We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey environs for an affordable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Homey environs for an affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you do not absolutely have to stay in downtown Indianapolis, this is a great choice. The rooms are set up like furnished apartments, including a kitchen stocked with pans, dishes, cutlery, and a dishwasher. The full refrigerator even has an ice maker! Bed was decent, a little soft for my taste, but did have both foam and good feather pillows. Will definitely stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twdg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
39
27
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at the Candlewood Suites week of June 11 for a week long conference. I had a one bedroom suite...wow! It was huge! The suite had a full size fridge and kitchenette that was very convenient. No, it is not downtown but, the shuttle will take you where you want to go including the wine and grocery stores. They dropped us off at the University every morning and picked us up in the evening. They dropped me off to meet friends at an outdoor concert at the historical society. Very, very convenient. There is also a gazebo out back with grills.
Yes, the door to get into the lobby is a single door and that should probably be changed. It was hard to get through with a week's worth of luggage and groceries.
A special thanks to Dwayne at the front desk. He was always very pleasant and helpful.
A warning about GPS. You need to update your GPS as it doesn't like the address and will send you to another part of White River Pkwy. If concerned, call the hotel and they will give you an alternate address to plug into your GPS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is not downtown!!!! It is across the river and there is nothing within walking distance. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean, however cars were broken into each evening we stayed there. We will never stay here again, it is worth paying a premium to stay at a real downtown hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear DanB21,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. Please accept my apologies for the confusion regarding our hotel name and location. Your comments have been documented and this will be used to help us improve in the areas we may have fallen short.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. The set up of the rooms are so nice and the extra room because they were apartments is awesome. I didn’t realize how great the kitchen was until I stayed at another suite hotel that had no cabinets or drawers to put anything away. We had a one bedroom suite this time. I love having a separate room for sleeping so everyone does not have to go to bed at the same time. The bed was super comfy. I do wish that there was a way to muffle the noise from outside the room. The neighbor across the hall slammed their door no less than 10 times between 6 and 10pm. The other thing this hotel desperately needs is an automatic second door. The main doors open automatically but getting in that next single door with a cart full of luggage is next to impossible with just one person. The front desk did help but even just putting a handicapped opener on that door would make it work so much better if not adding a second set of double automatic doors. I was very disappointed when trying to check out that all four carts were gone. Going up and down from the 11th floor 4 times was not my idea of fun. I asked at the front desk and was told I should check the other building which we had already done. Not sure if people had them in their rooms or where they were. It was a Wednesday morning but I was told a lot of people were checking out. My husband did manage to find one just in time to bring down the cooler. Unfortunately we were about 20 minutes late hitting the road because of that. Most of the front desk staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Good service, nicely appointed suites, no lobby to speak of. Although it is described as city center - it isn't. There is nothing nearby - 2+ mile walk or a cab ride to the city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I probably would've given it a 5 had my checkin experience been better. I booked the childrens museum and zoo package,but when checking in I was informed that location doesn't normally participate in that promotion. I had to suggest to the clerk to try to get them from another hotel, and when the hotel she called said it would be at least one hour, I had to suggest she call another hotel so we could actually use the tickets that day. Once that problem was solved,room was very clean and spacious, store had reasonable prices,and location was close to everything but boardering on a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amylynn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We picked this hotel for its location, but everything is so close, and it's so easy to drive into the city, that it wasn't a huge issue.Although I guess if you're there for something big like the Superbowl, or are going back and forth to the hospital, the hourly shuttle would be a good thing. But otherwise, we were not terribly impressed. The rooms had a very bare-bones feel, and while they were good-sized, they didn't feel particularly comfortable. The bad part was that even though we were in a non-smoking room, it (and, indeed, the whole hotel) reeked of smoke. It got to be really irritating. We ended up moving to a hotel by the airport for our last night because we had an early flight, and were much more comfortable in a similar hotel that cost $65 a night less.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath84098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Cath84098,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist

Property: Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist
Address: 1152 N White River Pkwy West Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46222-5103 (Formerly Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Candlewood Suites in Downtown Indianapolis, Indiana Our extended stay hotel in downtown Indianapolis is near the Indianapolis International Airport, making travel to the hotel easy and convenient. Leisure travelers can appreciate our downtown Indianapolis hotel's close proximity to several local attractions. Eiteljorg Museum, the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and the Indiana State Museum offer history buffs the chance to soak up the heritage of Indiana. For sports enthusiasts, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Conseco Fieldhouse are just minutes from our hotel. The Indiana Zoo and White River State Park offer fun for the whole family. For business travelers, our hotel in downtown Indianapolis is near the Indianapolis International Airport and offers free high-speed Internet access, a Business Center and three meeting rooms. Nearby corporate locations include the IU Medical Center, the Indiana Convention Center and Simon Headquarters, while South Grove Golf Course offers a great place to unwind. This Indianapolis extended stay hotel offers you free high-speed Internet access and free local phone calls. Our standard guest rooms are the largest in Indianapolis. A Fitness Center, free self-laundry facilities, barbecue grills, a DVD/CD lending library and the Candlewood Cupboard, our miniature grocery store, offer unparalleled comfort and convenience. Call today to take advantage of our great Indianapolis hotel deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Dwtn Medical Dist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Candlewood Indianapolis
Indianapolis Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing