We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday pre game-Colts”
Review of Moe & Johnny's

Moe & Johnny's
Ranked #271 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Carmel, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday pre game-Colts”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Enjoyed ourselves at this Indy restaurant before the Colts game. They have a great breakfast buffet, with bacon, sausage, eggs benedict, sausage and gravy and all the other normal breakfast items for only $8 a person. Very good and a steal at the price. Service was a little slow and we had to get other staff members to get our waitress to come over. But the food was good. My wife had a bowl of chili hich was very meaty, had a good taste, and was really good. We also shared spicy wings which were moist, very spicy and very meaty. We also had the Indiana breaded tenderloin. Certainly not as good as the Nicke Plate in Fishers or Muldoons in Carmel or Plumps in Broad Ripple, but was a nice size and had good condiments with it. It was not a good meaty tenderloin but was closer to the "fritter" type tenderloin. Overall, it is a good bar restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HSH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island Lake
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smokey, run of the mill bar/restaurant.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very average food in a very smokey atmosphere. Smoke from the bar area permeated the eating area creating an unappetizing environment. Not worth the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great casual, fun place with something for everyone”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I happened to visit on an evening in March that set records for high temps and they had the outside tables open. Most of the people were outside and the servers were running all over the place. I chose the salmon, cooked in a broth over spinach leaves and it was pretty good, well cooked and accompanied by a delicious salad with orange balsamic dressing and some tender asparagus spears. I was a little disappointed that the flavors did not jump out at me...but good nonetheless. Everyone was very friendly and service was prompt and attentive. There is more than just the restaurant here, it has a large bar area with plenty of tv's, a game area, and even a coffee shop section. I think they specialize in more of the casual food types and noted some tasty-looking sandwiches and burgers going by my table. Bring a friend and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dreinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Cheers”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The food is good and the prices on beer and alcohol are excellent! It's a bit smoky but you can sit in the non-smoking section or feel free to sit outside and bring your dog. The staff is more than welcome to bring you a water dish so your pet does not dehydrate :)

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent but not fantastic”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This Broad Ripple based restaurant has a diverse menu, pizzas, pastas, sandwiches. The service was not the best; the waitstaff was sort of indifferent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meow55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moe & Johnny's also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Moe & Johnny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing