We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value; very clean; pleasant and efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South
Ranked #30 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good value; very clean; pleasant and efficient staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I paid about $90 plus taxes, etc. for a single room (not a suite). It was large, very clean, and looked new, even though from the reviews here it appears the hotel has been here for awhile. The TV worked fine, as did everything else in the room.

The exterior of the hotel is extremely well-kept; an employee was mowing and tidying up as I drove up. There was plenty of parking. The lobby space, hallways, and rooms are inviting.

The hotel is, as several have commented, very near the highway and near the airport. On the one hand, this is very convenient, close to 465 and 70. When turning from Kentucky Avenue, it's easy to miss Flight School Dr.; watch for the gazebo, which is immediately north of Flight School Dr. On the other hand, if you are bothered a lot by highway noise, you might want to stay elsewhere, or certainly request a room on the opposite side of the hotel at the time of your reservation or during your stay; one of the reviewers here seemed not to think of this until writing the review. I am a light sleeper, but I thought the windows were reasonably well insulated and the air conditioning is a little loud, which drowns out the highway noise, and it didn't bother me at all. Car lights at night aren't a problem, because you can pull the blackout draperies closed.

The staff was very pleasant and efficient. I requested something for my room (I don't want to give away my anonymity!) and it was brought up within minutes, and the employee refused a tip! I had the feeling that as long as the staff could accommodate your requests (and the hotel was not full when I was there) they would do so.

There is no room service, though the nearby Damon's delivers for lunch and dinner. This is mostly sports-bar type food, but if you don't want that and have a car, there are other places near enough.

I didn't try the pool or workout facilities, but there were other people enjoying both during my short stay. So whatever problems occurred as described by another reviewer here, were apparently rectified since then.

Several reviewers have commented on the breakfast that is included with the cost of your room and how much they enjoyed it. I'm not sure I would say it was distinctive. There was plenty to choose from, and if you like milk, cereal, muffins, etc., you'll be happy. But there was no hot food being served when I went at a very early weekend time. It appeared that you could get some prepared eggs and meat out of a refrigerator, and microwave them, if you wanted them. Maybe if it had been later there would have been an employee preparing and serving hot food. So I am not sure whether my different experience (compared with that described by other reviewers) occurred because of different perceptions of the same thing, or because of the unusual time, or because they have changed menus and policies, or something else.

Overall, a hassle-free hotel with all of the services and amenities most travelers need and want, but without a luxury hotel price. By comparison, I stayed a few months ago at another chain hotel (in a smaller city with a cost-of-living maybe just a tiny bit higher than Indy's) that had good reviews on the web. I paid 40% more, and had a much worse experience. So I think the Country Inn - Indy airport is a very good value and very well-run.

  • Liked — very clean and modern looking; very good staff
  • Disliked — food service (but it wasn't a problem; I just had to choose something)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ACWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    127
    59
    32
    15
See reviews for
212
89
24
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

My favorite place to stay near the indy Airport. They know me by name. Always friendly. The rooms are great and the morning buffet is plentiful with good seating. Love the cookies at the front desk.
The elegant lady who runs the buffet is very sweet and she really takes good care of her guests.

  • Liked — Country Bed and breakfast feel of the facility
  • Disliked — Right on the I-465 interstate on ramp
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank planelite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2007

What a terrible experience we had at the Country Inn and Suites at 5630 Flight School Drive in Indianapolis, IN. We specifically booked the hotel because of the availability of an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. Upon arrival on Saturday, July 14, 2007, we discovered the pool looked very cloudy and greenish in appearance with oil/film floating on it. We decided at that point we would not be using the pool or hot tub. We were very exhausted and tried to go to sleep early. We were on the fourth floor. There were children running up and down the hallways, shouting, jumping, making all kinds of noise. After several hours of this, I couldn't take it any longer. It was after 10p.m. I had to call the front desk who said they would send security up. We overheard the security officer tell a child that it was at least the second time he had caught the kid in the hallway and wanted to know where the mother was at. I assume he took care of the problem; however, we should not have had to endure this for any length of time.

In addition, we were in a non-smoking room; however, a few doors down were smoking rooms. The smoke smell from those rooms filled the hallways and we could smell it in our room. Ask if the floor you are on has smoking and non/smoking rooms on the same floor! This was awful. Also, the beds and furniture are all HARD.

The next morning, we noticed that there was a sign on the pool door stating it was closed. We heard from others talking that someone had left a present in the pool and in the hot tub and both had to be cleaned. YUK!!! Am I glad that I did not let my children go into the pool. This cleaning should not have waited until morning. It should have been noticed and taken care of right away.

I sent this review to the hotel direct today.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like2travel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnDirOfSales, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
I apologize for your bad experience years ago. Please be advised that we are now under new management. Every single day our pool is sparkling clean and our Maintenance supervisor is top notch and incredibly quick when it comes to responding to any issues. All groups with kids must sign and adhere to the hotel rules. I hope you will give our property another change in the future as it has completely changed. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suite Indy Airport South twice over the last week - once flying into town and then again flying out of town. Main draws are the cleanliness and the accommodating staff.

We love to stay at well-managed hotels because every aspect of the hotel makes for a pleasant stay. (Think about the hotels that work efficiently in the way that the employees are empowered to take care of running the hotel as if they were staying as a guest, maintenance in order as preventative routine instead of resulting from complaint, or employees seeking out issues before they turn into problems, for example.)

FACTS:
-Room is clean where you would expect it to be clean and clean in those "behind" or "under" places, as well. Floor in bathroom is cleaned all over and not only cleaned in the more traveled area; tub/shower and sink are also well taken care of.
-No sign of mold/mildew on any part of the bathroom.
-Sheets, pillows, covers, and bed not stained. Fresh smell on all bedding.
-Breakfast is complimentary. Waffle iron is the only noticeable hot food until you see the cheese omelettes and sausage links in the window-front refrigerator for guest microwaving as needed. Well-stocked in other breakfast food areas, too.
-24-hr airport shuttle availability makes for easy transportation to and from the airport (make them aware of your arrival/departure schedules)

OPINIONS:
-Oftentimes see hotels that have the lobby is well-maintained but not the rooms. This hotel has the rooms maintained as they should be. They truly must be looking out for their guests. YEA!!
-Breakfast has many choices, yet could even be more inviting if hot foods were all presented without having to warm up the eggs/sausage ourselves. This is a VERY minor issue, however. We would rather heat up our own eggs than put up with a mediocre hotel. This hotel was tops. For us, pre-warmed eggs/sausage didn't seem to matter one iota in this comparison.
-The people at this hotel make the difference. Since you have a choice where you stay (and pay a lot of money each night) stay where the people who work there make the difference!

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LOCATION.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, airport location/shuttle
  • Disliked — Loud highway traffic on one side of building yet no highway and much quieter on the other side of building.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Vacationer_2007_6-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Indianapolis Airport
4.4 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Indianapolis Airport-Rockville Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
Hyatt Place Indianapolis Airport
#21 of 180 in Indianapolis
523 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Airport
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Airport
#2 of 180 in Indianapolis
449 reviews
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South
Address: 5630 Flight School Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46221-3543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#39 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport South Hotel Indianapolis
Country Inn And Suites Indianapolis Airport South
Country Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing