limited parking and no place to eat inside. Very nice staff. I would eat their doughnuts again but wouldn't go out of my way to get them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Good!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

There is nothing like a warm Longs yeast doughnut. It is like a piece of heaven! This is an absolute must have!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were in Indy for the Big10 Championship and wanted a place for breakfast that was rated on TripAdvisor. Long's was #1. Since we were needing a place on a Sunday, I called to see if they were open. The more appropriate question is..."When aren't you open?" We were surprised by people lined outside the bakery waiting their turn. The street was lined with cars - there's no parking lot. The prices were very reasonable. The yeast donuts were warm and fantasic. We purchased both a large and a baby gator! They have this chocolate covered item that is their version of the Hostess Ho Ho. I was missing my Ho Ho's, so I had to try it!

Bring cash and expect to wait in line. The prices and the wait are worth the experience. However I'm not sure I'd categorize this as a "restaurant" as there are no tables and chairs. It's a walk-up to the counter food service provider.

The other patrons were more than willing to give recommendations. It's apparent they go there frequently!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank like2travel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Long's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing