We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing more or less” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Soup Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Soup Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Indianapolis B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing more or less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in dozens of B and Bs. The Stone Soup Inn was okay, nothing outstanding in either a bad or a good way. Our "loft" room (read: "attic") looked a bit Spartan, but the queen bed was memory foam and very comfortable, and the bathroom had a lot of space to spread your toiletries out on, which is always appreciated. Be warned, though, that the water pressure was practically nonexistent. Also, there were no extra pillows or blankets in the room. There was, bizarrely, what I took at first to be a little lap blanket thrown over the armchair, but it turned out to be just a couple yards of brown, upholstery-type fabric! What the heck?! We ended up throwing it over the curtain rod (which only had thin white cotton curtains) to darken the room. Which, I guess, is what it was for, but--gee, why not provide shades??

It is a pretty house, and the public rooms and porches are very attractive. Everything was clean and quiet. The breakfast was good. There's only space for maybe half the guests to eat at one time, though. We had to hover around downstairs waiting for someone to get up and leave the dining room, which really doesn't make anyone feel comfortable, them or us.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms looked very attractive. The attic rooms are less expensive, and ours looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keranded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    9
    5
    18
See reviews for
8
29
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location was easy to find, clean, and comfortable. It is just a quick drive to downtown Indianapolis and Mass Ave (with lots to do). Breakfast in the morning is delicious and filling, and staff members were very helpful in assisting us with things to do in the city. Some details are outdated (for example, their "DVD library" is really a VHS library with a few DVDs), but that adds to the charm and character of the place. Overall, we enjoyed this lovely, quaint place to stay in Indianapolis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I set up a reservation through the front desk for a local event. I did this against my better judgement as when I initially called the receptionist put me on hold several times and disconnected my call before finally making the reservation. I had a question about their refund policy because the event that I made the reservations for was tentative, the performer has been making a lot of cancellations recently. I was told that if you cancel outside of seven days you get a full refund. About a week later I had to cancel my reservation because the event was cancelled and I saw that the amount refunded was different from the amount I paid. I called to ask why, explained what I was told and read the refund policy in the email (which reads that a 15% service charge is issued if cancellation is made within 7 days of reservation date) and was told that the charge was actually issued any time a cancellation was made. Not a huge deal, but instead of apologizing for the misunderstanding when I explained the person I spoke with had told me differently, the receptionist basically called me a liar by saying "THEIR people would NEVER say that," and proceeded to rudely explain how the refund policy is on the website and that the inn interprets the refund policy differently than how I read it. So why did the original receptionist say differently? I was getting nowhere with the receptionist so I posted a dissatisfied comment on their facebook page and instead of addressing the issue, acknowledging the poor customer service or apologizing, they deleted the comment and blocked me from sending them a message or leaving a comment.

Honestly, the service charge wasn't a big deal- the fact that she was blatantly rude, the original receptionist disconnected my call twice and the inn seems comfortable ignoring and removing bad reviews rather than addressing the problem is a guarantee that I won't go back and have recommended to any friends not to attempt the establishment. If customer service is this bad before you get in the door, I can't imagine what it's like when you're there. The entire reason I chose that inn over a big box hotel was the hospitality standards that are an expectation of this kind of establishment. Unfortunately, Stone Soup Inn doesn't seem to worry about bothering with proper customer service. This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and will probably be my last as at least I know that I can expect proper customer service from a big box hotel. Sad that local businesses are letting big business do it better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Lafayette Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Its all in the little things and how the host behaves. As in we could not locate a new roll of toilet paper in our room or in the bathroom in the hall. We resorted to taking a few rounds from the hall bathroom, not wanting to create the same situation for other guests assigned to that hall bathroom.

Breakfast was rather terrible. A casserole with underbaked eggs and cheese with way too much bread. Six place settings and seats at the breakfast table and 12 guests - six waiting in line. The coffee ran out. Guests were grabbing coffee cups off the table and taking coffee to their rooms during our breakfast. One old man was running the place. He made conversation by saying that all people who lived in Indiana were from Kentucky; that he was missing his bible study and golf game because his wife was not there to help him; and his daughter who owned the place was going through a nasty divorce. Oh, he volunteered the dispute between his daughter and her husband was all about money and ego. It was really more than I wanted to know. It appeared that this old guy was recruited at the last minute on the weekend to run things and was releasing his frustration by spilling his guts to the guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMKLafayetteIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGTON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay here probably once a month or so for work. Location cannot be beat, food is very good, and the prices are competitive with most large hotels while maintaining a cozy, comfortable atmosphere. I am a big fan of the two shared bathroom rooms- the Victorian and the Craftsman. At $85 they are a steal, and perfect if you are traveling with a colleague. Free wifi, free incredible breakfast, free butler's pantry stocked with sodas, snacks, coffee, tea, cocoa. This place has become a home away from home in Indianapolis for both business and pleasure. Convenient to the restaurants, bars, and venues on Mass Ave, I really cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Craftsman and Victorian are good deals, especially if you are traveling with a friend or another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antennapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Stone Soup Inn was simply amazing! It was close enough for us park our car there and walk to most our destinations. We had dinner a bit later at Bru Burger and were able to get a taxi for less than ten dollars! The Inn keeper, Nate, was more than helpful with all our needs! We will never stay at a hotel again as long as The Stone Soup Inn is around!

Room Tip: The Victorian is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Happy-Travel3rerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I want to go back. It was so great. I will recommend this place to family and friends. The person in charge was very helpful when we had requests. The room was very nice (clean and spacious). The price was great. I thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the fireplace downstairs (common room) with my wine and book. The location is good and we felt safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#8 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,939 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Soup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Soup Inn

Property: Stone Soup Inn
Address: 1304 Central Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46202-2616
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Soup Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look to welcome new visitors to our city and have created a warm, friendly environment - a home away from home - where travelers can relax by a fire, share their experiences and sleep in comfort. Located in the heart of the historic Old Northside, the Stone Soup Inn offers all the beauty and comfort of an upscale turn of the century home. After stepping into the large foyer, relax by the baby grand piano in the living room or cuddle up with a good book in our library. All of these rooms contain beautifully detailed woodwork and hardwood floors. Breakfast will be served in our distinctive dining room or, weather permitting, on the large, wraparound porch. On the second floor, share stories with other guests in the sitting room or outside on the spacious balcony overlooking the front garden and Lilly pond. Decorated with a combination of Mission-style and Victorian-era antiques, guests will find a comfortable, convenient place to stay as they explore nearby historic sites and downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Soup Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Soup Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing