We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Harry and Izzy's

Harry and Izzy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry and Izzy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Cross street: Georgia
Description: Harry & Izzy's is an independent, upscale American Grill located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. Its ambiance exudes class and sophistication in a comfortable setting. While the lively bar is Harry & Izzy's focal point, unique dining rooms incorporate dark woods, lush fabrics and a deep color palette. This sister restaurant to the famous St. Elmo Steak House, shares a few classic dishes, while offering more menu variety. Open for lunch and dinner daily.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Restaurant has a very interesting layout. We enjoyed the food very much, the prime rib sandwich is amazing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelinWIGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    408
    145
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, IN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great Atmosphere. Try their Shrimp Cocktail (not for the faint of heart). Filet steak sandwich is excellent. Service is excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank travler47803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience downtown”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stopped in Harry & Izzy's for lunch service on a Sunday. The place was pretty empty when we got there at noon, as it had just opened. The food was delicious and the prices were about what we expected. The service was professional and friendly. Two of our group opted for a (I think it was $20), multi-course half sandwich & soup deal which also included 2 choices of either an appetizer, a salad and/or dessert. The prime rib sandwiches were melt-in-your-mouth goodness. The fresh-cut fries were perfectly browned. The shrimp cocktail was enjoyed by those in our group that ordered it, but beware because it is extremely spicy. They ended up requesting extra crackers and eventually daring each other to finish it. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halseyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MMM, great filet”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Made my first visit here a week before the Super Bowl. Great server, excellent filet, not too dense as they are so many places now. It's nice that the menu has sandwich items as well as full courses available. Family friendly but not swarming with kids.

Helpful?
Thank eyemdphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Review of Northside Location...Big Disappointment”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I went here for an early Valentine's Day celebration. We live in Indy and are huge fans of St. Elmo's but wow did something go wrong here. The only good thing was that they got our reservation right and we were promptly seated. This is a upscale steak/chop house (nothing less than $35) but they don't serve baked potatoes. Really, who wants fries with a top of the line steak? I ordered a wedge salad and it arrived with a yellow center. My entree was a blue cheese filet which was significantly under-cooked. The service was slow and not at all attentive. We poured our own wine from the bottle we bought most of the night. There are too many good restaurants in this area (Peterson's, Sullivan's, Flemmings) to waste another dime on this shabby imitation of a great steakhouse.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry and Izzy's also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Harry and Izzy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing