We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indiana Medical History Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
WOW! A great learning experience for all ages.

Fascinating place with a wonderful guide to enhance the visit. A powerful learning experience... read more

Reviewed January 16, 2021
Tim C
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
Very interesting History Museum

The tour takes about an hour, with a little time available afterwards to learn about the brains of... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2020
Brian G
,
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Read all 122 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Indianapolis
from $74.11
More Info
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
82
32
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
32
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fascinating place fascinating information docent indiana development
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 122 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2017

My husband and I spent took the tour of this old pathology building on Central State campus and LOVED it. We have scientific backgrounds, so the information and artifacts were very intriguing to us. I would think the trip would still be fascinating, even if you didn't have prior knowledge. The tours start on the hour so make sure you are there and ready to go. It was worth our $10 admission. There is a restroom available. I don't think this would be a great place for kids. There are many breakables and probably not enough to keep their interest. I know mine would've been bored. Also, this is not a place to just show up with a big group (unless it was pre-arranged). We had 10 on our tour and the rooms were cramped! Loved learning more about the scientific history of our state!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank TamaraL110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

This place is well worth a visit. The building is a step back into time with the benefit of having the majority of original items intact and left in the building when it was closed and moved. Full of medical equipment used to help define and cure mental illnesses, this building once housed staff who examined and studied those deemed insane. As noted by others, tours are every hour and staff is limited. Doors are locked when a tour is being given so prepare accordingly. Our tour guide was a retired physician. He was knowledgeable of the building and all items and had an obvious appreciation of the historical significance.

The location of the museum is out of the way and isn't something one would see if not looking for it. Take time to look, it's a plethora of interesting items and a step back in time.

Side note: This place is run by a private group. Funding is needed to keep it viable and help with needed repairs. $10 to tour seemed expensive until I took it.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Tymetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

If you are into medical history, this is the place to go. I have been to other medical museums but this is like back into time.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank dorism158
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

If you have a thing for old stuff and medical knowledge, then this is your place. It was clean. Our guide was amazing. She was extremely knowledgeable. My tour was close to 90 minutes long.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Very interesting! Definitely worth the money. Lots of history to be heard on the tour and lots of interesting specimens to see! Very glad we added this on to our itinerary last minute!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Vfisk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews