We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Ted's Montana Grill
Ranked #122 of 2,355 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ted's Montana Grill serves time-honored American favorites in an atmosphere inspired by the hospitality, food and spirit of the Old West. Our mission is to give guests a fresh, authentic and original experience with every visit. Ted's Montana Grill's made-from-scratch menu is known for our premium hand-cut steaks and gourmet burgers. The menu also offers a variety of time-honored favorites such as crab cakes, cedar plank salmon, daily soups, seasonal vegetables, and house-made desserts. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Poor Service”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Made reservations on a Friday before the Tuesday of our group dinner. When we arrived, there was no record or our reservation. They were able to seat us together because there happened to be enough tables. Drinks and dinner were promptly ordered. Service of dinner was disjointed and belated. Delayed checks arrived with items listed on the incorrect tabs, and required a redo. Server was apologetic and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhosYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!! POOR LIGHTING!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ted's is known for its bison and other great food. The bison chili alone is reason enough to come there. The bison chili is truly fabulous!! I don't eat red meat but I do like bison because it is lean. I also had trout for my entree. It was very nice.
They have separate menus for different parts of their servings. They stress the wine menu but I never did get a beer menu.. They had Sam Adams so I was satisfied.
They had a bison head on the wall. After a few too many Sam Adams, it winked at me.
This is a decent restaurant that every visitor to Indy should try. The only thing I found wrong with it was the low lighting. I think they might have been using 15 watt bulbs instead of stronger ones. That was the only thing wrong with the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VikingHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Upscale -- good food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had never eaten at this chain before but I was pleasantly surprised. It doesn't "feel" like a chain. Service was great and the food was top notch. I had fish and it was prepared and presented perfectly. Located in an upscale shopping complex.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke in
Level Contributor
117 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overpriced”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were there about 2 years ago, then 3 months ago. Nothing has gotten any better. The staff have too high an opinion of themselves and their food and drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been here several times and always like to visit Ted's when on the north side of town. I love the Bison Rib-eye! I have yet to find a dish here that I don't like, they are always friendly and I leave happy every time. Look forward to dining her again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILoveAddieRyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Montana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Montana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing