We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Soup Inn
Nearby Hotels
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$166
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$189
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Severin Hotel(Indianapolis)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Alexander(Indianapolis)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$279
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JW Marriott Indianapolis(Indianapolis)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
35
19
11
7
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
19
11
7
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone soupshared bathroomloft roommass avethe blue roomother guestsbreakfast was deliciousjacuzzi tubour honeymoonnwdowntownkeyaccommodationsfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 94 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in one of the loft rooms for 3 nights. The room was comfortable. Neat loft area for bedroom. Also had kitchen and dining area.
Hot breakfast on Sunday was stellar. Tom the innkeeper was great and very accommodating. Location was close to downtown and active nightlife. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a great stay. The welcoming atmosphere, clean and authentic style and wonderful hotel owner/manager (Tom) really made my stay in Indianapolis fantastic. I will certainly stay here again next time I visit Indianapolis. Tom is the best and they'll take great care of you at Stone Soup Inn!

Room Tip: The Lily room was very nice!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evanantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Highly recommend this B&B. The accommodations are charming. Great location. Minutes drive to Mass Ave. Located in nice residential neighborhood. Breakfast was delicious and the service was spectacular. Will go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We like period places and this one fits the bill as you are transported visually to earlier times. Pictures on the wall of people in the early 1900's will live on as they and antiques are everywhere.

We stayed in the Victorian Room on the second floor and were very comfortable with a large closet and plenty of amenities. This room has a shared bath but we were there on a Sunday and Monday night and noone else was in the adjoining room who would share. Other rooms have their own bathrooms.

The house is very clean and welcoming with common areas (lounges and porches) on the first and second floor. It is air conditioned throughout which is a blessing on hot summer days.

There are two 'sister properties' nearby that have a fitness center and a spa that is available to those at Stone Soup Inn.

There is off-street parking, a healthy breakfast and a very cordial innkeeper. Flowers abound on the outside and the neighborhood is quiet and secure. Prices are reasonable and we found it quite charming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The location of this B&B is awesome -tucked way in a turn of the century house in historic North Indy. Great walking areas, convenient to downtown either by bus that stops right on the corner, a short, inexpensive taxi ride, or a nice 30 minute stroll. The room was clean and check-in was smooth. Phenomenal water pressure. However, it really is the little things that matter - and this B&B needs to get a handle on those little things.......no soap in the bathroom for showering, no water in the snack center (although stocked with plenty of sodas), a better set up in the dining room (they have a huge room with a huge table that only seats six - and since they serve both buffet style, from the kitchen, and off the table, it really makes it awkward for folks who aren't at the table. This room could very easily accomodate 4 or 5 four person tables that would allow everyone to sit down for breakfast and not have to go outside. While personable, the innkeeper really needs to be cleaned up a bit - his hair was never combed and his clothes looked VERY casual and a bit drab - you got the idea he literally rolled out of bed and came to work. I had also been told the property would be more than happy to arrange a taxi for me, but when I inquired, was given the phone number to call (which is fine, I am self sufficient - but don't say you provide a service you don't). Additionally, there is a DVD Library (which really is a large VHS library with a few DVDs) but there is no where in the house I could find with a DVD player or a VHS player to actually use this amenity. There was no player in my room nor were there any TV's in any of the common area spaces, so you have to ask yourself what the point is. Overall, if you are looking for a place to crash at a reasonable price, go for it - but don't expect the basics. Additionally, while I also realize this is a historic home, it needs to be refreshed somewhat with more period items and decor, just really needs some TLC.

Room Tip: The blue room has the AC vent under the bed, so if it is open, you need to sleep on the other end of the bed and if not, the room is really hot.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews